We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room”
Review of Super 8 Butler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Butler
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Butler
1 review
“Dirty Room”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Never been at a Super 8 that had a clean room until now. The refrigerator was messy. The toilet had crap all over the top. The shower was never cleaned. The beds was like sleeping on a rock. Could not get comfortable. For the money it was not worth it!

Room Tip: Do not sleep here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    20
    24
    36
See reviews for
38
15
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fordland, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Fair warning - there are not many options for lodging in Butler, MO. I've stayed at each of the two options -- Days Inn, and Super 8. Instincts would have said Days Inn would be the better choice. That was the choice for my first stay. Although not unbearable, the Days Inn was borderline. Frankly, the biggest downside at Days Inn was the desk clerk upon checking in -- not the most hospitable. I had the feeling I was bothering him. I tried Super 8 on my next trip to Butler. Although it typically receives lower ratings than Days Inn, I found S-8 a notch or two above D-I. I stayed there again in early June 2014. Both times I confirmed that, for me anyway, it is the better option. Both times, I stayed in the single story building behind the main two-story complex. That area is far from the highway and is quiet. Both times, my room was clean and spacious. I had a micro and fridge both stays; although upon booking we were told that micros are not guaranteed -- available only in some rooms. Contrary to some reviews, I found staff and management at S-8 to be friendly -- and seemingly appreciative of my staying with them. Where Richard found the reek of curry undesirable; my only regret is that I was not invited to dinner with the hosts because I'm a huge fan of Indian cuisine (I've actually managed to compliment hosts at some hotels regarding the aroma of what was cooking, and have been invited to dine with them -- some of the best Indian chow I've ever had!!). Don't get me wrong folks. This is no 5 star hotel. It's not even 2 or 3 star-worthy. Yet, it is not horrible. It is quite tolerable and for my money, it is the best choice in town. If you're into higher standards or just can't handle the essentials of a clean and quiet bed (and not a great deal more), then you might be better advised to stay over in a community with greater options. Wherever you lay your head, I hope and pray that you have safe travels to all your destinations. The odds of a safe trip are much greater if you resist the urge to text and drive; that just can't be a good thing to do. Grace and Peaceful Blessings, Rev Bill, moreableinc.org

Room Tip: I recommend any rooms in the single story building behind the "big house" -- very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Check in reeked of curry, typical of motels nowadays. Room just ok, tired, would prefer to get more

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Richard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was old and dirty. Breakfast was non existent. Ice machine broken. Overall horrible experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is by far the worst place ever. Hazmat suit required to stay here
The rooms have not been cleaned in years .TripAdvisor, you should distance your self from this hotel. Places like this will crush your business.

Room Tip: Demolish the whole building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2014

place was clean but looked tired they could use a remodel shower was old but I did not fear it.
Girl on the phone was alittle flippy as if she did not want to be there at all. Arrived
the next day desk girl was friendly..morning lady was like a prison guard no emotions and that is what you can rate this place OK for 50 bucks!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Leaster S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Butler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Butler

Property: Super 8 Butler
Address: 1114 W Fort Scott St, JCT OFF HWY 71 & 52 W., Butler, MO 64730-1209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Butler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Butler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Butler 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Butler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Butler
Butler Super Eight
Butler Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing