We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GuestHouse Acorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cameron
Certificate of Excellence
Clare, Iowa, USA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This was a little hard to find, but well worth the trouble! Our room was recently remodeled and the bath, too. Comfortable beds, comfy chairs,very clean, and great parking right outside the door. Good value, friendly manager, and nice warm free breakfast. Would stay again if we ever get this way again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connie19492013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    90
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
89
85
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarcoxie, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The clerk at check-in was friendly and efficient. Our room was very clean with 2 sinks. The parking space at our room was large so no car doors banging! Our room faced the gardens and enjoyed walking through the gardens. The breakfast was good with a lady making fresh scrambled eggs for us. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Acorn is the best place we've stayed in on the road. I really appreciated the pet-friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Excellent large parking spaces in front of each door. As someone else recommended, the pool-side rooms are best, with easy access to the spacious garden (great for walking dogs!), although it's not a big place so walking from one side to the other would be easy. We slept really well (per fitbit sleep monitors), and I've called to find out what kind of mattresses they have. It's easy off the highway and plenty of close fast-food options for dinner. Nice view of the stars at night. The breakfast was tasty and more like real food than other hotel breakfasts we've had. Agree with all of the positives of the other reviews, but didn't experience the negatives. We'll definitely return. Highly recommended if you like motels that have some character.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would have given this motel a VERY GOOD, but the carpet is so worn out that it almost ruins a persons stay. I gave the location an AVERAGE and I was being nice as the carpeting should have taken it down to a POOR. Our room had spots by the door that are worn so badly the threads are showing. At the ends of the beds the carpet is actually bunched up as it is so worn and stretched out.
The desk man was extremely friendly and check in was fast.
Breakfast was much better than one can typically expect.
We possibly would stay here again, but when making a reservation, I would ask if the rooms had new carpeting. If not, then I just may drive another 65 miles to stay closer in Kansas City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveZ234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a long days drive, you like to find your motel without any bother. The Best Western Cameron's entry drive was through the local Sinclair truck stop on a common frontage road. Our greeting by BW desk staff was warm, but when asked about the mattress quality and the morning breakfast, her answers were not helpful. Basically, "I haven't slept here or eaten the breakfast, so I don't know". We found our room to be recently renovated, clean and cool in anticipation of a warm Missouri afternoon. Everything was as it should be, mattress, refrig., microwave and bathroom all above average. The mattress was a firm plush top and provided an excellent nights sleep. The morning breakfast was well done consisting of the usual stuff you find with a complimentary breakfast. I would stay here again and recommend the BW motel if you want an inexpensive nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drgoodhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trout Dale, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Even though it is next to a truckstop on the main road, this stopover on the trip across the Midwest was convenient and quiet. Since we were travelling with a lot of equipment for camping, it was nice to back up right to the unit to unload at this old school motel. The breakfast was freshly cooked by the early morning desk clerk. Friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed the large room which had: microwave; refrigerator; two sinks; nice toiletries; good shower head; armoire; decent cable (no HBO as listed on the TV channel listings, though); good lighting; cleanliness. The pool was clean and provided easy entry. The staff was extremely welcoming, and provided information on the area. We also liked the breakfast which included freshly-cooked eggs, breads, pastries, plenty of coffee and juices, and corned beef hash (!). This is a well-kept property that is a good value (I did notice a tad bit of the "old motel" smell when I first entered the lobby, but the room was not that way). We would recommend a room on the pool/garden side of the motel, since the other side faces the truck stop next door. This is a very nice "park at the door" motel that has lovely, well-kept grounds. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cameron hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Cameron
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#6 of 7 in Cameron
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cameron
Super 8 Cameron
#2 of 7 in Cameron
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Cameron
Days Inn Cameron
#4 of 7 in Cameron
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Cameron
Motel 6 Cameron
#5 of 7 in Cameron
43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 7 in Cameron
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Acorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Acorn Inn

Property: GuestHouse Acorn Inn
Address: 2210 US Highway 36, Cameron, MO 64429-5244 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Acorn Inn)
Location: United States > Missouri > Cameron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Acorn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Acorn Inn is a Cameron, Missouri hotel that features convenient access to the Jamesport Amish Country, Arrowhead Stadium and racing events at the Kansas City Speedway. A family owned and operated hotel, Acorn Inn offers guests a peaceful environment, comfortable accommodations and convenient access to key area attractions. Ideally located just off Interstate 35, this Cameron, MO inn offers well-appointed guest rooms, featuring cable satellite television with movie channel and high-speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your GuestHouse Acorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cameron
Cameron Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing