We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take your own bottle”

Edgewild Restaurant & Winery
Reserve with OpenTable
Edgewild Restaurant & Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 205 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Clarkson & Hwy 40
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Take your own bottle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Service is horrible, wine is /($&@- take your own bottle. What a joke for being tied with Chandler Hill... Food at best is average...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phatboyzxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Edgewild Restaurant & Winery, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As a matter of point EdgeWild is not affliated with Chandler Hill but our owners are investors there. Please know that we value constructive feedback and we would gladly address your complaints during your visit. We never want a guest to leave dissatisfied.

We welcome customers bringing their own wine to our restaurant. We do not charge a corkage fee to our wine club members, for the other folks we charge a modest 10 dollars. We are very proud of our wine and know that if given an opportunity we could find something to satisfy your taste with over 30 bottles served by the glass..

We agree with you that Chandler Hill is a special place. When asked we encourage our guests to visit, host parties, and to eat there. Corey, Chuck, Mandi and the rest of the Chandler Hill team have built a special winery. They serve both wonderful Missouri and West Coast Wines. We love to support local and Chandler Hill is the best.

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    115
    47
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“food is great the hostess are terrible as are the wines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have to laugh when we walk in the place is empty and they have no seating for 2 people. You can sit at the bar. Really it is 4pm how busy you gonna get in the next hour! The hostess are always rude and very unwelcoming even the new batch must of been trained to think they are doing you a favor to seat you. The wines are not very good I have tried almost all of them and there is one Pinot Noir that is worth drinking, The food is always great that is why we tolerate the hostesses. We have spoken to Chris one of the owners about the rudeness and it has not changed. also if you go at 945pm the kitchen closes at 10pm and they will not seat you. The crab chowder is to die for. the bison meatloaf is amazing. If they trained the hostess to be half as good as the chef this would be a great place to go - I just smile through trying to be seated then i forget about it and enjoy my meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neatcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew K, Owner at Edgewild Restaurant & Winery, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are so sorry that you have had a negative experience with our hostess staff. They try very hard to satisfy our guests. We are fortunate to be fully booked by 6pm most weekend nights. We do allow open seating in the bar and patio. Almost every night there is plenty of dining room availability at 4pm, frankly we love early business. We have discussed your experience with our hostess to offer valuable improvement. Its a tougher job than it appears and our staff tries very hard.

We have made a few changes. We will seat and feed guests up to beyond 10 pm on weekends. Also, we are about to release a new wine list with over 60 non EdgeWild offerings.

Thank you again for your feedback and support

Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
“Great Cuisine, Service, if a bit Loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The place can get quite loud on weekends.. I guess that's a good thing considering the restaurant does well. Their wine list is rather extensive, but you must request or be shown the "reserve list.." the normal wine list is small and not too plentiful.. The place has amazing cuisine, service, and is spotless. The service is attentive, friendly, but not overbearing. I don't care for how diners sometimes sit atop one another via "bench seating," but that can't necessarily be helped, either.. because then people would never get a reservation. The desserts are great here.. especially the chocolate dishes. There's great scotch, cocktails, and an abundance of healthy items from which to choose, especially for seafood. Their crab chowder is outstanding as well. I have been here 5 times approximately, and each time have had a different dish. The place is great, but a bit loud.. and please ask to be shown a reserve wine list because they have many more wines than on their standard menu. The people running this place are good.. they respond to reviews, e-mails, and honor reservations/special requests. I dined here once on a special occasion and they mentioned it when we arrived.. a nice touch, especially considering it was SAT night and the place was packed. It can get quite loud and for this reason we avoid this place on FRI and SAT nights.. it's deafening to sit during either of these nights. They have great acoustic artists including Dave Kalz, Vote for Pedro's acoustic band, and others.. great players and tasteful (not loud).. Reservations strongly recommended.. Among the top places to dine in the Chesterfield MO area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blah114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Anniversary Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good food. We were there for the lunch menu. Service was fast and attentive. Our dining area was separate from the bar crowd, which was much appreciated. Corey, our server, was awesome!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlissfulTraveler96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We are in Chesterfield quite often, and this was recommended by friends when we visited over Christmas. Our only regret is that we did not go sooner.

Service was great! Attentive but not intrusive.

We enjoyed the salads, and were happy that we ordered the smaller size! Very generous portions, well dressed, fresh greens, perfect amount of cheese.

Moving on...Instead of an entree my husband and I shared five of the appetizer plates. The Santa Fe stack, the seared scallops, the ahi tuna tacos, the crab cakes and the mussesl in broth! We each had our favorites, but none of them were disappointing. My absolute favorites were the mussels and the ahi tuna tacos. There was enough rich and spicy broth with the (dozen!) mussels that this appetizer should be an entree! Hubby really liked the Santa Fe stack and the Seared Scallops...both of us agreed that the crab cakes were OK, but not as exceptional as the other items.

Our younger daughter is with us this trip, and she had the steak and mashed potato entree. It was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. She somehow managed to eat the whole thing! And we used to think she was a picky eater!

Desserts were visually beautiful...but by that time I had reached my limit. So....secondhand opinion only here says that the "half baked chocolate chip cookie with salted caramel ice cream" was great. And I will admit that I had one teeny tiny little bite and I agree.

We will definitely be back...cannot play favorites so MUST take the older child too. Any excuse to get back here soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edgewild Restaurant & Winery also viewed

 

Been to Edgewild Restaurant & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing