We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Sea View”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
De Kelders, Overstrand, Overberg District, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic Sea View”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Lookout at Whale Cove has spectacular views of Walker Bay. The balcony was the perfect place to watch and hear the whales while enjoying the complimentary bottle of wine.
We really enjoyed our stay at The Lookout despite there being no key for us at the designated collection point when we arrived. The friendly staff at the Gansbaai Tourism office went to great lengths to track down the key.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your great review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I apologise that the key was not at the Tourism office as planned, it was completely unacceptable that our management service had not delivered the key back to them in time. In fact, we have decided to buy a remote lock for the apartment so that guests are not dependent on anybody to get a key - and can arrive anytime that suits them. Kind regards, Mailie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann-He...
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and breathtaking site and view, all best, highly recommended”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Excellent and breath-taking site and view, all best, highly recommended
Accommodation is part of a residential area that is closed but not really gated. Directly at the costal drive with direct view to the ocean. We could see shales from our bed! Unbelievalbe view and highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment Johann-Heinrich. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The view is magnificent, I agree, and the whales on the doorstep are a real plus!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sergio12
Roma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply incredible”
Reviewed September 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I don't know how it is in summer. We were there in winter and we had whales under the terrace. This means that we could hear the whales under our terrace. I don't think, and I don't know if, there is a similar place all around the world. We didn't look for a beach. We simply listened to the whales' song out of our apartment. Beautiful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thanks Sergio - you feel like we feel about the whales - there's no better sound (and sight) in the world! We're so fortunate to have the position that we do, right on the ocean, so close to the whales. Next time you can look for the beaches - they're pretty amazing too! Kind regards, Mailie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome ocean views”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a gorgeous spot. Really lovely apartment with amazing master bedroom and terrace. Lovely walk along the coast to Gansabaii as well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thanks Chris. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the apartment and beautiful De Kelders. We have to agree that it really is a little piece of heaven! Regards, Mailie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue O
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS LOOKOUT”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a lovely apartment with a GREAT view! Had everything we needed and was good value for money. The Lookout is a place to go and relax and enjoy the lovely balcony and gas braai with outside dining area.
We enjoyed being able to go for walks either along the rocky paths or the road. Close to Gansbaai where you can buy lovely fresh fish. All in all a fabulous place to go and stay. I would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View.
Liked least: Nothing to mention.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyJM2...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 677 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in a peaceful area overlooking the bay!”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is large and spacious with a balcony large enough for dining and barbecuing.
There are wonderful views over the bay and the area is quiet. I would recommend this apartment to anyone wanting a peaceful holiday away from the normal hustle and bustle of Hermanus.
Pros - perfect for a family holiday with all the amenities (shops/liquor store/laundry etc) one could need only a short drive away. Apartment has three double bedrooms, two bathrooms and a guest toilet. There are two lounge areas and a wonderfully stocked book shelf. Beds are comfortable and the bedrooms are well positioned so each one is relatively private. The area is ideal for cycling/running/walking.
Cons - Kitchen is not well equipped - very basic. There is only one shower as the one bathroom only has a bath. We were there when it was extremely hot and ended up buying fans for the bedrooms as when one opened the windows/door we were eaten alive by mosquitoes (even with mosquito repellent). Although it overlooks the bay, one has to drive/walk to the nearest swimming beach. Restaurants are quite a drive away.
In conclusion - I would happily stay here again if I wanted another relaxed holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully positioned, large and comfortable
Liked least: Only one shower, no fans in the bedrooms, kitchen lacking utensils, appliances and salad bowls etc
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
I'm so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. I'm sorry the mosquitoes were a nuisance - normally the electric mosquito machines are enough to deter them!

You must have missed the little beach directly in front of the apartment and down the stairs. It is a pebble beach but is wonderful for a dip and a sundowner!

One of our favourite restaurants in the area is Coffee on the Rocks which is just 100 metres down our road.

I'm sorry you found the kitchen basic - as a keen cook myself I have equipped it with a fridge/freezer, oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and many extras such as a coffee plunger, baking equipment, wok, plastic ware for kids and at least pieces of crockery and cutlery across the spectrum (nothing worse than a holiday rental with only six of everything because it sleeps six!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELEANOR F
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

It has all been said before by others. This was a very clean and well equipped apartment. Everything one could need was there. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing