We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Kelders Private Villa
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$71
$63
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
203
6
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
6
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate houseat homerelaxing experienceboth breakfast and dinnervisiting the areapure luxurythe perfect hostpositive energyfood and winewonderful placeshark tripcomfortable roomsmade us feelsteak specialneilbookscollection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 212 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

One of life's true pleasures is finding a gem that one wants to keep a secret to share only with intimate friends and family. In this case I owe it to Niel Stemmet (owner of the ultra luxurious Private Villa in De Kelders - South Africa) to mention that his hospitality, food and service is unsurpassed by international standards. My partner and I have travelled the world and to our utmost surprise we now rate Private Villa as one of our favorite places to visit. Niel is a national treasure as one of South Africa's leading food connoisseurs and designers. The moment you enter this Villa you are surrounded by a sophisticated collection of books, antiques, objet d' art and a hospitality that one only finds in frequently visited establishments. After wonderful walks around town and to one of the most beautiful beaches on earth, Niel and his staff always welcomed us with some delightful local treat as a tease for the gastronomic feast that awaited us every evening. We found ourselves chatting to Niel and other guests until the early hours of the morning as we shared our passion for art, travel and food while the moon lit up the incredible Overberg mountain range in the background. Private Villa is a haven for those visiting beautiful South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GlobalTravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

dear Michael

thank you so much for your glowing review - we do hope to live up to the standards you set for our home.

we do hope to see you soon in de kelders. the beaches await your footsteps and as per usual we will serve you wonderful local meals.

thank you again

neil+staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Perfect location, perfect service, perfect house. We have been there one night only, but we whished to stay longer !
Dinner and breakfast was oustanding. Perfect hideaway.
Lovely cats. And thank you Neil for booking us on the shark dive trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kristine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

dear Kristine

thank you for sharing one day of your life with us in de kelders. it was wonderful to have you here. great that you loved the shark cage diving too.!

be safe

see you soon

neil+staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I recently re-connected with a school friend who visited from New York and we decided that we have to really do something special to celebrate our reunion. So my friend and I and another mutual friend head off toe De Kelders Private Villa! From the moment we arrived, we were spoiled with a attention and unbelievable home cooked meals served by the owner, Niel Stemmet. Our rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated, with attention to detail. Niel could not do enough to make our reunion and our stay something to remember for a very long time. It was such a special reunion weekend and we definitely made the right decision to celebrate our reunion at such a lovely destination. I can highly recommend De Kelders Private Villa!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizettefrank2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

dear Lizette

thank you for visiting de kelders PRIVATE house and making the house your home for the weekend - it was wonderful to host you and your friends in our home.

please come back and walk the beaches soon

warm wishes

neil+staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Amazing to see such a stylish and well-appointed house in Gansbaai. Neil left us the whole house for the night, giving us access to his music and top-shelf bar. What a wonderful surprise. A must-stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank cyan852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

dear Cathy

thank you for sharing your wonderful energy with our home - one day i will go back to NYC and we will share a coffee and thoughts

warmest de kelders wishes

neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staying at Neil's is like visiting the home of an old friend who just happens to also be a uniquely talented designer and cook. We came to Gaansbai to see the sharks, but talking late into the night in the living room and exploring the remarkable collection of books and magazines (including National Geographic copies dating back to 1934) at De Kelders was easily the highlight of the trip. This is a truly special place and proof of the soothing effect of thoughtful design. I very much hope to get the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wyatt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

dear Wyatt

thank you for your wonderful words, the legacy of your great grandfather is in you.

wishing you a happy life and that you may return to this very special place, soon

neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews