We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best motel on Route 66”
Review of Boots Court Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carthage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boots Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Carthage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“The best motel on Route 66”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Boots Motel 107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836
If you are travelling down Route 66, this is what motel dreams are made of, and the service and quality of this experience is second to none.
The two lovely ladies, who run this motel, are very nice and will show you around, and tell you about each different room that they are re-decorating, and the famous people who have stayed at this wonderful, Route 66 Motel.

All my reviews are written from the heart, and how each place made me feel, I never write a negative review, due to the fact that if I have a problem or complaint, I open my mouth while I am there, let’s be fair and give people a chance to rectify problems, stop all this negativity.

Lee Wood at Pendle Pictures

Room Tip: Ask about the famous people who have stayed here, and sleep like a star
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PendlePictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We try to give our guests the best possible experience, and it's good to know when we succeed. There are a number of great motels on Route 66, and it's good to know you think we rank among them.
Debye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
55
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Boots motel while doing the route 66 and it was clearly one of the best motels on the whole journey. The staff is incredibly nice and welcoming and you can tell that they are truly passionate about the hotel and its history. We got to know everything about the motel during the tour (especially about Clark Gable's stays) and also fell in love with the motel. The room are really clean and spacious and the furnishing is historically relevant (very nice parquet and radio). Staying at the Boots was a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigigrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Sigi, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We love having guests from faraway (to us) places come and share our special spaces. We hope you will stay with us again someday.
Debye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong & Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here while driving Route 66. We loved jthis place. The renovated rooms were so comfortable. It really is a special spot to stay and Debbie just loves to tell you all about the history of it. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfos63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debye2, Owner at Boots Court Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I love it that you described the Boots as "quirky!" We want our guests to have an experience at the Boots that they will remember! Come back in October when we fire up the fire pit and roast marshmallows and hot dogs in the parking lot!
Debye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

You can not go wrong by staying here. The Boots Motel gives you the modern convenience of WiFi, but the rooms have been restored to their 1940's glory. Every room has a radio and a table with chairs. This makes for an intimacy for travelers who want to spend time together. And, if you're desperate, pull out your laptop or iPad and watch a movie on the Internet. The beds are comfy and the center of town is within walking distance. NO Route 66er should miss this place. It's only going to get better as the years progress.

Room Tip: Choose the Clark Gable Room—#10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillytravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at The Boots last week on a trip to visit Missouri's Route 66 and attend the Cubafest in Cuba, Mo. This was the highlight of the trip. I have stayed at a number of Route 66 vintage hotels in the last several years of road travel. Carthage is very fortunate to have Deborah and Priscilla as the new owners of the Boots. Their attention to historic accuracy and preservation is unsurpassed on the route. I especially appreciate their patient approach to restoration and determination to "get it right" through painstaking research, interviews and hours upon hours of "digging". And the payoff is evident in the five rooms that are now available for occupancy.

Deborah and passionate volunteer Ron Hart showed us each available room as well as the underground tunnel, unrestored rooms, garages and other such interesting details of the Boots. As I walked into my room I was instantly transported back to the days of old when Route 66 was truly the Mother Road. No TVs here. However, the radio played the nostalgic tunes of days gone by and helped to keep me in the 40s and 50s throughout my stay. The wood floors are original as are almost every other "artifact" in the room. If not original, they are carefully selected reproductions of what would have been in the room. The bathroom tile and fixtures, meticulously cleaned by Ron and other volunteers, were absolutely stunning. Even the shower head was kept at its original lower height so as not to get your hair wet...an important feature in the days of complicated hairdos and hair products. The bed was very comfortable and the room's temperature and comfort perfectly controlled.

If you are a Route 66 "Roadie" and want a truly authentic motel experience, this is the place. If you are just traveling through with little or no knowledge of local history, give yourself a chance to time travel back to an age when things were slower, simpler, and quieter. You will thank yourself over and over again.

Finally, a special note of thanks to Deborah, Debbie and Ron for their unselfish gift of time, knowledge and friendship. I especially enjoyed our time spent sitting in front of the office at night watching traffic go by as all of you shared your love and passion for this very special place.

I look for forward to a return trip soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KingRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I'm originally from Carthage but moved to KC in '78, so I've seen Boots go through its many steps to total decline. When I read it had sold to Deb I was really happy for Carthage as well as Boots.
Chelle and I made our reservations for Maple Leaf months ago, excited to stay there. It was nothing short of fabulous. Debbie checked us in, since we brought the kids we realized we needed extra towels. Walked out the door and ran into Mr Hart of Route 66 C of C fame which led to an hour long tour and history discussion.
Later that night Deb invited us to the evening fire pit gathering up front and looked after our every need.
NO TV, NO phones, nothing but a "radio in every room". Guess what the kids did? Made up games, played with each other and had a ball!
Life as it should be. Spotless rooms, ownership who calls you by name all with the hands of time rolled back 50 years.
Thanks Deb, Debbie and Ron for making it a great stay. The Class of 72 descended on you this past weekend; I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did! Paul & Chelle

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulwilsonkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siam Reap Cambodia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ffrom the front you would not be sure if it was wort staying. Well it was. At the back of the motel they have refurbh 5 rooms. We stayed in the Clark Gable room. It has all mod cons' from the 1950 !! No TV but you don't need it. Does have good WIFI signal though. Rooms were large with original floors and the had a the original tiles. It was very clean. Great palce fopr an overnight stop. Debbie the manager was very helpful and very chatty. It had a very good feel to it.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Carthage
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 6 in Carthage
75 reviews
12.7 mi away
Best Western The Oasis at Joplin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Joplin
12.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Joplin
1.5 mi away
Best Budget Inn
Best Budget Inn
#3 of 6 in Carthage
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boots Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boots Court Motel

Property: Boots Court Motel
Address: 107 S Garrison Ave, Carthage, MO 64836-1702
Location: United States > Missouri > Carthage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boots Motel is an iconic historic motel on Route 66, at the junction of historic U.S. Route 66 and U.S. Route 71. It features two buildings, one built in 1939 and one in 1946, in the Streamlined Moderne style. Neglected for years, it is currently being restored to its 1949 appearance. Five rooms in the 1946 building are now completed and ready for occupancy. They feature spacious rooms with the original hardwood floors and built-in vanity dressing tables,and ceramic tile bathrooms with shower stalls They are individually decorated and furnished with period furnishings such as chenille bedspreads and 1940s-style furniture. Some still have the original round mirrors installed over the dressing tables. There are no televisions since television was not available in the Carthage area until the mid-1950s, but, as originally advertised, there is "a radio in every room," and the motel does offer free WiFi. Each room is individually heated and air conditioned, just as advertised in the 1940s. Experience a time when room service delivered your ice to your room and your room key was a real key that fit into an actual lock! We also have 5 double-carports to protect guest's vehicles from weather. Welcome back to the 1940s at the Boots Court! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing