We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Mexican food”
Review of El Caporal

El Caporal
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Camdenton
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid Mexican food”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good food, great staff, good drinks. Wife loved it. Solid spot to hit if you're at the lake. Parents liked it too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food...”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have eaten here many times, and never had a complaint. The food is good, the prices are reasonable and the service is fast and friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NGWest65049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always Great Food & Fast Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband orders carry-out from this restaurant whenever we're in the Camdenton area. On this trip, I ordered a cheese quesadilla & my husband ordered ground beef enchiladas, served with beans & rice. This is what he orders each time & he indicated that it's consistently great. The salsa and homemade chips are always great, thin & crisp. We shared the quesadilla the next day, which we both felt was even better. We were waited on as soon as we walked in the door, and our food was delivered fast. We've never had a bad experience here with food or service, and prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GizzieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just Ok.....if you're really hungry”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a typical freezer to microwave to table place. Not real Mexican of course but typical of what you will find in this part of the country. Food was ok and was served hot. Chips are the best part of the meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, TX
Level Contributor
229 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not so good”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I tried my first fajita on Boca Chica Beach back in 1972. It was terrible. But since then, the 'fajita' has come a long way. I rarely order them because I'm usually disappointed; I prepare better fajitas than almost any restaurant.

I ordered the Fajitas Jalisco (beef, chicken and shrimp). I always chuckle since there is no such thing as a chicken fajita or shrimp fajita. The word 'fajita' is derived from 'faja,' or 'belt.' It is the type of cut (diaphragm) found only in beef. Chickens and shrimp don't have the same diaphragms, so, officially, you can't have chicken or shrimp fajitas. But I'll go ahead and digress; the word 'fajita' now represents a method of prepararion.

The chicken was good, but the shrimp were undercooked. I buried them under everything so they could continue to cook on the sizzling platter, and they weren't bad. The beef was chewy and very bland. I pushed all of it to the end of my plate, and left it there.

The rice, beans and guacamole were average, but the chips and salsa were better than average.

The service was slow and inattentive.

There was Mexican music playing, but all I could hear was the loud thumping of bass which was very annoying and muffled the rest of the music. This was accompanied by a rather loud TV, and I was wishing I'd packed ear plugs for this meal.

I will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1twangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Caporal also viewed

Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
Camdenton, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to El Caporal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing