We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Buffet”

Isle Casino Cape Girardeau
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Isle Casino Cape Girardeau is a state of the art gaming and entertainment destination located in historic Cape Girardeau, Missouri. The casino offers approximately 900 slot machines and 21 table games including roulette, craps, blackjack and poker. Extend the action with exciting promotions, entertainment, and five restaurants to tempt your palate. Get winning!
Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go for the Buffet”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I don't gamble-just go to enjoy their buffet. The food is tasty, but sometimes is barely warm. Ribs on Fridays are very good. I have only gone at lunch, but I have been told the evening meals are even better. Service is good. Atmosphere is pleasant, and area is clean. As others have mentioned, it's stinky smokey to get to the buffet, but you don't notice it in the buffet area. It's one of the nicest restaurants in the town. Bathrooms are very clean. I would recommend the buffet to my friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank hihowego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    45
    42
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malden, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Typical casino”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is your tyical casino, but it is the closest casino to us, so we make the best of it. My boyfriend plays poker and he always seems to do well and I spend a lot of time on the penny slots without getting bored. They have valet parking, but we have never had a problem parking the car ourselves. I'm not a fan of the buffet, but we will eat it if we have a voucher or have earned enough points to pay for it. It's not worth the $26 to me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank h_blond2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive but offers little”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Parking is fine; service is fine.
The Buffet is $26.00 per person and for that price what you get is disappointing to say the least.
The selection is poor. Hardly anything to choose from if you're at all health conscience. The Prime Rib was tough and loaded with fat. The Ribs were so fat laden that they were not even edible. They do not offer chicken wings!! What buffet doesn't even offer chicken wings?
The only thing that was really good was the apple pie.
The pulled barbecue pork was not bad either. String beans were decent, although loaded down in butter.
Next we went to the coffee bar. Um….. calling it any sort of coffee bar or coffee shop is almost hysterical. There are two cappuccino machines behind the counter that the servers pour instant cappuccinos from. I would say they are like the ones you see in most gas stations, but the cappuccino machines in most gas stations are actually of higher quality and offer more flavours.
You can pour your own medium grade quality coffee in small styrofoam cup that they will happily charge you $2.50 for. Isle wins the prize for the most expensive small cup of coffee I've had in a long time.
Apparently, they just do not get it. This is rural Missouri. You can't have poor quality food for high prices in this part of the country and expect any repeat business.
Drinks are expensive in the bar and service is just "ok". The band was good - apparently they import top groups from St. Louis and Kansas City. At least they had that going for them. And the place was very clean. Bathrooms were nice. They've got that part down. Now if they can just get a real coffee shop; stop charging $2.50 for cheap brewed coffee in styrofoam cups, and either drop the buffet price of raise the quality, maybe they'll have something good going here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“somewhat small casino”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Casino is a little smokey, as someone else mentioned, but no more so than all the other casinos I've been in, unless it's totally non-smoking. Noise level doesn't seem any higher than all the others to me either. Friday and Saturday buffet is all-you-can-eat crab legs at a very reasonal price.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie63701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scenic view”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Scenic view over Mississippi while dining. Outdoor fire pits to keep you warm! Lots of nearby shopping in historic downtown.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tonandjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isle Casino Cape Girardeau also viewed

 

Been to Isle Casino Cape Girardeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing