We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carpet is horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GuestHouse Acorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cameron
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Carpet is horrible”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would have given this motel a VERY GOOD, but the carpet is so worn out that it almost ruins a persons stay. I gave the location an AVERAGE and I was being nice as the carpeting should have taken it down to a POOR. Our room had spots by the door that are worn so badly the threads are showing. At the ends of the beds the carpet is actually bunched up as it is so worn and stretched out.
The desk man was extremely friendly and check in was fast.
Breakfast was much better than one can typically expect.
We possibly would stay here again, but when making a reservation, I would ask if the rooms had new carpeting. If not, then I just may drive another 65 miles to stay closer in Kansas City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveZ234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    84
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
86
82
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

After a long days drive, you like to find your motel without any bother. The Best Western Cameron's entry drive was through the local Sinclair truck stop on a common frontage road. Our greeting by BW desk staff was warm, but when asked about the mattress quality and the morning breakfast, her answers were not helpful. Basically, "I haven't slept here or eaten the breakfast, so I don't know". We found our room to be recently renovated, clean and cool in anticipation of a warm Missouri afternoon. Everything was as it should be, mattress, refrig., microwave and bathroom all above average. The mattress was a firm plush top and provided an excellent nights sleep. The morning breakfast was well done consisting of the usual stuff you find with a complimentary breakfast. I would stay here again and recommend the BW motel if you want an inexpensive nights stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drgoodhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trout Dale, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Even though it is next to a truckstop on the main road, this stopover on the trip across the Midwest was convenient and quiet. Since we were travelling with a lot of equipment for camping, it was nice to back up right to the unit to unload at this old school motel. The breakfast was freshly cooked by the early morning desk clerk. Friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonStays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed the large room which had: microwave; refrigerator; two sinks; nice toiletries; good shower head; armoire; decent cable (no HBO as listed on the TV channel listings, though); good lighting; cleanliness. The pool was clean and provided easy entry. The staff was extremely welcoming, and provided information on the area. We also liked the breakfast which included freshly-cooked eggs, breads, pastries, plenty of coffee and juices, and corned beef hash (!). This is a well-kept property that is a good value (I did notice a tad bit of the "old motel" smell when I first entered the lobby, but the room was not that way). We would recommend a room on the pool/garden side of the motel, since the other side faces the truck stop next door. This is a very nice "park at the door" motel that has lovely, well-kept grounds. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Service was flawless; The room was clean, spacious, well appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. It was quiet and we really liked the more than ample parking space right in from of the room. The management may wish to have a plumber check the plumbing for loose fixtures and poor drainage. It all worked but the need for attention was inescapable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank guenthpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here in July for a family reunion. First let me say the location is in a very small town. The rooms are what you would expect for a small town motel. I did have to kill several bugs crawling on the floor. But I think it was due to the fact that motel was very rural. That being said room was clean and efficient. There is also a free breakfast. It was very good with fresh hot food made right there in the kitchen. An egg based casserole and fresh biscuits waffles, etc. plus fruit, yogurt and cereal. Family run place and want to say thanks for them letting us take over the kitchen for our reunion dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Janalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stopped in this small town on our journey home, we found a great mexican restaurant for our evening meal. The Hotel was a motel, so we parked right outside our door. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was excellent. It was fairly quiet, with a little road noise. The room were tired, but we slept well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cameron
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 7 in Cameron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#7 of 7 in Cameron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Cameron
Days Inn Cameron
#4 of 7 in Cameron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cameron
Super 8 Cameron
#2 of 7 in Cameron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Cameron
Motel 6 Cameron
#5 of 7 in Cameron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
17.5 mi away
Morrell Ranch
Morrell Ranch
#1 of 1 in Gallatin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Acorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Acorn Inn

Property: GuestHouse Acorn Inn
Address: 2210 US Highway 36, Cameron, MO 64429-5244 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Acorn Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Cameron
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cameron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Acorn Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GuestHouse Acorn Inn is a Cameron, Missouri hotel that features convenient access to the Jamesport Amish Country, Arrowhead Stadium and racing events at the Kansas City Speedway. A family owned and operated hotel, Acorn Inn offers guests a peaceful environment, comfortable accommodations and convenient access to key area attractions. Ideally located just off Interstate 35, this Cameron, MO inn offers well-appointed guest rooms, featuring cable satellite television with movie channel and high-speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your GuestHouse Acorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cameron
Cameron Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing