We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks, HIE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cape Girardeau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I recently had an issue with HIE at Cape Girardeau. You can read my previous review. However, I received a call from them since and they have given me a certificate for a free stay. They had already reduced my room rate for the night I stayed(they didn't tell me that when I checked out), so I feel they've have now gone above and beyond to make it right.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your updated comments. We are so glad we were able to make things right and we hope to see you again some time soon! We promise to make your second stay with us the best it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 286 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here two nights while in town for a wedding, and had a great stay. Staff was helpful and service was great--housekeeper even put ice in the refrigerator for us! Room was clean and well maintained. Bed was so comfortable. We are loyalty club members so stay in Holiday Inn properties often. This was truly one of the best run HIE's we have visited. Hope to stay here again next time we visit!

Room Tip: we were on third floor in king mini-suite--great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are so glad you found our staff helpful and our service great. We will pass on your great comments to our staff and let them know what a great job they are doing. We hope to see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were actually quite pleased with the hotel, overall. The rooms were clean, and the staff was quite friendly! Although we were disappointed that the pool was indoors (we visited in the summer and it was a hot, sunny day) it was clean and quite enjoyable. Further, as soon as staff noticed that we went in with a child, they hurried in to pull out a large tub of pool toys.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, and included a pancake maker--which was much faster and not nearly as messy as waffle makers are. However, after eating I noticed that an employee came in and pushed the trash down with her bare hands. Then she went on to stock plasticware (touching it by the portion that would go in your mouth!), stirred the scrambled eggs, etc. If I had seen that before eating, we would have chosen not to eat. Very disturbing!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks so much for your comments on our hotel and staff. We love that you found our hotel and breakfast bar quite pleasing. Thanks for bringing your concerns to our attention as well, so that we may address them. We hope you get a chance to come back and see us again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I normally stay at Hampton's. If I've ever had a bad experience with Hampton, the room was free. I decided to take a motorcycle trip to Cape Girardeau and chose the HIE. The building, rooms, etc., are nice. No problem there. But, we were awaken at 2am by the people in the next room that were partying. I went to the front desk to complain and was told another room had also complained. Lady at front desk said she was "calling security" and picked up the phone. About 15 min later the noise was just as bad. I called the front desk this time. After a few min I could hear someone talking in the hall. The conversation stopped and the party went right on as loud as ever. Again, I went down to front desk. This time the front desk lady rode the elevator back up with me. I don't know what she told them that time, but the noise finally stopped. Now here's my rub with HIE. I complained about it when I checked out and I got an "I'm sorry". No offer of reducing room rate or anything. I can assure you if I'd been at a Hampton, the room would have been free because I've had that happen before. I even got a free stay at Hampton because my room was not ready at check-in and I had to wait 2 hrs to check in. Did I expect a free stay from HIE? No, but an offer of 15-20% off would have been nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazybee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thanks so much for your comments on our hotel and thanks for staying with us. As per our phone conversation with you, we have and will continue to address concerns like yours. Thanks for bringing it to our attention and we hope that when you are in our area again, that you will stop and stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Can't say enough great things about this hotel. Friendly staff all around, great breakfast buffet, the 2nd most comfortable bed I have slept on, as were the pillows (the 1st is at Shingles Resort in Orlando, FL). I didn't even use the pillow I brought from home!. Large tub, which is unheard of in any hotel room. Some negatives: Noise from above room. Don't know if they just walked heavily, but could hear them. Lighting in the bathroom was not great for putting on your makeup. There was a magnifying wall mirror, but if you are going to have one, please make it a lighted one. Would really help. Otherewise, a great stay. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Our ropm faced the parking lot so we had light coming in underneath the curtains but wasn't over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kydzrn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thanks for your great comments on our hotel and team. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and especially the breakfast, our comfortable beds and oversized tubs. Also, thank you for letting us know about the noise, lighting and make up mirrors. We will certainly take a look at these items and make necessary changes for the future. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the moment we checked-in, we were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff members. Everyone from the front desk clerks, breakfast attendant and the cleaning staff took a great deal of pride in their jobs and the hotel. It truly reflected in every area of this particular Holiday Inn. One of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in. I'll be making a return trip!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhornbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thanks so much for your great comments on our hotel and especially our team. We will pass your comments on to them and let them know what a great job they are doing. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed there the night before my daughter college graduation. Great location and friendly staff. Very clean. Would definitely stay again. Plenty of parking and looks really up to date. 2 double beds and a pull out sofa.

Room Tip: We stayed on the all suite floor....and you can only gain access if you have a room on the floor. NI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel for your stay and taking the time to post comments about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future! Congratulations on your daughter's graduation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Girardeau hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Cape Girardeau I-55 East
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Cape Girardeau
0.1 mi away
Auburn Place Hotel & Suites
Auburn Place Hotel & Suites
#4 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Drury Plaza Hotel Cape Girardeau Conference Center
Drury Plaza Hotel Cape Girardeau...
#7 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
9 reviews
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Cape Girardeau
Candlewood Suites Cape Girardeau
#8 of 10 in Cape Girardeau
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Cape Girardeau Near the Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau

Address: 3253 William St, Cape Girardeau, MO 63703-4961
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Cape Girardeau
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Girardeau
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cape Girardeau
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Girardeau
Price Range: $119 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cape Girardeau. This newly built Cape Girardeau hotel opened in June 2005. Conveniently located at Interstate 55 and William St. (exit 96). The hotel is just minutes from Southeast Missouri State University, St. Francis Hospital, Southeast Missouri Hospital, Doctors Park, Show Me Center, Procter & Gamble, Nordenia, Shawnee Park and Biokyowa. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cape Girardeau Hotel is midway between Memphis and St. Louis on I-55 within the Park West Hospitality Center Complex. Surrounded by a wide selection of eating establishments, this new hotel features 102 one room suites, a grand lobby area, free high speed Internet service and two meeting rooms. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, game room, refrigerator & microwave in every room. We are proud to be a 100% smoke free facility. When selecting a Cape Girardeau hotel, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Girardeau Hotel Cape Girardeau
Holiday Inn Cape Girardeau
Cape Girardeau Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing