We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs”
Review of Dexter Bar B Que

Dexter Bar B Que
Ranked #22 of 148 Restaurants in Cape Girardeau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We eat there every time we visit Cape a couple of times per year. The ribs can not be beat anywhere, all their BBQ is good. Daughter gets pulled pork, I have had the sampler platter. They have about 5-10 different types of sauces to try or you can order without any sauce as my daughter enjoys.

Their hours are different, I assume it's family or locally owned. Not open on Sundays and some major holidays (Labor Day).

We drive for hours just for the ribs. They are wonderful. Don't leave there without getting some to take home for lunch the next day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family reunion group went to the Dexter BBQ in Cape. They did not charge for the room. We had a buffet with cole slaw, beans, pulled pork and pork ribs.

It was all good, however some of the pork ribs didn't have enough meat on them. It was good though

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“tasty BBQ”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

ate lunch at this location - was thrown off a bit by the self-service (order at the counter & they bring your food to you) - but, the food was hot and tasted great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Below average...somebody take there BBQ license!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I have tried the place twice. The BBQ is average at best. It was watery taste. It is covered with sauce to hide the taste of the meat.

Avoid it if you love BBQ

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior_Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What is not to like? Pulled pork, smoked ribs and smoked chicken on Wednesdays...all with the great sauce that made them famous...at least famous around here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexter Bar B Que also viewed

Cape Girardeau, MO
 

Been to Dexter Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing