We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Still Waters Resort
Ranked #31 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
Reviewed August 2, 2008

My family and I were EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED with the Still Waters Resort in Branson, MO. We had traveled from Florida for a family reunion, and we chose this resort based on reviews in Trip Advisor and the hotel web site. We booked a 2 bedroom condo with a pool view for 7 nights at a hefty price.

Things started off bad as our room wasnot ready when we checked in, infact we walked in on the cleaning girls who said they were almost finished. We returnedan hour later to a dirty room....GROSS!!! I called the manager and they said they could come back the next day and finish cleaning. The entire unit was old, dirty, and uncomfortable. Then we found the bugs...which were everywhere. So they sent down bug spray. I wanted to leave after one night, but they resort was full, and several other hotels we tried we full. Our reunion wasn't until Saturday, so I felt stuck.

Bad as the accomodations were, things got worse. We spent Monday at the lake which was high due to the midwest flooding. I asked at the desk, is the water safe to swim in? I was told that the water was safe, but it wasn't. My daughter and I ended up with rashes all over our bodies caused by microscopic snails that were in the water due to the flooding. We b oth hstill have spots nearly 3 weeks later!! I had to find this out from my dermatologist when we returned home. Every person in my family got sick...vomiting and the like, and I think it was from the lake. In addition, my daughter got a middle ear infection my pediatrician noted probably came from the lake water as well.

So, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dmdunakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwaters, manager at Still Waters Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2008
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to respond. We hope that readers of this review will take the time to read this response and do your own research on the quality of our property and to the water quality conditions of the US Corp of Engineers managed Table Rock Lake.

As we always value guest opinions, we would offer up the following facts regarding this situation.
This guest arrived July 13, 2008 and departed July 20, 2008. The reservation was made in October 2007. This guest made a specific request for A Bld ground floor unit and there were other members of the family on property in newer units. Unit photos on the website directly match the unit photos on the website. At $249/night, this 810 sq foot 2 bedroom/2 bath condo w/ full kitchen was one of our lower priced units as this is a building constructed in 1991 with its last remodel in 2003 which was wall to wall except for the kitchen.

Our normal check in time is 4:00 p.m. This guest checked in officially at 3:31 p.m. but was here much earlier prior to the room being ready. If a guest arrives early, we give them their car tags and their wristbands, get a cell phone number and will call them when their room is ready. A lot of times arriving guests are very excited about getting to Still Waters and can be persistent where they are staying (building-wise) and do sometimes interfere with staff attempting to prepare the unit. Despite this interference, we did address all initial complaints which consisted of a number of cleaning issues. Additional cleaning was delayed at guest's request to inhabit the unit. Once all cleaning issues were addressed the next day at guest's convenience which included physically installing a new mattress at guest's direct request, the guest's husband said he was "happy" and we made a customer service adjustment for the first night. At this point, the guest called about having insects in or around the unit. As the resort is surrounded by lake and woods insects are normally in abundance and have easy access when doors are left open for any length of time. We addressed this issue to the point of concerns of toxic vs non-toxic sprays and even providing the guest with her own personal can of bug spray. Ultimately, the resort was 100% full so we could not fully satisfy this guest's concerns.

With regard to the lake comments, Table Rock Lake is owned by the federal government and maintained by the US Corps of Engineers. It is part of a 3 lake system whose primary purpose is flood control. In 2008, very heavy rains in March and April brought the lake up to 934 feet setting records and testing many resorts and marinas who had never seen such a high level on the lake. In May there was a lot of concern about the water quality but thanks to the Stone County Health Department, Missouri Department of Natural Resources and a couple of private water quality organizations it was well-publicized that extensive testing was done and that the lake was safe to swim in by their testing standards.

Other facts that we were presented with after this review was posted was that though the reviewer traveled 20 hours each way to and from her vacation at the resort it was Still Water Resort's fault that everything happened. As a matter of course, the reviewer ruled out restaurants eaten over a 2 week period, other lodging facilities stayed in and other attractions as the source of her ills.

So to summarize what we know --
1) We know our units are clean and well-maintained. Some are nicer than others due to differences in square footage and age but all are quite habitable under any reasonable person's standards. There are thousands of families who have stayed here in 2008 that can attest to this
2) We also know from direct experience that Table Rock Lake is a beautiful well-maintained Corps of Engineers lake that tens of thousands of tourists visit each year.
3) Finally, we know we make good faith efforts to resolve this complaint multiple times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    259
    103
    49
    27
See reviews for
597
210
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st. louis missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Stayed four nights, had a great time. Web site very accurate and all amenities available by nice staff. The Bayside Market really does have decent pizza, we were skeptical....a nice service they offer is calling your room when your pizza is done! If the opportunity came up again, I would stay there....especially if you plan on going to Silver Dollar City...you will avoid A TON of traffic by staing at Still Waters.....but they offer so much, you do not need Silver Dollar City (save your money:) If going to this area....give this resort a lot of consideration.

  • Liked — Felt very safe
  • Disliked — wish the pools were bigger, but they are good
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rideem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Most of the reviews for Still waters resort make it sounds like it's incredible. I hope this review provides some helpful information.

We stayed for 3 nights in building F.

Pro's
Nice room, well appointed.
Granite countertops in kitchen and bathrooms.
Full kitchen
Dishes, silverware, coffee maker, all provided.
Nice size deck, 6 persons could easily sit on it.
Marina staff friendly and helpful
Pretty quite
Newer jet ski's and boats avaiable to rent
Good prices on boat and jet ski rental

Con's
No daily room service, no maids came around
Had to take own trash out.
Must take your dirty towels to a towel exchange building to swap out.
Limited hours on the towel exchange ~9am to 2pm
View of lake from deck obstructed by tress
Terrible, terrible path to the marina, rough, incomplete, and not paved.
Pools are quite small
Pizza and a few sandwiches available for purchase on site, but no site down restaurant.
Bikes available free of charce, but you wouldn't want to ride them.
About 6 miles to Branson, traveling over windy roads, so if you want to go out for dinner it will take you awhile to get anywhere.

In summary, it was a nice place, but I wouldn't give it the typical five star rating many give it. If you want a decent lake view ask for a room in building I, J, K and specifically ask if the view is obstructed by trees or not.

  • Liked — A nice resort near a town that offers a lot to do if it's raining and you can't go on the lake
  • Disliked — Self service, no room service, small pools, trees obstructed lake views, and path to marina poor
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank HighStandards09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overland park ks
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Just retruned from stillwaters and would have to say it is everything that has been reviewed here. It has spotless rooms and we have stayed at many 5 star resorts and some not as clean as this. The condos are large and have everything you need.After reading the reviews we did bring are own towels but the exchange was close and easy and we did not even use are own. The pools are very clean and lots of room in the new one. The docks are clean and the marina has everything you could need. The one and only downfall is that the noise from the upper floors transfer down if you are in a 1st floor condo but nothing that will make you not sleep. we can not wait to go back and have found are new place to stay while at table rock lake. We had a great time Thanks Stillwaters

  • Liked — The condos and pools and the views
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kuhoops7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

We stayed here during the off-season so some of the features were not available. The pool and marina were closed as well as understaffed. All that being said, the property was great. Our room had a full kitchen, living room and a large deck. The bonus was the huge jacuzzi! The property was about 20% full so it was extremely quiet.
This is a great place for a family or romantic getaway. It is also only a mile away from the Silver City attraction which would be great for kids/teenagers.

  • Liked — Great jacuzzi and right on the lake
  • Disliked — Several attractions were closed or unavailable
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crappiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We just returned from 5 days at Stillwaters Resort. I would give it 5 stars but for 3 reasons. When I called to book, we were talked into a newer building for 40.00 more a night because it was an elevator building and we have several with our group that have a hard time with the stairs. When we checked in we were given a ground floor unit with a view of the trash room. The room was clean but the carpet was in horrible shape. It was stained and worn and since it was the beginning of high season, I would hate to see it come September. I wore my flip flops the entire time after stepping on the carpet barefoot and finding it sticky. Our group had 3 other rooms in the resort and the carpet was the same thru-out. Lastly, the pools are great. We were by pool B and we could pretty much have the place to ourselves. The slide pool is simple that, a slide with a small pool at the bottom. No where to just get wet or relax. Sign says exit pool immediately after sliding. The last pool was the new Oasis. It was beautiful but COLD, ICE CREAM HEADACHE COLD! The kids did not seem to mind and swam under the waterfall and loved the zero depth entry pool . The 20 person hot tub was very nice. The down side to this pool was the patrons with the giant squirt guns. I am talking grown men with bad aim and kids with worse aim. My husband and I were sitting watching our two play in the water when suddenly we were both hit in the back with a jet of water. We looked around and saw the 40+ year old with a giant squirt gun trying to hit the kids running on the bridge. His aim was horrible. The fourth time my husband was hit was enough. Before lunch the pool was enjoyable. After noon was more raucous maybe because some started drinking around 10:00am. At least the lifeguards stopped the guy walking around the shallow end with a glass beer bottle!!! The lifeguards did not stop the running and water gun play because he had one of his own and joined in! I would suggest that management post rules at the pool to ensure all guests have equal chance to enjoy it. The marina was nice, took the kids to fish for the first time and they are "hooked". Buy your bait somewhere else or pay 3.50 for 18 worms! The lake level was extremely HIGH, trees 20 feet out in the lake with water 3-4 feet up the trunk. I would love to see the lake at it's normal level. All in all we had a very nice time and would probably return but for 300.00 a night, I would expect clean carpet.

  • Liked — Location on the lake and the beautiful pool area
  • Disliked — Sticky carpet, unruly guests
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenks, OK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

We spent 4 nights at Still Waters resort in June. We had 4 kiddos with us - ages 3 to 14. This is a fantastic resort for families.

Our kids loved the pools, especially the new Oasis. They also loved the marina with its kayaks, paddleboats and fishing. Our 6 yr old couldn't get enough of fishing from the dock with the little cane poles. We ordered pizza one night from the market and it was very good and a great inexpensive change from eating out.

Our unit was spacious and clean. We highly recommend Still Waters Resort!

  • Liked — pools, playgrounds, kayaks, fishing, paddleboats, on-site market, super-clean rooms!
  • Disliked — hard beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MattandMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
4.3 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
5.4 mi away
Savannah House Hotel
Savannah House Hotel
#6 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#18 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Country Resort
Grand Country Resort
#44 of 140 in Branson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seven Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn
#12 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Still Waters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Still Waters Resort

Property: Still Waters Resort
Address: 21 Stillwater Trail, Branson, MO 65616-6146
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Branson
#33 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Still Waters Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended by Better Homes & Gardens, Still Waters is your "complete destination resort" on beautiful Tablerock Lake. Just 2 miles from Silver Dollar City and close to all of Branson's shows. The resort features 1-4 bedroom deluxe condos, cottages and suites as well as 3 outdoor pools, hot tubs, kiddie pools and the New "Zume the Flume," a water slide adventure. Our new marina offers boat rentals, jet skis, bass boats and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Still Waters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Still Waters Hotel Branson
Still Water Condominium Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing