We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally overrated and overpriced”

Espinos Mexican Bar & Grill
Ranked #30 of 205 Restaurants in Chesterfield
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Generally overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went to this place based on seeing on DD&D. The service was absolutely great, our waitress couldnt have been friendlier or more on the ball. The queso fundido was fantastic, just enough heat.

I ordered the tacos espinos and was very disappointed. Pork was exceptionally dry, the pico was sparse and not particularly flavorful and the rice was cold. My wife ordered the sea bass special which she enjoyed, but came with a $31 price tag that we were not told about. Shame on us for not asking, but I didnt expect that kind of tab for a Mexican entree.

I would go back for a drink and appetizers, but not for a meal. There are far too many Mexican places in the area offering better food and much better prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mphopkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    24
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Choose to eat someplace else!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Sparse servings of meat, chips tasted a day old, guacamole was mostly tomatoes and tasteless, and the service was careless. Don't waste your time or money. If you order a "special" ask how much it is. They overprice this and it's not published. Also, we ordered fajitas and they were sparse and charged extra for the shredded cheese! Blah!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pikytrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We are from Texas and usually am disappointed when I have Mexican food in the St Louis area. Found this restaurant from DD&D. Took a bit of a drive to get there but was worth it. I had Carnitas and it was excellent. The pork was tender and well seasoned. The service was great. Would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant is centrally located, the food and service were great. There were six in our party and while we waited for a table, we had some fantastic drinks. Even though we were there around 7:00 that evening on a Saturday, the wait was not that long. We had a wonderful time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gale e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
491 reviews
325 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Overpriced average Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just moved from TX, and have been impressed with the local Mexican restaurants until this stop. Food was overpriced, bland, and just not very good. Service was excellent (JB I believe), was food wasn't. Sad when the best thing purchased by a family of 4 was the kid's chicken fingers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WarEglTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Espinos Mexican Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Chesterfield, MO
Chesterfield, MO
 

Been to Espinos Mexican Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing