We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wente's O & W Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 205 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
1,037 reviews
520 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

After a long day of shopping at the outlet malls three of us decided to stop at Wente's for a late lunch. The atmosphere in very welcoming and if you like midget auto racing, you will enjoy all of the memorabilia in memory of Bob Wente's Sr. In addition the menu has a great selections and each section of the menu will bring a smile to your face if you know anything about racing. They have green flag appetizers, lap two salads, checkered flag chicken and fish and so on. The service is great and so is the food. So stop in and enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You can't fake caring, you'll love the people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

You owe it to yourself to go to one of the original restaurants in the Valley if looking for bar food and BBQ. I've had salads, wings, pizzas, burgers and the french dip. You simply cannot go wrong here. They have a smoker, so all of their smoaked meat is great and everything very reasonably priced. This is one of those places that would be easy to pass up if you didn't know how good it was.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovetoFlyandSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We had the brisket and it was good. A little on the fatty side but good. The baked beans were real good. Loved the BBQ. It was a little spicy and I like that in a BBQ. Ordered a baked potato that was bad and it took a while to get a new one. Glad we were not in a hurry. I wish they had a dessert so while my husband waited for his potato I would have had a dessert. When we finally got the second potato it was bad as well. The wait staff were very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank JoAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My Favorite Watering Hole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I've been here more times than I can count. The food is basically "Pub Grub," but it's always been a cut above average. I especially recommend their hand-cut, tenderloin steak sandwich (ask for medium-rare).

The service is friendly, professional, and surprisingly quick. If you're a semi-regular, don't be surprised if they call you by name after a few visits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDurrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went here because of Trip Advisor and so glad we did! We (5 adults) got 3 12" pizzas (pepperoni, deluxe and BBQ chicken) and and 3 orders of cheesy garlic bread to-go for about $50 and it was all excellent! Thin crust pizza with plenty of cheese, toppings and sauce and they had it ready in 20 min. We took it back to our hotel and feasted after a fun, hot day at 6 Flags.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WtrflGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wente's O & W Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wente's O & W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing