We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Skip the Restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2009

this is my second trip to Branson, and I was intrigued with the Chateau 4 years ago. We were shuttled from the new airport to pick up our Hertz rental car tfrom the Chateau and the interior is lovely. So we saved a special evening to have dinner in the Restaurant. We were 1 of three tables dining on 9/24/09, so the wait staff were not rushed.
I ordered the salom-shrimp with Bernaise sauce. The other dinner was a filet of beef.
I was very dissapointed with my meal- the shrimp were over cooked indicated by the rubbery texture, not tender as proberly cooked shrimp are. The Bernaise was without a hint of tarragon, and the salmon was in my opinion overcooked.
When the DR manager came over to ask at the midpoint of the dinner how the meal was. I was kind and only expressed my displeasure of the lack of taste of the Bernaise, and he acknowledged that the difference between hollandase/bernaise is the tarragon. He said he would check with the "Chef". I was expecting some reply from him but did not see him. For the price of the meal it DID not set a standard I would expect from this level of restaurant. I could not recommend this restaurant for dinner.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank letsgo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2009
It was certainly disapppointing to learn that your dining experience at our Chateau Grille was not up to our usual high standards. Feedback from our guests are of paramount importance to us for it allows us the opportunity to address issues such as what you shared in your review. Please accept our apologies and we hope if your travels bring you to Branson in the future that we will be able to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    524
    275
    78
    56
See reviews for
597
975
35
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long island,NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our entire stay was very relaxing and well worth the money. We arrived at the New Branson airport and the Concierge met us there with complimentary transportation to the resort. Check in was easy and we were given a complimentary upgrade. The room was beautiful and large enough for a family of 4-5. We had lunch poolside, dinner at their restaurant and breakfast on the terrace. All of the staff was very accomodating. Food was delicious. In the evening we sat on the terrace and wen tto the Library for drinks.
Pool was nice. Spa treatments were nice. Would recommend to anyone who wants a day of relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awaitingjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 16, 2009
First and foremost allow me the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay at the Chateau. It indeed was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest and your patronage is very much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Chateau in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, La.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Truly enjoyed our stay..Staff very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping did a wonderful job.
I am spoiled by this experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
It indeed was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Chateau in the not too distant future.

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed at the Chateau 3 days in September...our first room overlooked the large propane tanks...the second room one floor higher overlooking same...the 3rd room overlooked the front parking lot. We paid for a Chateau King res #787949 Mr. Stephen Marshall....your staff would not give us a lakefront room to save their lives, even though the Hotel was only half full....this is a lovely Hotel and should be # 1 on tripadvisor, and probably would be if it wern't for the staff lousey handeling of guests. Stephen, sorry but we can't reccomend your Hotel. Mike

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkellerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2009
Dear Mike:

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your experience as a guest of ours following your most recent stay. You are correct, if you reserved a Chateau King room type with a lakefront view that is the room type you should have been assigned.
I will follow up with both pur reservationt and front office departments to determine what went so terribly wrong in assigning the proper room type.
It is our intentions to meet if not exceed the expectations of our guest and I am sorry that we did not do so with you on this occasion. Please know that your call is always welcome if I can be of any assitance with this matter.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in a lake view king room. The hotel is very nice but you pay for it in the room price. There is an open atrium with waterfalls and ponds with fish in them. There is an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is cooled so the water stays cool even in the summer. There are whirlpools beside each of the pools. Our room was clean and very nice with a great view of the lake. The king bed was comfortable. The bath room was large with nice marble countertop. We ordered room service for breakfast and I was surprised that the food was very good and the portions were big. The prices seem high like 15 for an omelet plate but you do get large portions and it includes juice and choice of coffee or milk. The best deal I found was the romantic rendezvous package which includes 1 night stay with free valet parking, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries on arrival, and a $50 food service credit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theplayer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Your feedback is very important to us and is most welcome. Thank you for taking the time in writing your review, your comments were very fair and we appreciate them.
The next time your travels bring you to Branson, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Chateau hopefully in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We went for our one year anniversary and had a fabulous time! The resort was stunning and the spa was lovely as well!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnyaRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review your endorsement of our resort is very much appreciated and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Chateau to celebrate many, many more anniversaries.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

The hotel is perched high on a hill overlooking beautiful Table Rock Lake.

The hotel is nicely decorated with an atrium and water fall in the lobby. We had room 230. The room itself was nice. Everything seemed new and clean. The room was average to large in size with two queen beds and a large flat screen television. There was a wet bar area in the room, itself, but it did not include a mini-bar or fridge. The bathroom was large with a huge vanity area. One nice touch was a hamper in the bathroom for wet towels (you didn't have to leave them on the floor or in the tub if you wanted them to be replaced.) Overall, the rooms were comfortable, clean and nice.

Our room, unfortunately, had absolutely no view. We had one window that looked out at the roof of the entrance. Seriously, we looked at a steepled roof. We did not complain as we were on business. I'm sure their are rooms with great views, most with sliding doors and small balconies. Just avoid this room if you would like a view.

The pool was nice with a great view, and usually not too crowded in the morning. It could get difficult to a chair later in the day. Also, on the ground floor near the pool there was a large patio area with tables and comfortable chairs. There was also a fountain. This was a nice area to sit and relax, read, have a drink, and enjoy the view of the lake and mountains.

There was a nice sweets and coffee shop from which you could grab a coffee and muffin or cinnamon rool for breakfast or ice cream of cake for dessert. The prices at this shop were rather reasonable and the servings large. I did eat at the restaurant for breakfast twice, once having the buffet and the other ordering off the menu. I didn't think the buffet was worth the money. Anything at the buffet could be ordered off the menu, and some of the items on the buffet were soggy, etc. The prices were high, but similar to other hotel restaurant prices. It was never busy, and the food was pretty good, but not great. The service was good, although the hostess was not the friendliest.

One nice amenity was a small movie theater that showed two movies daily. The first showing at 2 p.m. was always a kids movie, and the second at 7 p.m. was usually PG or PG-13. Popcorn was served. This was a nice diversion on a rainy afternoon.

One afternoon, we rented a pontoon boat and tube from the hotel marina. This was by far the highlight of the trip. The rental fee was reasonable ($200 for 4 hrs. plus gas.) The lake is very large and rather pretty. It is also deep. There were several places for everyone to stop and jump off cliffs into the water. Very fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magg1ema3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, Vice President & General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at our resort. We always like to hear from our guests and encourage them to give us feedback for it is very helpful to us, especially in correcting a situation that may have not been up to our standards.
Your business is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Branson and to the Chateau in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
3.8 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 140 in Branson
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
4.9 mi away
Savannah House Hotel
Savannah House Hotel
#6 of 140 in Branson
1,320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Still Waters Resort
Still Waters Resort
#30 of 140 in Branson
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Property: Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-8954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#14 Business Hotel in Branson
#29 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Lake Resort and Spa,Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort and spa. Nestled in the Ozark Mountains over-looking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake, yet only a short distance from nearby theaters, shopping, attractions and golf courses. One of the features of the resort is its 10 story atrium lobby complete with cascading waterfalls,lush plants and foliage. All guestrooms have hand finished textures walls in warm tones, comfortable Perfect Sleeper mattresses, down comforters, 37" flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi. Most of our guestrooms have balconies with lakefront, lakeview or moutain view exposure. Our award winning restaurant the Chateau Grille, has great food, great service and breath taking views of Table Rock Lake. Our #Sunday Brunch is Branson's best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing