We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mongolian Grill, okay buffet”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mongolian Bar-b-que Buffet
Ranked #144 of 208 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great Mongolian Grill, okay buffet”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stopped here the night I arrived in St. Louis on a business trip. I had been here before so I thought I'd stop by again. This place has a Mongolian Grill where you prepare a bowl of raw meat, add veggies, and spices and then pass it to the chef to grill for you. You can choose between chicken, pork, beef, shrimp or calamari. This part of the meal is fantastic.

They also have a few buffet tables with Chinese entrees, salads, and desserts. Some of the entrees were quite good but others looked more iffy.

The fact that this place is all-you-can-eat makes it worth the while. My whole meal (with soft drink and tip) was about $15.00.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElGringoViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Health code issue in my opinion”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place WAS wonderful, some 5-8 years ago, but now, there is hardly any business so that keeps the food old and not stocked. Hot foods are not kept hot and cold foods are not kept cold. Certain things appear to have been out for hours!! The Mongolian BBQ part is fine, stick with that. A bit pricey in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVR0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Opened in 1995 and why it is still open is anyone's guess”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I am sorry, but when you go to a Chinese Buffet on a Saturday night at 6 PM you have to expect the food to be hot and fresh.

That was not the case last night, and clearly the health inspectors have not been around for quite awhile.

The soup had a crust on it, and was neither hot in temp. or spiciness or sour, just cold. Clams were sitting in tepid white water, and most of the proteins at the BBQ line were either room temperature or below.

The chopped scallions had already deyhydrated and were starting to rot.

So how does this joint stay open, I guess once in awhile they put out fresh food, just not when we were there. It was mobbed by the time we left, and the desert bars looked fine. I have to imagine the chef and the health inspector do not have temp. gauges to check the food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
858 reviews
662 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Best Stir Fry in town”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

This Restaurant probably has the best stirfry in the area, not to mention the Chinese food is also very very tasty. It's nice to have the option with the buffet to create your own dish and have them cooking fresh or get plenty of Chinese food already prepared. A money-saving tip is to go for lunch because it's very similar to the dinner items and a lot cheaper price. You also might want to watch Groupon.com because a lot of times they will have a deal for this restaurant. Lunch cost about eight dollars a person and it's very easy to get in and out of there in an hour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Banny9949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty good place”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Love the wok and variety. They charge for 3 yr old children though. Now, that is obsurd. Same old dried out deserts though.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 111blueyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolian Bar-b-que Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Mongolian Bar-b-que Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing