We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good introduction to Carthage history”

Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Carthage
Certificate of Excellence
Raymore, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good introduction to Carthage history”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

That the courthouse has any museum is a great plus to me. I think that what is shown is worthy of a traveler's stop. The large mural painted by local painter Lowell Davis, depicts the history of Carthage from its earliest days to modern times; it is accompanied with a very interesting audio presentation. I have driven through Carthage dozens of times and did not know of many (any?) of Carthage's little museums. I think the Courthouse, though small, is a wonderful stop for travelers who enjoy history!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcbison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Quick little side trip”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went on the suggestion of Ron over at the Boots Motel to see the hand operated 1898 elevator. It is lovely. The operator is also a special guy!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank con_corazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The courthouse is beautiful. It is the center of the square and a great structure. the square is nice and go to the Deli. Great coffee.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Architecture”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Historic building that is the centerpiece of the Carthage Square. The county has kept it in excellent condition. If you enjoy history, you'll enjoy a stop here. Young children and teenagers probably won't enjoy it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank texaswildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Tribute to History”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We didn't have too much time, but we looked at all we could in the time we had. It is a definite stop when in Carthage. It shows a great deal about the town and its part in the Civil War.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VickiG95340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasper County Courthouse also viewed

 

Been to Jasper County Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing