We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always great”

Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 208 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clarkson Road
Description: Stoney River is an upscale steakhouse, specializing in hand-cut steaks and gourmet entrees, served in a sophisticated atmosphere by professional servers. Guests can enjoy diverse menu offerings such as Center-cut Filets, Bone-in Rib-eye’s or a Classic NY Strip. Not in the mood for a steak? Stoney River offers fresh seafood selections, signature salads and house specialties. Whether relaxing at the bar or dining in the comfortable atmosphere, enjoy a hand-crafted cocktail, local draft beer or glass of wine from our boutique wine list. Our goal is to provide you with the finest culinary experience that exceeds your expectations.
ballwin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“always great”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

have been here many times and always have a geat time. we enjoy the fact that we are known by several of the staff and have a great time talkig with them either at the bar or at dinner. the twenty dollar coupon off is also nice. if you like onion soup as my husband does this is a great one. the panko fried shimp is my favorite but you cannot go wrong with anything here. must try for your next evening out wether it be for you and your husband or family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelerBallwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    59
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Expensive”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This restaurant has good food, but it is quite pricy. I had salmon with soy ginger sauce and it was very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandmaof42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Potatoes!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Famous for their steaks, but could eat the entire plate of the potatoes au gratin. And the Salmon entree is wonderul as well

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank AJsmomStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good but Over priced”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Mixed review for this one. The steaks are good but really overpriced for what you get. Had the filet which was very good, my husband had the ribeye which was very average. Another one of these that everything is extra. Extra for the salad, extra for a veggie . Pricing really is high for what is just an average upscale steakhouse. The service was good, the decor however is very unfriendly to conversation. Loudwith poor acoustics. Booth seating which is strage for such a high priced establishment. We were there on a slow night and it was hard to have a conversation due to noise. WE

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Osobad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Will have to give it another visit”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Went to dinner last Monday night. Service and server pleasant and informative but seemed be be around when we did not need him and absent when we were ready to order or needed something. Drink order took longer than expected and not exactly correct but quckly remedied. Had the carpaccio appetizer and it was good. A litle smaller than expected but very tasty. Had a wedge salad which was pretty good and the blue cheese dressing was excellent. Had the large filet which I had to scrape off a little charring from the grill but was prepared perfectly rare as requested. The taste and texture/ quality of the beef was quite good. In fact I would say it is better than the Ruth Chris and Mortens cuts in St. Louis, but a ways from the best I have had. The wine list and wine by the glass was extensive enough although the by the glass pricing was a little expensive. Hard to explain but had a "chain" feel to it. I know it is a chain albeit smaller in scale but had a corporate feel rather than an intimate feel. Everything precisely measured and cookie cutter. I may be a little harsh but more warmth from the staff and management would have swung my vote to very good

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawthfinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing