We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Somewhat disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Romano's Macaroni Grill
Cuisines: Italian, European, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Louis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I took my mom and niece here on a Sunday afternoon in November 2012 to celebrate their birthdays. I loved the ambiance of the restaurant and we had a great server. The bread with olive oil served as a starter was very good, as was the mushroom ravioli. However the chicken speidini was not speidini at all, only rubbery chunks of chicken on a skewer. No breading or oil or flavor. The roasted vegetables served with it were the best part of the meal. Also the "brick" chicken was dry and not very flavorful. I was disappointed with most of the food and wish I had spent my money elsewhere. Note that I did not complain about my meal as I believe they would have served me something else, so I guess it's my own fault..

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yammi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

This place is good for a date or for a romantic dinner for too. Its also good for friends to eat at it.. Its little bit pricey but it worth it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Qash0601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Everything expected and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great service! We were very well taken care of by our waitress, Owana. She was attentive and courteous. She went out of her way to get everything we wanted, including our favorite dessert that the restaurant stopped making, dessert ravioli. We were not just another table to wait on. She treated us wonderfully. Can't say enough about all the courteous employees.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Therke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a party of 9 (5 of which were kids under 10). So lots of talking and we were slow to order. The waitress was great. No problems. The hostess even took pictures of us. We had a good time. We tipped very well, because the waitress did not automatically add 18% tip for large parties. I called ahead for our table for 6pm. We were late and they had the table ready for us anyway.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hickoryview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I hadn't been to a MGrill in quite some time, and didn't have high expectations, but found that everything was far better than i expected. Good Service, Good Pasta [al dente, with a great garlic sauce and chicken. -i'd have put a touch more sun dried tomatoe in if it was me, but i really enjoyed the meal] , We were in luck !--Thursday 1/2 price wine bottles [the Malbec ALAMOS was very nice], Great olive oil [ a bottle on the table for your bread],
my daughter had a salad that was great. Atmosphere was very nice, clean restrooms.
I guess I had been expecting Maggianos style (pasty over cooked) pasta and was thinking of .99 boxes of mac-n-cheese without realizing it........
I have to say i'll readily go back to this restaurant, even if it is a chain. They did a great job for what they are.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dairybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

Brentwood, Saint Louis
 
Brentwood, Saint Louis
Brentwood, Saint Louis
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing