We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pack Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
$209
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
$126
$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$136
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
163
35
21
10
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
35
21
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubellingham hallgoujonsfabulous fooda great eveningpulled porkdog friendly pubsunday lunchan evening mealsamphireexcellent menufriendly localssea basslocal ingredientsportion sizesbooked a tablemain course
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 242 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed here overnight when we were invited to a wedding evening reception at Ellingham Hall which is just a short walk away, through the village. We did not actually use the pub facilities on the evening, but had a lovely friendly welcome on the afternoon by Sylvia, a very comfortable sleep after the wedding "do", and a fantastic breakfast - waited on by Stephen.
This is a gem of an accommodation, SO close to the A1 and an ideal base for touring the area. Give it a try! You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notacareintheworld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Only opens at 18:30 and only serves food Wednesday to Saturday but worth the wait. When we arrived (4 adults and 2 kids) at 18:31 or thereabouts expecting to eat, a look of panic ensued because of staff shortage but once we made it apparent we weren't in a rush the staff relaxed and we chatted and joked. Yes we waited a bit for the food (time for an extra pint - I was walking) but it was worth it. For a pub 'in the sticks' the menu was way better than many 'townies'. A nice friendly pub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeWizzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Pack Horse . Extremely friendly host and hostess , Sylvia and Stephen made us feel very welcome. Lovely room and bathroom ( plenty of hot water ) , clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good , I had kippers on Monday and they were really good !
We sat in the pleasant garden basking in sunshine enjoying a welcome drink , the best Black Sheep ale wev'e had for a long time.
Frends joined us on Saturday evening and we all enjoyed our meals cooked by Sylvia and served by very efficient and friendly young waiting on staff.
Good walking country and close to beautiful coastline.
We were attending a wedding at Newton Hall , very convenient location .
Good value for money , oh and the marmalade is wonderful !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a proper country pub with beautifully clean and well appoiinted guest rooms. We were going to a wedding party at nearby Ellingham Hall and used this as our base. We were welcomed on arrival, and on staggering back in late in the evening enjoyed a drink with the owners. The breakfast was delicious and the whole experience was both relaxing and good value. Don't expect the Ritz, but prepare to be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExiledfromToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having been here about a year ago and had a beautiful sunday lunch we thought we d return when back in that neck of the woods .Wish we had nt bothered !! We were told there was a big party in but if we only wanted a roast the chef would get ours under way before the rush , so far so good . However we were then told there was only a choice of chicken or pork ( no beef on a sunday !!! ) we opted for chicken and asked if it was ok just to eat in the bar as it was rather noisy in the restaurant, yes that was fine. The waitress asked us to go through when our meal was ready and did nt seem at all happy when i told her we were eating in the bar . No exchange of words at all even when i apologised when she had to set our table. Then the food arrived . Everything was served on the plate. The dry chicken,hard small portion of veg. mashed potato with the skins mixed in(maybe the latest craze but not for us ) no stuffing and a huge dollop of red cabbage which if you dont like taints the rest of your meal we dont).On the up side this luke warm offering was accompanied by a beautiful homemade yorkshire pudding. I only hope the big party who d been to doxford hall to a wedding the previous day had better luck than us .Sorry hate to be negative but one of the most dissapointing sunday lunches to date and we ve tried alot.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jrtsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews