We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting neat places near horm”

Carthage Civil War Museum
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Carthage
Attraction details
Joplin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visiting neat places near horm”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I am a Civil War buff and this is really close to home. I never get tired of going through the museum and seeing everything they have, reading the articles and browsing through the literature available

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

As others have said, the museum is small but nicely presented and very informative, especially as Carthage was related to the Civil War. I had no idea that Carthage suffered as it did. I think this little museum is a jewel. There is a seven minute video presentation that unfortunately is shown over a television screen with less than good audio. I do wish that feature were improved; nevertheless, I still think that this museum is a great discovery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kcbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful History”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This museum is small, but has so much to offer. Several pieces on display from battles, story behind the petticoat flag and a large re-inactment table. There is no charge to go but donations are welcome.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Civil War Museum”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great little museum. Interesting displays and paintings by Andy Thomas. It is small, but it is well worth stopping by. The beautiful Carthage courthouse is right around the corner.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JerlynJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Good for a Civil War Buff”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

As a CWB, I enjoyed the fact that Carthage has a Visitors Center dedicated to the battle there in Carthage. The docent was very knowledgeable and helpful. The Video presentation was very good. The store had a rolled document with a timeline of the civil war that I find very helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyDoesIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carthage Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Carthage Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing