We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Riviere, Pas-de-Calais, Hauts-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
shawn184
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Charming house”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This retro looking house was a fantastic value for money. It's spacious, comfortable, well equipped, and in a pleasant small quiet village near Arras. There 3 double beds, and 2 single beds total. The kitchen is fully equipped with a dishwasher and when we got there, there were eggs and yogurt. Each morning the owners left fresh croissants and bread on our windowsill in a basket. There was a dishwasher and a washing machine and in the garage there were brochures and maps available. The wifi was fast and there was a beautiful yard with a hammock, a barbecue, tables, and swings. We would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
Merci pour votre joie et votre bonne humeur
C 'est avec un réel plaisir que nous pourrons vous accueillir à nouveau
Marie Madeleien et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarletdi...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful welcoming Gite”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most charming and welcoming English speaking hosts. The Gite was lovely and very central for sightseeing. Wellington Quarry not to be missed. Amiens Cathedral and the canal area beautiful. We had eggs, croissants and bread left daily. Lovely walks. Lots of games, bikes, table tennis, stunning garden. The gite itself cosy and comfortable and very well equipped, washing macihine, dishwasher etc.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
C'est avec un réel plaisir que nous vous accueillerons à nouveau.
Marie Madeleine et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laura2015...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous gite, in beautiful location”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I have just recently returned from a weeks stay at Gite de la Fontaine. We were first met by the owner and his family who all welcomed us, very friendly and spoke good English. The Gite is very comfortable and very reasonably priced, with a fully equipped kitchen, Wi-Fi which is easy to connect to, a lovely large lounge and plenty of bedrooms, 2 bedrooms on the first floor and 2 bedrooms on the second floor, it will comfortably sleep 9 people. There is also a washing machine and a tumble drier if needed. There is also a play room for small children and an outdoor area with table tennis, darts and bike riding which my 2 younger children loved. The owners also kindly welcomed us with milk and wine and bought bread and croissants for us all over the weekend, which was a lovely gesture. The Gite is located in the countryside and is not too difficult to find, about 15 minutes from Arras, which is a nice town with plenty of restaurants, shops and places to visit. It is close to Lille and Amiens, but we ventured further afield and went to Bruges and Gent (to see Graveensteen castle and a boat trip) which were both very enjoyable. We also went to Bellawearde theme park in Ypres, which was a brilliant day for all the children, expensive but plenty to do. There are many places to visit within the area, all in all a very enjoyable break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the gite
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Merci pour votre joie et votre bonne humeur C 'est avec un réel plaisir que nous pourrons vous accueillir à nouveau Marie Madeleien et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Companion...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous Gîte with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed four nights with two small children. Could not have been better. Lots to do in the region, but lots to do at base as well--feed chickens, cycle, table tennis etc. the hosts could not have been kinder and speak good English. Fresh bread and pastries arrived early each morning, and as many fresh eggs as we could eat. The gite itself is roomy and warm, with a log fire and all the kitchen equipment you could need. Thank you for a splendid stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything--but the hosts could not have been kinder
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Merci pour votre joie et votre bonne humeur C 'est avec un réel plaisir que nous pourrons vous accueillir à nouveau Marie Madeleien et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roy b
Cannes, France
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Genuine Hospitality with genuine people”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

It’s not very often that accommodation seekers fall upon genuine hospitality. Nor does one find such hospitality at such reasonable rates from such friendly and concerned people as Jean –Claude and Madeline.
Following in my grandfather’s WW1 footsteps, I chanced upon La Fontaine in an area not bristling with rooms to let. It was an act of pure serendipity. Offered a room plus home cooking, my hosts provided a veritable welcome à la Française, giving the lie to the surly reputation the French are sometimes tarred with.
Apart from the fresh eggs and oven-baked bread, you have a gorgeous garden to chill out in, a parking space and lively conversation. It’s also a great place to visit a most interesting part of France.
Next time I come I’ll stay in the wooden Gypsy caravan to bring out the Bohemian in me. Thanks to you both.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2016
Merci pour votre joie et votre bonne humeur C 'est avec un réel plaisir que nous pourrons vous accueillir à nouveau Marie Madeleien et Jean Claude
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandm112
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming providing us with eggs and wine and delicious breakfasts at the weekend. Travelling with our grandchildren aged 8 and 14, there was plenty for them to do in the large garden with table tennis, bowls and other sports plus games upstairs. The bedrooms were large, the house well- equipped and beautifully decorated. The location was ideal for visiting all the war memorial sites as well as Amiens, Lille and St Omer and only several hours drive from Calais. We will definitely visit again

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really welcoming”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This gite is very comfortable. Everything is there that you need and everything works. The owners are very very friendly and provided bread and croissants every day. They gave us eggs from their chickens cherries from their trees and rhubarb from their garden. They also provided coals for the barbie. All in all it was fab.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2016
Au plaisir de vous accueillir à nouveau
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing