We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Kelders Private Villa
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$498
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$105
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Schuur(Vermont)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
203
6
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
6
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate houseat homerelaxing experienceboth breakfast and dinnervisiting the areapure luxurythe perfect hostpositive energyfood and winewonderful placeshark tripcomfortable roomsmade us feelsteak specialneilbookscollection
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 212 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Don't even dare drive past De Kelders without spending a day or more at De Kelders Private Villa. The loss will be yours and great for that matter. Not knowing much about this quaint little hamlet, we arrived just before sunset and stepped into an experience I still find hard to explain. Meeting our host Neil Stemmet, a celebrity designer and cook in his own right, I instantly knew that we were in for a treatment; 'sans pareil'. The opulent decor, sweeping views, exceptional cuisine and fine (and I mean fine) attention to detail were delicately juxtaposed with a strong sense of closeness to the earth and homeliness seldom experienced in an establishment of this nature. Dinner and breakfast were both unforgettable culinary experiences and the rest of our time was spent curled up on couches in front of the fire reading from Neil’s formidable collection of reading material, listening to his even more formidable music collection, whale watching, walking along the pristine beaches and being pampered very generously by our host. We came away inspired and brimming with new creative energy.
Also, when visiting, do not leave without a copy of his recipe book "Sout en Peper" (soon out in English). I still cry every time I read an excerpt from his nostalgic culinary memoirs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

dear Tania , thank you so much for your generous and kind words , we will treasure them - always. the whales are back in the bay, please come see them soon . neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a delightful weekend we had at Private Villa. After just one night away it felt as if we have been on a relaxing holiday for a week! The house is beautifully designed and the interior speaks only of elegance and style with a garden to match. Unfortunately we left just to early to see the first whales of the season arriving, but we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank marethadreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

dear Maretha

thank you for your kind review - we loved having you here

the whales have arrived and the days are glorious - another beautiful winter in de kelders.

we do hope to receive you soon

warm wishes

neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

It was a pleasure and pure luxury to live in the private villa. The villa is a designer's jewel and walking around the house and looking at the little and bigger precious designs of lamps, chairs, tableware etc. is just like living in a deco magazine. The atmosphere is like staying at a friend's home, there is nothing like being in a hotel. Breakfast was wonderful, the landscape is great, you can walk and stay totally by your own at the beach. Hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank l_a_elnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

dear Lili and Andre

thank you so much for your review ;-)

we do hope to see you soon for a return visit

warm de kelders wishes to you in Munchen

neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had to arrange accomodation for a business trip and not knowing the area, i chose Neil's place as the website was most imformative and helpful, and he came back with friendly, helpful replies promptly. Upon arriving at De Kelders Private Villa, i found out why - Neil is an exceptional host with a wealth of knowledge of the area and surroundings, yet he does not intrude. The accomodation was wonderful and absolutely up to standard. The food was even better! We will without hesitation recommend Neil's place and will definitely be going back soon in the future for some leisure time instead of work. Vernon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Vernon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

dear Vernon

thank you for your review, it was wonderful to share time with you and we do hope to have you back when you have more time to relax and explore the beauty of de kelders

warm de kelders wishes

neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

In my recent review of Private Villa, De Kelders, I ended with these portent words:
“Private Villa is not a once-only place – very definitely, “We’ll be back!”
Little did we know or realise that we would be back - within a matter of weeks!

Our Paris-based son had been so impressed, not only with the beautiful coastline of Gansbaai De Kelders but also with the unique qualities of our accommodation, that when it came to celebrating his Mumsies 80th birthday in December, he immediately set about organising the party at Private Villa.

It so happened that the venue is neatly placed midway between Cape Town and Swellendam and, on the day, a score of special guests from these centres graced the beautifully decorated banquet table. Our host Niël Stemmet had just published his book on South African traditional dishes ‘Sout en Peper’ and was able to explain that every item on the extensive menu had been taken from the book for this auspicious occasion.

It was a feast to remember - rounded off perfectly with a charming duet with Michele on the flute and David on the piano. Guests set off home with stars in their eyes and love and music in their hearts.

Thank you Niël, David and Michele for such a memorable birthday celebration which our ‘Mumsie’ will never forget.

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the little pool patio
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank RaymondESwellendam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neilstemmet, Owner at De Kelders Private Villa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

dear Raymond - it was our honor to receive you in our home and to participate in the celebration of your wives 80th birthday

thank you so much for your review - we do hope to see you soon for your third visit

warm de kelders wishes

neil+david

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews