We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional - A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional - A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We organised a Bloomfield stay during our anniversary trip to Australia with Trailfinders opting for a Hideaway retreat for that little added seclusion and luxury. I have to admit I was a little worried about how my husband would cope with the seclusion and solitude Bloomfield offers as he is not one for sitting around!

We booked our trip early in the year and Trailfinders requested a certain room via email which was later confirmed. This room had recently been refurbished and regraded up from a hideaway to a suite - I found this out by visiting the website. I contacted Bloomfield direct to ask if it were possible to pay the extra to be upgraded to the suite as this was the room we had specifically chosen. I received a prompt email response from the team to inform me that we had been upgraded to the suite at no extra charge and our original booking had been honoured.

From the moment the Bloomfield team met us at our hotel in Cairns to our being dropped back again 4 days later we experienced the most professional, warm, friendly and truly wonderful team of staff who treated us over and beyond that which I would have expected. The flight was not an experience I enjoyed but I take ownership of my fear of flying and nothing could be done to prevent my tears!! I did get an extra vodka on my arrival to settle my anxiety - bless you Greta x

We flew in with the chef - Bianca who I have to give special mention to - from trying to help me manage the flight to providing us with the most fantastic food daily and then going the extra mile with the anniversary cake (OMG THE BEST EVER MUD CAKE) and the in room picnic feast just for us, and the comfort and hugs on the flight back to Cains xxxxx She is a diamond and a wonderful chef.

Our suite was phenomenal - The view amazing - very private for the hot tub where we enjoyed the bottle of bubbly courtesy to Bloomfield. I have never stayed anywhere before where keys are just not needed - there was no worry about leaving items unattended - the fact that there is an honesty bar alerts you to the trust the Bloomfield team have in their guests and the fact that guests do not have a key shows the faith in the Bloomfield team. We struggled to balance time in the suite to enjoy our private retreat to spending time around the plunge pool with other guests - we absolutely enjoyed both and would have loved more time. It was very quiet during our stay and I have to say I loved this - not sure how it would be if it was fully occupied with guests, nor if there were guests with children.

The ethos is that meals are communal with guests joining each other at large tables - there is an option for private dining in a gazebo which we took advantage if for one night ( plus having the picnic in our room for a night). This relies heavily on guests enjoying each others company and there is a risk that this may not suit all. I have to admit that once a couple we met left and new guests arrived we preferred the solo dining option but worried that this may offend. I don't think it did as we went for the picnic option to get the most out of our environment - sitting in the hot tub star gazing.

Neither myself nor my husband EVER thought that we would enjoy fishing but we were hooked (pardon the pun) after having a very quick 'lesson' on the end of the pier. Each evening we would race down to the pier for the fishing competition with other guests - after ordering a cooler of beers that would be waiting for us. Thanks again Greta x. We would spend a couple of hours fishing - leaving it to the last minute to get ready for dinner!! I caught a shark but couldn't land it - I was like a 4 yr old at Christmas I was that excited.

I needn't have worried about hubby's boredom - he even cleaned the pool - being chased by staff telling him they would do it. This plus the croc hunting along the river which was great and the fishing and the hot tub and the eating - he loved it. We have never stated that we will return to a place/ hotel we have visited before - there is so much of the world to see - but we will return and will hope to stay for longer and it has to be the suite for us again. We had the most amazing experience and will cherish the memories for the rest of our lives - 10 yr anniversary dream of a holiday of a lifetime fulfilled x

If you would value seclusion, luxury and the warmth provided from a small friendly team then you can't go wrong with a stay at Bloomfield. Fantastic food, exclusive environment, and wonderful staff = pleasure that is difficult to express in words. Thank you Bloomfield team

The Courtney's

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    17
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
113
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Aussie
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thankyou Bloomfield Lodge and Trailfinders for your professionalism and friendliness.

Our initial visit a few months ago was marred by the noise of construction, unfortunately continuing following bad weather not allowing it to be completed during a time when the lodge was closed. A disappointing scenario for guests and staff alike . . . . .

HOWEVER..!!! one gauges how problems are dealt with as a huge indicator of the professionalism of a company, and bouquets are indicated here. From the acknowledgement, speedy response to emails, and subsequent offer for us to re-visit at a time to suit, we can only take our hats off to how they handled our complaint. Nothing is perfect in life; things do go wrong with even the best laid plans, so full kudos for your positive response.

Bloomfield Lodge is a delightful getaway; no mobile phones no internet . . . a true escape . . . . . the accommodation is superb; our hideaway was a wonderful place to while away hours taking in the breathtaking view whilst lazing on the day bed or relaxing in the spa.

The meals are delicious, and even though you are tempted to eat more than you would normally, the healthy ingredients and flexibility in portion size, enables you to partake and enjoy with relish :) and dietary issues are no issue at all . . . . .

All material things aside, the real standout for my husband and I is the staff at Bloomfield Lodge. How special are they..!!! every single staff member we had the pleasure of having contact with, was faultless. They charmed us with their friendliness, helpfulness, knowledge, skill and sense of fun. They are what make Bloomfield as special as it is, and we sincerely thank you all.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PaintedSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This had to of been one of the best trips I have ever had.

The staff were out of this world- their knowledge was superb, the trips to the reef, walk around the forest and croc hunting on the river cruise were magic.

Be prepared, there is a lot of food but it's as much about quality as it is quantity! It was great and really excellent.

The survey asks "what would make the trip better" and I honestly can't think of one thing. I couldnt recommend this place to anyone.

One thing some people did stay was tht te rainforest rooms were very basic so I would tell anyone to upgrade- it is worth that extra little bit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilrodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I have just celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary at the Bloomfield Lodge.
Not well advertised in Australia, but what a slice of paradise. A half hour flight in a small
Cessna from Cairns to Ayton in the Daintrees (1hr drive south of Cooktown). We were met
by a staff member from Bloomfield Lodge, who drove us 5 mins to the Bloomfield River where
we boarded the lodge boat, which carried us to 5 nights of paradise.
We were met at the jetty on arrival by Greta, our lovely hostess, who with her husband Travis
looked after us superbly. From delicious meals and wines to guided walks and fishing. Both
charted and off the jetty with a cold bevy late afternoon.
There were never more than 10 guests there, so it was intimate and social when you chose
it to be. Meals are taken together and the people that were there were such delightfull
company , it was great to swap travel and lifes experiences over castronomic food and good wines. There are gazebos if you want a private meal to celebrate an occasion or the share
joy of being in such a beautiful isolated place.
The habitats are very comfortable and well appointed for privacy and accessability.
The staff were so friendly and helpful - we felt like we had been there before and were
treated as old friends.
We will definitely go back - cant wait.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Hideaway room with a day bed and spa on the deck. It was on the high side of the lod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vondaGoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

As two adults with our two daughters aged 16 and 14, we weren't sure how things would work out in this remote location. However we needn't have worried - our girls had a tremendous time - from the trip up the Queensland coast in a six-seater Cessna light aircraft (amazing) to encounters with crocodiles and even learning to fish and catching a baby shark on their first time from the end of the lodge's pier, they had a fab time. OK so it's quite a trek to get there thought the journey (by aforementioned 'plane, four wheel drive, boat) is all part of the experience and most enjoyable. The lodge itself is lovely - high standard - lovely rooms. Dining is communal, at set times and with set menus none of which would normally be our thing.However the food standard is excellent, the people we met were lovely and all respected one anothers' space so it worked out just fine - some interesting conversations were had. LIked the honour bar - though you probbaly drink more that way! There were only 12 guests when we were there so great to have the place to ourselves though the day we left a large wedding party arrived so maybe it wouldn't be quite so tranquil in those circumstances. Would be a fantastic place to get married though. There's plenty to do if you wnat it - rainforest terk was interesting and fun, didn't go out to the reef as sea was too rough though sitting by the pool or walking on the beach is activity enough for such a laid back place. The people who work there are all lovely - all in all a great experience and would certainly recommend it. We stayed three nights; in hindsight, four would have been better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had 4 days here as part of our honeymoon. It was fantastic. Amazing room, great trips and the food was incredible. The staff are absolutely lovely and the service was wonderful. We loved every minute!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This was my second visit to this gorgeous lodge set in the middle of the rainforest and while it's been about 15 years between visits it was as fabulous the second time round as the first. The food is magnificent and the place really let's you relax. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in this magical place. It's a once in a lifetime experience and I've been lucky enough to enjoy it twice!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MiniMooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
23.4 mi away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
11.7 mi away
Cape Tribulation Beach House
Cape Tribulation Beach House
#2 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rainforest Hideaway
Rainforest Hideaway
#1 of 5 in Cape Tribulation
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
12.6 mi away
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
#6 of 13 in Cape Tribulation
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
17.6 mi away
Thornton Beach Bungalows
Thornton Beach Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Thornton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Property: Bloomfield Lodge
Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing