We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
17
4
3
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
4
3
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa great place to staymain coursedogsviewstsitsikammadirectionssaloonopportunity
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 33 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Tranquil, stunning views in a luxurious, exclusive resort with a homely atmosphere, away from the hustle and bustle of the city life. An awesome, relaxing, "get away". I will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLK410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan B, Owner at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thanks so much for the great review. Would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you like a remote get-away with supurb acommodation, cuisine and views of the ocean from a cliff top, this is the place for you. For our first two nights' stay we were upgraded at no extra charge to the most wonderful luxury suite that included a jaccuzi and shower plus balcony that was the size of a decent-sized New York apartment! The owners, Marie and Steve and the rest of the staff, went out of their way well beyond the call of duty to meet our every need. The evening meals were the most delicious home-cooked dinners served on a verandah from which we could watch the glorious sunsets. We had enormous fun interacting with the resident dogs and also went on a wonderful hike through the fynbos. Highly recommended as a place to unwind and to restore the soul.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan B, Owner at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

We loved having you here; so did the dogs! thank you so much fr a great review. Now come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I unfortunately checked in with clients after finding this "Hotel" on the Internet.
No way was this 4 star (2 perhaps) - No shower, no TV, shocking linens and generally uncomfortable.The dinner was very poor for home-cooked food.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. The whole building should be renovated.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan B, Consultant at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

The lodge has no record of a paying guest fitting the description Business Builder. The only one remotely fitting is a tour guide who stayed, ate and drank (in abundance) for free, escorting a European paying guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

stayed at Tsitsikamma on sea and had the time of our lives. The views were picture postcards, the owners went beyond the call of duty, different idyllic spots to watch sunsets, sitting around camp fires listening to guitar and flutes playing, amazing walks, horse riding, home cooked wholesome food, veggies and salads picked from their organic vegetable patch. An unexpected paradise highly recommend, especially if you want idyllic views, warmth, and the energy of nature surrounding you. We stayed in the lodge and went back on our return journey to stay in basic cabin. Depends what you want, but it is all about the nature.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulawayo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan B, Owner at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We would love to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

This was a last minute booking because our chalet in Tsitsikamma National Park was flooded. Did not have time to do proper research, and boy was that a mistake. I don't know where their website (on SA Venues) got their luxury pictures from, because we literally stayed in a tool shed. The lights didn't work, the pilot light on the stove and oven was out (forcing us to use a cig lighter to light the thing), there was a satellite dish but no tv (??), there was a big bull next door to us behind a fence consisting of a single rope, the furniture was dingy, and the drive to get there was nearly impassable. The view was not anything to speak of either.

AND, it was a 4 star place and cost 800 rand per night!!! It was the most expensive of any of our accommodation, all of which was much nicer.

The drive to the guesthouse is down a 7km dirt road with huge potholes and sand. We had a sedan and did not know that we would barely make it. Our car truly took a beating and the driving was stressful.

We never once saw the owners, as they called me and told me we were staying in cottage #2 and the key was inside. I was so disgusted with the place and the price, and too scared of the road conditions, to go look for the owners.

Do not stay here, ever. Look in Storms River, as you will be much closer to the N2 and activities, coffee, and the National Park.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank prontopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan B, Coonsultant at Tsitsikamma on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

These guests that arrived already irate about their circumstances were helped out in their emergency and accommodated in an unrated cottage on the estate at a fraction of what it would have cost them in the lodge had we been able to accommodate them. The cottages are exactly what they claim to be - cottages. The lodge has maintained its 4-star rating for the past 12 years and Superior Acommodation AA rating. The picture that they posted is NOT of the master suite at the lodge. They never set foot in the lodge and the review is not about Tsitsikamma on Sea Luxury Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews