We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
210
9
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
210
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews at home dining experience relaxing experience visiting the area house is beautiful positive energy a real treat comfortable rooms south africa beautiful place neil books host hospitality whales art pleasures
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 222 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Staying in de Kelders, which is a very small community you don’t really have a lot of restaurants to pick from. Being able to visit Niël's for dinner was a real treat. We were staying at the Cliff Lodge, where they recommended and managed to get us a table for 4 for the same evening, mind this being a peak season, which was great.

Such a nice environment right inside the housings and a neighborly hospitality was so different in the most positive way, and an experience. The wines served to the courses were superb and the food was properly prepared with the real TLC. If you do get the chance to pay a visit, do it!!!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2018

many thanks for your review, it is such a pleasure - thank you - next time we will try for 5/5

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018

We spend the weekend 8 - 10 June 2018 at De Kelders Private Villa.
What an amazing experience, from arriving and being welcomed with warm fireplaces, into this tastefully and elegantly decorected villa, we felt right at home.
Neil has created a home away from home where you can relax, feel at home with a sense of style, art and decoration that is of world class standards and making us feel as comfortable as in our own homes. The kitchen and cooking facilities are befitting for a chef but also sets the tone that our friends and family could cook together, eat together and have quo;ity time that is not to be found easily in the hurried world we live in.

Room tip: Rooms are superior quality and every little detail is taken care of from Fresh towels to luxurious bathroom amenities and crisp towels
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nevilleconchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2018

Many thanks for your beautiful review Neville - your words are appreciated by myself and our staff - thank you again and many happy returns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018

The last two days of our trip we stayed at De Kelders Privat Villa and it was wonderful! The house is beautiful, tranquil and luxurious. We rented the whole house as we were traveling as a family which was great. Indoors and outdoors equally beautiful and super comfortable with lots of space to spread out, watch the sun set and have a drink.

Great breakfasts and dinners - amazing.

Thanks Niel and Henry for hosting us, your friendly welcome, conversations, gifts (motorbike ride will remain a fond memory for Nils) and we will be back on our next visit to South Africa.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2018

Can only agree to all the other comments! Enjoying a dining experience in this outstanding villa is special experience! We really enjoyed our time being in this wonderful house about two weeks ago. In October we will be back to De Kelders and hope to get a further chance to deep into this special atmosphere, Neil is spreading. Looking forward!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Gitti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2018

Hello Gitti - It was so special to have you here. October is beautiful - the whales, the sun and more great food. Be well, warm wishes from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

While staying in De Kelders my friend and I were blessed to enjoy a dining experience at this Villa where Neil, the owner and incredible chef, cooked for us personally as we enjoyed his several course meal while enjoying the breathtaking view. His positive energy and amazing talent for food and decor made our evening one we will cherish forever! Pictures alone could never do it justice.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2018

THANK YOU so much Kat, it was a pleasure to be of service to you and your friend, thank you for loving the food, the scenery and the conversation, we know we will see you again. Warm wishes. Niël+Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews