We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cassville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roaring River State Park
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I have RV camped here for 43 years and still love to go to the park as many times a year as I can. For this region, this park has the best camping facilities with interesting hiking trails and nature programs during the summer. The park is excellent so expect quite a few neighbors, but the park is big enough for everyone. Even though the fish are stocked, the myth is that they are easy to catch, but these trout see every lure known to man every day and are wary at most times. The bathrooms will not win awards for spotlessness as this depends upon the clientele using the facilities, but they serve our needs very well. If I were to recommend a family vacation spot, it would be Roaring River State Park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

These rooms are fine if you are an elderly person who needs low beds, high toilets. The baths/ showers are like ones in a hospital or nursing home. Benches built into tub, and very awkward to bathe in - so don't try.
For 100$ a night, I would look elsewhere. There has to be a better place for young couples looking for romance.
The restaurant inside this lodge was the only nice thing about this place. When I am an older adult and need all the handicap amenities I will be back. It seems they could provide both. Rooms designed to suit young couples as well as rooms that accommodate wheelchairs and elderly.

Room Tip: All rooms are same unless you upgrade to a King which the bed is the only difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We have alway enjoyed camping and hiking at Roaring River State Park. Camp ground # 1 has lots of shade trees. We like site # 11 the best! The park has lots of hiking trails! And the fish are always biteing! You won't be dispointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Katyspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lots of stuff to do to keep the kids busy and entertained. Nature Center is OK. Fishing was crowded during the morning hours but thinned out in the afternoon. Restrooms and shower houses were kept clean and the camping area was nice and peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to this state park for over 30 years and it seems to still be the nicest state park in the area. Very nice family oriented area to camp, fish, hike or simply relax. Something for everyone. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been going here since I was a baby. I've tent camped at least once per year, sometimes as many as five times per year, so I would say I know the place well! It's by far my favorite place in Missouri...a jewel in the middle of the Ozarks. The scenery is beautiful and unique to each of the four seasons.

I would recommend going during the Autumn months (Sept-Oct) if you're going to hike-they have a handful of different trails throughout the park with attractions such as natural springs, small waterfall, caves, an old hideout used during the Civil War, among other historic sites.

I would recommend visiting during Spring (March-May) if you're going to fish-the trout fishing is some of the best in the country! Spring time is still scenic but also cool enough to enjoy staying out fishing all day. I'vfound the intermittent rain storms in spring that pass through the valley really improve fishing! Tags/licenses are cheap, and they stock the stream each day with trout raised in the hatchery (which was built in the 1930's and is wonderful to visit as well!)

I would recommend visiting during summer months if you're a family who's going to mostly spend time camping and relaxing in the water. The stream runs right next to Campgrounds 2 and 3 and your tent/camper is just steps away from a cool refreshing dip in the shallow stream.

Facilities are top notch, always very clean and well-maintained. The cost of camping is a mere $15-25 per site depending on which hook-ups you need, if any. Most of the sites can be reserved but some in Camp 3 are first come first serve (which in my opinion are some of the best and most shaded sites.) The hosts are very good about making sure that people are quiet after 10pm, so I have never had a bad/noisy night of sleep here, especially camping next to the stream which will lull me to sleep every time!

I would highly recommend visiting Roaring River, even for just a short weekend trip. It's fun for families, romantic for couples, and eventful enough for group outings such as scouts or church groups. I have spent as much as two consecutive weeks at one campsite here and was still reluctant to go home! Roaring River will always have a special place in my heart.

Room Tip: The campsites in Campground 1 and 3 are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JESSharmon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Cabins are old, smelly. We think they allowed pets in the cabins based on the smell and stains, which would be fine if the cabins were appropriately cleaned. While they don't allow smoking (great!) it is ironic that a smoking environment would have been preferable to the filth. We rented three cabins for a family reunion and all were in terrible condition, in desperate need of cleaning and professional maintenance. Bathroom sink did not drain, stained furniture, floors terrible. Not worth the price at all. Mice and fleas in one cabin. Two people in two cabins got sick. "Clean" towels were left on the porch. No response for maintenance. A/C questionable. Take your own shampoo and soap--not even the basics were provided. Pictures were deceiving.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hawaiihome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cassville
3.4 mi away
Budget Inn Cassville
Budget Inn Cassville
#2 of 2 in Cassville
13 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Eureka Inn
Best Western Eureka Inn
#5 of 35 in Eureka Springs
811 reviews
5.3 mi away
Honeysuckle Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
1886 Crescent Hotel & Spa
#10 of 35 in Eureka Springs
2,749 reviews
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Cassville/Roaring River
16.8 mi away
Sherwood Court Inn
Sherwood Court Inn
#6 of 65 in Eureka Springs
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roaring River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roaring River State Park

Address: Highway 112, Cassville, MO 65625
Location: United States > Missouri > Cassville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cassville
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roaring River State Park offers lodging accommodations for everyone’s taste from rustic cabins to modern motel rooms. The Emory Melton Inn and Conference Center, located on a hill near the entrance of the park, is an impressive stone and timber lodge that welcomes people to the valley. The inn offers 26 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, some with private balconies and a view of the river valley below. In addition to the guest rooms with standard amenities, the inn offers kitchenette suites. Wi-Fi is available in the inn’s lobby and meeting rooms. The park also offers 26 rustic cabins and duplex and fourplex units ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roaring River State Park Hotel Cassville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing