We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marebella Seafront Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$518
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsor Hotel & Apartments(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$102
$65
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Pines Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
$108
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
369
27
4
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
27
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful hostswhale watchingb bat homeshark cage divingbreakfast tablewarmth and friendlinessbeautiful placecape agulhastwo nightsmade us feeldinner reservationsenjoyed every minutepleasant staybalcony overlookingbeautiful houseboat trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 401 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you spent some time in De Kelders, don't miss Shalene & Gherard Guesthouse. The location is just Great, with whales at your feet and the owners are more than nice. Withe only two rooms its cosy and warm.

Gerard from France

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The sea was stormy and our shark-cage diving trip was delayed. Drove around, found Marebella and stayed 2 nights. Fantastic views (see picture), a very nice and comfortable room and very helpful owners. Gerhard gave us directions for a great, full day trip - Elim, the Black Oystercatcher Winery and L'Aguilhas . After the storm, Shalene booked for us a shark-cage diving trip.
The only disapointment was the fact that WiFi was only available in the lounge and in the dining room. However, Shalene and Gerhard encouraged us to sit there, offered us tea and coffee while we were using our laptops and made us feel at home. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our three days at Marebella. The location is awesome - the whales are so close and the view is just breathtaking. Shalene and Gerhard a very friendly hosts and they made us feel at home right from the start. Gerhards wine selection is huge and he gave us the best advice. Sitting on the deck chairs on the first floor terrace looking over Walker Bay and watching the whales play and jump was one of the best experiences during our stay in South Africa. We would always come back to Marebella when we are around again - just a beautiful place with wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nordisch_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spectacular whale watching and awesome views - right from your bedroom window!
Had a wonderful experience at Marebella - Gerhard and Shalene were unbelievably warm and friendly hosts, we feel that we are now also one of their many friends!
The setting is unbeatable, the whales were so close, the coastline is extremely beautiful.
Wonderful place, wonderful hosts! Loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyandgoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we showed up, the owner pointed, looked at our son, and said, “what is that?” We were refused entry because we had our 7-year-old son with us, and were treated extremely rudely. Instead of an apology or help finding us alternate lodging, they insisted that even though they wouldn't let us stay, we would have to pay since they have a 7-day advance cancellation policy. Easily the rudest and most insulting experience we have had in South Africa.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Alfwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marebella, Owner at Marebella Seafront Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

This booking was a booking.com booking which the guests made for two people, yet arrived as a group of three, one being a young child which, according to our very clearly stated policy, we do not accommodate. They insisted that they had booked for three, something that is simply not possible on the booking.com system. Booking.com also confirmed to us that the booking was clearly made for two people and not for three. The guests claimed that they had never had a problem before which leads us to believe they have done such a booking practice before.

It is not true that we did not try to help them find alternative, child friendly accommodation. We were in the process of doing this when they left. We heard later that they had stayed at the guesthouse we were contacting.

This was undoutedly a very difficult situation which became unpleasant as we unfortunately had to enforce a policy which is there to ensure that our other guests can have the experience they expect.

Gerhard & Shalene Pirker (Owners Marebella Guesthouse)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews