We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chain restaurant that lacks direction”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

Romano's Macaroni Grill
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,006 reviews
1,302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,179 helpful votes
“A chain restaurant that lacks direction”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I can understand how this chain is struggling, as they offer nothing special or unusual or unique. Boring food, boring atmosphere, boring menu. This is the kind of place one goes to when there is nothing else available. The pasta was very boring. The pasta sauce was boring. The meatballs were very boring. The sausage was just ok. Good salad. Our server was efficient and attentive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    7
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
204 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“consistent quality”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We visit here occasionally. Very good chicken Caesar salad/dressing. Also, the Pasta De Mare was chocked full of seafood, mussels, scallops and shrimp in a red sauce over linguine. Large serving, good for leftovers. Nice atmosphere. Thursdays, all bottled wines are half price and they will re-cork the bottle if you can't finish it in the restaurant. They have just updated their menu, but some of the favorites are still available. The bread had more seasoning than usual, it was a little powerful and "musty" tasting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sj2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A poor imitation of Olive Garden with much higher prices.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Three generations, grandparents, parents and a pre-schooler, went for dinner. We had reservations and were seated quickly. Three of the four adults felt their dinners were "so-so." The fourth said hers was good.

I and one of the other adults ordered a seafood pasta which contained shrimp,mussels and scallops in a rather tasteless, watery red sauce. Of six or seven mussels, two were unopened and never should have made it to the plate. The shrimp were tough and had the tails on.

All-in-all, not a particularly satisfying experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“horrible service...go somewhere else!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Recently stopped in for lunch because we were in the area and we always love going to macaroni grills when we travel. It was around 2:00 on a Saturday afternoon. We were quickly seated and noticed there were only three other parties in the restaurant. We waited 15 minutes for a waiter to even come up and greet us/take our drink orders. We watched as he waited on tables that had came in after we did. The entire meal was a waiting game. After giving us 20 minutes to look over the menus, he then told us about the specials. When we said we were ordering off the regular menu, the waiter goes "well why did you just let me read off all those specials and waste my time". Really? It took you five seconds and we have been sitting here for 35 minutes waiting on you. We watched as our food sat under the warmer for several minutes. We then waited forever for our check and credit card receipt. By the time we left, we realized we had been there for two hours...ridiculous for lunch!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlgg2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or MONEY here”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We were staying in the area, and wanted to have a family dinner out. There were many restaraunts to choose from, but I had a good experience at the Macaroni Grill in South County, so we tried here. We arrived to a half full restaurant, at 6pm on a Saturday night. There were 5 in our party. We waited for over 10 minutes for anyone to show up to take our drink orders, and we should have just left then. We ordered 2 appetizers, sodas, and 5 full dinners(3 steaks, 1 chicken salad, one spaghetti meal) This is over $210 worth of food. It took 30 minutes for the appetizers, which were okay. Then, 30 minutes later, the waiter came and said the food would be 5-7 minutes. The restaurant was NOT very busy at all. So, we waited another 20 minutes, and he came back and said it would be another 20 minutes. I told him that was ridiculous, what on earth was the problem? He said he'd send the manager over. 20 minutes later, the waiter shows up with 2 of the 3 steaks, and leaves. DID not apologize. 10 minutes later, the MANAGER shows up, and says, what's missing? so we tell him, and tell him that this is outrageous, where is the food? And, 2 of the steaks were to be medium well, but they were rare? The waiter shows back up 10 minutes later with the other 3 orders, and says here it is, the kitchen is slow tonight. I tell him that's ridiculous, and unacceptable. We eat our food in silence, even though the spaghetti was cold, and the steaks were rare, and not medium well. DOES NOT come back to check on ANYTHING. We get halfway done, and quit eating. Waiter comes to clear the table, he says the manager has decided to comp the meal except for the chicken salad and appetizers. I tell the waiter, great. But this is still ridiculous, and you should have come back to check and see if everything was okay, even though you didn't care. The MANAGER should have come back at the very least. My family and I will NEVER ever eat at that Macaroni Grill again. There is no reason for dinner to take 2 1/2 hrs. I don't mind paying a $210 or 250 dinner bill, if the food and service are good. That was not the case in this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemooniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing