We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The second Oceano location”
Review of Oceano Bistro - CLOSED

Oceano Bistro
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fontaine dr.
Ellisville, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The second Oceano location”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Went to the newer Oceano location in Chesterfield for a birthday dinner. Restaurant is very nice, good vibe, well appointed. Great bar area (I can forgive the TVs, but wish they weren't there).

Menu similar (same?) as the Clayton MO location. Good food, served by gracious wait staff. Very polite, very professional. Great wine choice. We had oysters, salads, entrees (one beef, one seafood). Everything served attractively and delicious. Lovely patio area with landscaping and waterfall!

* Was a little surprised the clientele were dressed "down" so much. Didn't expect to see so many jeans - should be a nicer dress code, all things considered.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Turnaround”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My family and I dined at Oceano last night for the second time. The food was outstanding and the outdoor patio was a perfect choice. As for our service...it started out a bit rough but once we pointed out the issue to one of their managers...McKenzie, boy did it change. The staff was outstanding and extremely attentive to our needs. We will be back. Great job!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moberly, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just stopped in looking for a place to eat close to the movie theater and what a great surprise! I had the jumbo scallops and my husband had the halibut. Both were cooked to perfection. We shared an order of portabella mushrooms and they too were amazing. The presentation looked like a high end gourmet production, but the prices were moderate. Wish we lived in the area, so I could be regular. Will definitely make an effort to come back again. The only down side is the layout is a little chopped up, but it does give a twist to the atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lann13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
219 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the neighborhood”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a lovely anniversary dinner. The Frito Misto is excellent as is the steamed shellfish sofritto. The halibut is also very good, but the color of the butter/sauce is a bit offputting. Nice bread pudding for dessert. Wine list goes quickly to pricey and needs some Italian wines added. Service was excellent with very friendly waiter.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hirschwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, adequate food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Recently went there with girlfriends. They have a beautiful outdoor patio that even if you request it on your reservation, does not guarantee that you will be seated there.
The bartender really needed improvement. I am a martini drinker but switched to wine after several gross drinks.
Food was okay. Nothing to put a return trip on my calendar any time soon. Service was pretty good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MKD-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceano Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing