We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 4days”
Review of Bloomfield Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bloomfield Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Fabulous journey to the lodge by hinterland plane then 4x4 then boat. Food was excellent. We had great guides on the days out and was treated so special .Room was in excellent position looking out to sea

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LlysfaenYendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

How are your cocktail party skills? Can you employ them at breakfast, lunch and dinner?
Meals are fabulous at Bloomfield (see photo of sample menu) but if you thought of little tables for two, you'll have a bit of a shock at the standard communal dining arrangements. Yes, you can opt out and arrange for private dining - but it's great to meet so many different people from all corners of the globe and all walks of life - plus, you'll end up on most of the tours together, so you may as well get to know your fellow escapist to the rainforest.

1:1 staff to guest ratio
Our next surprise was that the guest number (12) was on par with the number of staff at Bloomfield. We were particularly impressed with Chef Bianca's superb and varied cuisine in such a remote location - and our guide's extensive knowledge of the flora and fauna of the area.

Tours
We did the rainforest walk, river cruise and Bloomfield falls tours - all of which are highly recommendable. The rainforest walk focuses on the plants rather than the wildlife; the river cruise came up with every size croc imaginable - and the waterfall tour was interesting, particularly because it went through a highly successful Aboriginal village of 600 residents.

Wildlife
It's actually really frustrating: you can hear birds all around you - but seeing them is quite another matter. We saw a few butterflies (sadly no Ulysses or Cairns Birdwing), golden orb and crab spiders, praying mantis and loads of different grasshopper species.

Remoteness
Ok, you know that there's no TV in your room - but you may not have known that there's no mobile phone signal? Forget emails for the duration of your stay.

Library
Well stocked with current magazines, as well as natural history books and some fiction titles.

All in all, it was really enjoyable. I would have given it 5 stars if I didn't have to make my own drinks (including coffee in the morning - and my "make your own cocktail" skills are rubbish too), and if there had been some sort of resort shop to buy some chocolate bars or hair bands (it was very humid).

Hence, remember to allocate some of your 7kg luggage allowance to KitKats and Crisps - and just don't forget to bring anything … ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tropical_diver_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

what a way to start your holiday! a light plane trip followed by a short bus trip then by boat into the resort- great fun and we had the good fortune to see a couple of crocodiles sunbaking! the accommodation is beatuiful - although I did find it a little hard to get used to having no TV in our room or even a clock radio - but you get used to the utter silience very quickly. The meals are amazing - and very generous. The honesty bar is an excellent idea and is very well stocked. We were pleasantly surprised at the cost for the wines and spirits, cetainly not over the top. The highlight of our trip was the reef cruise and that was made even more memorable by the fantastic guys Shane and Craig who made the day such good fun.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Had our honeymoon here and it didn't disappoint. It was a great option for a winter wedding in Australia, where other islands and beach options are a little too cool for the aquatic sports they promote and many other options requiring a long haul flight which we could do without. Jump north (near Cooktown) via an exciting entry (flight over reef, bus and boat) to this magical place.
The accommodation is colonial style and generous in size. The room included our own spa and day bed (all you need on holiday!) and was very private at the top of the resort. It was excellently presented with those little touches you'd expect (robes, slippers, beach towels, aromatic oil heater) and a torch to ensure you could find your way back in the night.
The food was AMAZING! The menu is set by the chef daily and it was refreshing to not have a choice but be surprised (they did do alternates if you didn't like or couldn't eat something). Breakfast was fruit, cereals and a cooked plate off the menu to order. Lunch a main and dessert (day 1 was Red Emperor on asian salad and caramalised banana and rum crepes with vanilla cream). Dinner 3 courses (equally special). Pre-dinner canapes were served, (often some of the days catch from those who went fishing). Tea, coffee, biscuits and fruit were available when you wanted. Dining was communal which was nice to meet other travellers and perfect for those who travel alone. On request you could have private dining in a gazebo jazzed up to 6 courses.
The tours were fantastic. Reef trip included snorkelling, a island walk and picnic, more snorkelling and excellent fishing. A healthy catch was had of coral trout, spanish mackrel (fed 18!), and trevally. The rainforest tour and river cruise highlighted the wildlife (and many crocs!) and the sport fishing netted more large queen fish that was served up as sashimi later that day.
The beauty therapist has a great touch so massages and facials were a treat.
Overall you can't complain about anything. Hosts Greta and Travis were amazing and made everyones stay very special.

Room Tip: If not the most mobile person, get a room close to the restaurant area. For privacy get a deluxe hid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chasingpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Quite beautiful setting,superb and plentiful food, great ambiance, lovely rooms , friendly efficient service from the Management and staff ,,,,,, yes we enjoyed it!.
To achieve that level of service in such a remote location is an achievement in itself,we really could not fault it, The trips were all enjoyable, particularly the reef trip. Shayne, Craig and Paul are all so knowledgeable and are a credit to the place.
We felt really spoilt by the attentive staff and we made a personal connection with all of them including the chefs Russel and Bianca.
It was amazing how much willdlife we saw in and around the place snake, bat, turtles in the bay,lizzie the goanna, atlas/hercules moth,,frogs and various geckos,
Maybe we got a different view of the place as we were extremely lucky to have just one other couple with us the first night and spent 24hours on our own -bliss! we then had eight people for the last two nights,
We did think to ourselves that we perhaps would not have enjoyed it as much if the numbers had been greater -perish the thought of 34 other guests... but still a fantastic place and we would love to go back one day ,,,,,,,,,, to live if they'd let us!

Room Tip: Q15 was ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartynN905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

There was nothing I could fault about this resort. The staff was friendly and approachable, nothing was too much trouble. The food was without a doubt incredibly tasty and presented beautifully. The tours were great, with incredibly knowledgeable guides. The resort itself was just beautiful, quiet, relaxing, well maintained and just lovely. I would highly reccomend this hotel for couples and honeymooners. I would visit again at the first opportunity!

Room Tip: Rainforest rooms (rainforest view) and Queenslander rooms (ocean view) are not independant buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Spent four nights here in November 20011. We were caught up in the Qantas grounding and we were upgraded from a Queenslander Room to a Deluxe Retreat - thanks to our travel agent - which is a bungalow on stilts. It had a fabulous view of Weary Bay and lots of room inside and out. We were extremely comfy and loved everything about it. As some other reviewers have mentioned, there is no airconditioning but it really isn't a problem. We found the ceiling fan to be quite sufficient with all the louvre windows open - it's quiet and private everywhere and lovely to sleep with everything open to the night.

The transfers to and from the lodge by light aircraft, four-wheel drive and boat are a fantastic little adventure and all part of the fun and there is a small reception committee waiting for you when you arrive and they are all extremely obliging and nothing is too much trouble. The lodge area is rustic and peaceful - no music or entertainment of any kind, just the pool and the bar, what more do you need?

We went on the excursion to the barrier reef for snorkling and fishing and it was fab and we caught fish which the chef served up as bar snacks that evening - brilliant! The two gents who run the trips are incredibly knowlegeable about everything and they made all the excursions really enjoyable. The boat trip out and back to the reef is quite exhilarating, so do it if you can. We enjoyed fishing off the jetty too and caught many fish including small sharks which we threw back. Everything is provided including bait - just wonder along and please yourself. The weather was hot, sunny and humid for our whole stay except for a downpour one night.

The food was delicious with a set menu every day. However, if you don't like something just ask for something else - nothing is too much trouble. The bar-b-que was particularly impressive with the best prawns we have ever eaten. Seating is communal but there are also private tables if you prefer. We chose to eat privately at lunch times which gave us the best of both worlds. Dress is casual - no need for the tiara - shorts and tees are sufficient if you choose.

We can thoroughly recommend Bloomfield. It's a bit pricey but what the heck, you only live once.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe Retreat number H20 which we think had the best uninterupted view of all. We tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PipYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bloomfield Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomfield Lodge

Address: Wongabadga Point, Weary Bay, Bloomfield, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bloomfield
Price Range: $587 - $904 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bloomfield Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem, enchanting and beautifully remote rainforest hideaway, two hours North of Cairns, Bloomfield Lodge offers a unique experience of two World Heritage listed sites, the ancient lush tropical Daintree Rainforest, and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.Bloomfield’s aura of calm and the natural beauty of the rainforest soon takes over, rejuvenating body and soul. Indulge in a soothing massage, relax by the pool or take a stroll along a deserted beach. Adventurous spirits can take advantage of Bloomfields unique location and discover some of Australia’s most incredible plant, animal and marine life with a guided rainforest walk or a cruise along a jungle fringed river. Visit cascading waterfalls, spend a magical day snorkelling on the Great Barrier Reef without another boat in sight or experience some of the world’s finest game fishing. Bloomfield Lodge provides the perfect sanctuary to get away from it allA member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, ranked No1 in Forbes Magazine as the 'Worlds Best Remote Hotel', Winner 2011'Best Boutique Hotel' Queensland Hotel Association Awards and Winner 2011 Best Unique Accommodation' Tourism Tropical North Queensland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bloomfield Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomfield Hotel Degarra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing