We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Expectations, But The Waiter Didn't Deliver” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 54th Street Grill and Bar

54th Street Grill and Bar
Ranked #12 of 200 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Expectations, But The Waiter Didn't Deliver”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate 54th Street Grill and Bar on Memorial Day. The restaurant wasn't crowded and we were seated immediately. The great experience ended there. Our server was new and didn't know the menu so he couldn't answer our questions. He made errors in our order and the food was mediocre at best. The salads were good; lettuce was crisp and the dressing was on the side so that we could add what we desired. The steaks were tough and full of pepper but no salt. Their bread with honey butter was outstanding! We were handed the bill before we could order dessert and my party of three decided to leave before something else could go wrong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robi520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    26
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This menu item is the best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I normally don't review chains. 54th has enough bling hanging on the walls to keep the little ones busy. But the one item that keeps me coming back is the chicken fried chicken. This entree is like eating at grandma's house. The fried chicken portion is generous and the seasoned breading is perfection. The mashed potatoes and white gravy are smooth and creamy and nicely seasoned as well. I've gained 5 lbs just writing this review.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jerrymoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwood, Mo.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have eaten at this establishment 4 times over the past year. The atmosphere and decorating are tasteful, albiet the number of patrons leads to quite a high noise level. The food is very reasonably priced and tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cigarman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

12 of us went for a lunch and were happy to see such a variety on the menu. Food was good and service was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I had lunch with a friend and it was superb! It was busy but we took a seat at the bar - Kristin was our server. She was polite, adorable and very quick with a refill. We decided to stay put and had lunch at the bar. The atmosphere was fantastic - food was hot, fresh and delicious. The nachos are huge and could feed a family of 5. It's a really great place to meet a friend and talk - the noise level was a pleasant hum but not overwhelming.

The prices are great and I'll go back for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RealHousewifeSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 54th Street Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to 54th Street Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing