We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a meatloaf...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Annie Gunn's

Annie Gunn's
Reserve with OpenTable
Annie Gunn's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 205 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: CHESTERFIELD AIRPORT ROAD
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a meatloaf...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well, this is the #1 restaurant in Chesterfield for a reason... What I like in a restaurant is when you can close your eyes and point to any place in the menu, knowing that whatever you select, it will be very good...

Went there for lunch with a co-worker on a Tuesday afternoon. The place was packed but the kind hostess had a place for us. We started with a carpaccio, which is one of the easiest things to go wrong in a small town restaurant. It was awsome! The wine list was very extensive and they also had very good beers. Then I ordered a Grilled Meatloaf and my co-worker ordered the Grilled Medallion Angus Reserve Beef Tenderloin. We tried each other's food and it was to say which one was the best. Cooked to perfection, very flavorful sauces and hearty portions.

Yes, it is a little expensive (around $60.00 each, with two glasses of wine, two beers, tax and tip) but at the end we were so satisfied with everything that price was just a detail.

They have The Smokehouse Market next door but we had to go back to work and we could not try it. Too bad because the smell coming from the place was very tempting. Maybe next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    90
    24
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Owasso, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steaks EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The food is amazing. Steak is the specialty, but they do have other options. The smoked prawns as an appetizer were to die for. You need reservations, because this place is ALWAYS busy. If you can't make dinner (that would be sad), go for lunch. The burgers are fantastic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Near Perfect in Every Way !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

I don't say that lightly. I don't know where to begin. How about at the front door, where you are greeted so well ? For lunch or dinner, you will experience the same level of welcome. Everything I've ever had, from salads to sandwiches, daily specials and dessert(LOVE the apple pie!!)--outstanding. The highest quality ingredients. The preparation, which is of course the reason that my husband and I return again and again. It is ALWAYS busy, which proves my point.

Also, it is our GO TO place for steaks ! Not inexpensive to be sure, but the best I've enjoyed in St. Louis.

If you have 3(or 4? not sure) or more, ask for a snug, an enclosed booth on the side of the place, as you come in. A bit more quiet.

While you're there, do not miss The Smoke House market next door. Another joy is to get wonderful sandwiches or salads from The Smoke House and take them out to their patio. it's dog friendly !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
161 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

I went to Annie Gunn's a few weeks ago with a fairly large group that ranged in age from 10 months to 80+. And, all of us LOVED what we ordered. OK the 10 month old didn't order or eat. The steaks are outstanding, the appetizers yummy and unusual. The ambiance is fine -- that probably isn't its strongest point, but it's a very comfortable setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Earned all 5 stars.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Annie Gunn's never fails to impress. As an established carnivore, one of the best steakhouses in the city. If you have not had a Prime "not choice" steak, you are due and you should come to Annie Gunn's to get it. Only the Best at Annie Gunn's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Annie Gunn's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing