We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Carthage B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Carthage is a quiet little town and we chose the Grand Avenue B&B because of the reviews and rating on tripadvisor. It is however the first time that the rating didn't meet our expectation.
The location is ok (a quiet residential area). The rooms as well as the house itself are not wel kept. and in urgent need of redecorating. The rooms are very old-fashioned. There is still a very small tv-set (dated 10 years back) with vcr recorder. We would not recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dd220786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbgirl97, Owner at Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thanks for the helpful review! We have added flat panel HDTVs and DVD players that display in 1080p to all rooms in response.

While we continue to update our linens and towels, electronics, and to upgrade antiques from time to time, we don't really plan to respond to the dated look of our rooms, as period-appropriate is what we were trying for. We did redo the dining room last year, but went with a tin ceiling and Victorian wall paper, so again, not really a modernization.

Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 66 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this quaint town! The home is beautiful, our needs were well taken care of and the breakfast was delicious! You will not be disaapointed in you stay here!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortWorth1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Grand Avenue B & B was perfect for our yearly getaway weekend. We (three sisters and Mom) had a quiet, relaxing stay. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast each morning served by Jeanne ( the hostess) who was very attentive to our needs. We felt right at home even taking over the big screen TV for an evening to watch a movie from the wide selection of provided. We also took a game to our room to play into the late hours of the night. There was a good seleciton of books available to read as well as books in our rooms to go along with the literary theme of the B & B. We stayed in the Mark Twain room with the adjoining E. B. White room which was perfect for the four of us. Very comfortable beds and lots of pillows.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sday123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I travel frequently on business to the Joplin/Carthage area and have stayed at several of the local hotels. Once I discovered the Grand Avenue BnB, I haven't stayed anywhere else.

The Grand Avenue is located in a quiet and safe neighborhood, which is perfect especially for a woman traveling alone on business. They have dependable wireless internet available in the rooms and are conscientious about making sure that everything accommodates the business traveler's schedule. The breakfast is provided at the time of the guest's choosing and is delicious and beautifully presented. They are willing to make special dietary accommodations if needed.

As far as luxury, I have stayed in two of the four rooms they offer, and both rooms have far exceeded expectations, and are even lovelier and more spacious than the pictures on their website reflect. During my visits, the hostess Jeanne has also added the extra touches, such as fresh flowers and mints, to make my stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

The hosts are letter perfect for the BnB. They are warm and welcoming and available when you need them, but disappear and are unobtrusive when you don't.

I would recommend this inn without reservation to anyone traveling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StPeters_MOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

A magnificent house in a lovely leafy avenue. Our hostess was so welcoming and suggested we look at each room to ensure we had chosen correctly.

We stayed in the Nathaniel Hawthorne room (as per our booking) , it had all the comforts of the 21st century whilst feeling you were stepping back in time. We had a huge bed with superb linen and numerous pillows and the most sumptious jacuzzi with fabulous toiletries and all full size! In addition, there was also a walk in shower cubicle.

Jean (our hostess) could not have been more helpful/accommodating without being intrusive.

Breakfast was included in the price and all home made.

Parking is on the property but road side parking is also available and very safe.

I would recommend this bed and breakfast without hesitation. The only downside - we were there just one night.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Girard. kansas
13
Reviewed September 11, 2005

My daughter(9) and I like to go away once a month and stay at a bed and breakfast. We love the time we get to spend with one another and just LOVE OLD victorian houses. I checked out tons of sites on the internet trying to find the best deal to fit our budget, but wasn't finding much lick. then I happen to come upon the GRAND AVENUE BED and BREAKFAST and noticed there LOW prices and that they were also offering a 20.00 discount and PLUS and 20.00 gas card if you stayed 2 nights. Who could beat this. So I called up and the innkeeper was TRULY nice and offered a pick between 20.00 in gas or 20.00 more dollars off the room price. This was TOO GOOD to be true. So anyways we arrived and the hostess was so warm and welcoming. First thing was she showed us to our AMAZING room. With a baeutiful canopy bed and lots of pillows. Then came the newly remodeled bathroom. One of the main reasons I love to go to bed and breakfasts are for the relaxing dips in the jacuzzi tubs. this one was just remarkable because it also featured a shower faucet that came out to the center of the jacuzzi above you and was HUGELY circle shaoed and just poured down like rain. SO RELAXING!!! Next, not being from around the area I needed to ask directions, not only did her husband tell me the directions, but he took time out from painting and sat down and drew me a map of all the places we wanted to visit. The next morning breakfast was DELICIUOS. I have to say I went away from there with a few new recipes to try at home and also about 5 lbs I needed to loose. She even unexpectadly brought us in chewy homemade chocolate chip cookies to snack on in our room. My dughter and I have been to quite a few residences but the hospitality and warning environment will make us frequent returning customers. this B&B as one of the BEST. Hope people will try GRAND AVENUE out if they happen to travel through Missouri.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnbgirl97, Owner at Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carthage hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Guest House Motel
Guest House Motel
#5 of 6 in Carthage
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Carthage
Super 8 Carthage
#4 of 6 in Carthage
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carthage Inn
Carthage Inn
#6 of 6 in Carthage
30 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn
#3 of 6 in Carthage
41 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 6 in Carthage
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1615 Grand Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-2668
Location: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range: $109 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to Victorian splendor and enjoy gracious hospitality in Historic Carthage, Missouri. Spend the day exploring the "Maple Leaf City", then relax in one of our Jacuzzi tubs, sleep well, and enjoy a hearty breakfast made especially for you. We offer high-speed wireless internet, TV, DVD, in-room coffee service, books, games, and relaxation! All rooms have king or queen beds with private bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Avenue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing