We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly wonderful.”
Review of Bistro Saffron

Bistro Saffron
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Saffron is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 144 Restaurants in Cape Girardeau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $21
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mt. Auburn/Lexington
Description: Serving fine Asian fare with flavors and inspirations from around the world.
Jackson, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly wonderful.”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have lived in Texas and the Twin Cities, but this little bistro in southern Missouri has the best Taiwanese I have ever eaten! Who would have expected to find such a high quality global fusion flavor in such a small town!

Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
Level Contributor
408 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wide variety, pleasant style.”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

While this is a place oriented toward Asian-style dishes, there are offerings that should appeal to a variety of tastes. There is a wide variety of sushi available, however we were more interested in warm asian-style dishes. All of our dishes were tasty, fresh and had just the right amount of spice. We were not disappointed at all from appetizer to main entree.

Service was very good, although we were fortunate enough to be able to dine on a weeknight.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boat-Captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pan-asian fusion”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The best asian food in Cape G., good atmosphere in Regent Parc Plaza.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank drbcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Southeast Missouri Asian? You bet, baby!”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

As a birthday choice of eateries in the Cape, my daughter immediately selected Saffron. If you knew her eclectic tastes, this would be the beginning and end of this review, since her choice says a mouthful, so to speak. But, you don't have that advantage, hence my review...

We were greeted heartily, and seated immediately. Our server introduced herself, (which is always a nice touch), and took drink orders. I had the hot green tea. Delicious, especially on a cold, windy, rainy Saturday evening. We then ordered appetizers of large rolled tuna sushi, and two Saffron toasts. My mouth is watering just writing about it!

Anyway, the place was filling up rapidly with patrons, which in turn delayed the turnaround time on our appetizer order. That is the only negative of the evening. And the longer we were there, the worse it got. Which meant that our entree order, beverage refills, birthday dessert, and check request(s) took way too long. Our server was doing her level best, and the busboy was very prompt taking away soiled plates, so it wasn't their fault. This is a very popular restaurant, and the crowd this particular evening was normal. It just irks me when management fails to plan adequately for rushes that they know from experience are going to happen. Frugality is good, to a point...

Be that as it may, the appetizers were first rate. The Saffron toast comes in seasoned slices, along with a bowl of cut pieces of red and green peppers, cucumber, and onion in a unique sweet/sour sauce. Swizzle some of this on the toast, and I'm tellin' ya it is the nines! The tuna sushi roll was perfect. Five pieces, served with wasabi paste and ginger slices on the side. Oh baby, that is what I'm talkin' about! Eating this made me just sit back in my chair and savor the deliciousness. Seriously.

For the entree, I had the gra prow with beef slices. A generous portion of perfect, tender, sirloin pieces with crisp green beans; yellow, red, and green peppers, onions, and white rice. The heat from the pepper sauce was just right, producing only minor beads of sweat on the forehead. Far out, man!

Eighty bucks, including a generous gratuity, for the four of us, and we had a couple of take homes to boot. Atmosphere? Hey, it's decorated nicely, has a full bar, wine, and a view of the new waterpark across the street. But, you won't notice any of that once your chow arrives. I promise.

Great sushi and pan-asian food in southeast Missouri? You bet, baby!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TaulPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breth of fresh air wholly unexpected!”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

With an extensive menu of fresh selections reasonably priced, this is a marvelous find for educated palates. We travel frequently and have choices, yet we very much enjoyed this atmosphere 11/12/11, hands on ownership/management and well prepared dishes appreciated by all the tables within earshot. May it prosper, for we hope to celebrate again future events of significance, like "finding a good book day" or "stumbling upon a wonderful poem day" or whatever! Restaurant reviews are somewhat suspect; however, this one is authentic, given by a Wordsworth protege.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missourifarmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Saffron also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing