We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but small room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stay at the Chateau once every year for a convention. I love staying right on site! It makes life so much easier, especially with children. Overall, I have loved all of my stays at the Chateau. The rooms are spacious and the comfortable. I wish they would take the bottle of water out of the room. I have to warn my children every time not to open it, because I don't want to be charger $4 for a bottle of water. The hotel atrium and grounds are lovely. My children love the pool, movie theater, and the live birds and fish. I do wish there was free coffee and tea in the lobby like most nicer hotels. Also, having to pay $10 per device every 24hours for WiFi seems a bit ridiculous when you are paying so much for a room already. The food is wonderful, but a bit pricey.
Overall, we do love the Chateau, I just wish they would change a few things.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 3rd floor if you want a balcony. Also, not all lake view rooms have clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,359 - 2,365 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first time to Branson, we went for my husbands regional meetings. I have to say the hotel setting is beautiful I was so glad to not be near the strip. It sets just a 10 minute drive (because of traffic) from the strip. Our view of the lake was wonderful. The hotel sets up high overlooking the lake, a marina, the beach and the damn. There are water falls in the lobby area and fish in the different ponds. They have some gift/clothing shops and they have a sweet shop that serves ice cream and speciality coffee drinks. All the rooms face the inside of the hotel with a big skylight in the center. It's beautiful and bright. It is set up kind of like Embassy Suites. They have some cockatiels in cages that my daughter enjoyed looking at.

The room was nothing great but nice enough, 8th floor lake view with a balcony. The beach sets just below the hotel but you have to drive to get to it. The pool was wonderful. They service free ice water and cold towels. They had bingo and some different things going on at the pool if you care to partake. They have a nice playground for kids. The food at the hotel was good, service was a little slow around the pool. The staff was wonderful. Our original room was not correct and they changed us right away once I got to the room and realized it. Our bell hop was an older gentlemen and took time to tell us a few things about the hotel. I would definately recommend this resort for a nice relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Could not ask for a more beautiful location with exceptional service and friendly staff. They made special arrangements to help with our dinner at which time we became engaged. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcw8620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Accommodations: 4 Service: 5 Value: 1
Very beautiful views of Table Rock lake. Gorgeous sunsets. The large hotel room was very clean, very comfortable bedding & had a couch & desk (with only 2 power outlets) & had extra blankets. They charge $10 for Wi-fi, which I thought was ridiculous. Great shower (& hair dryer), coffee maker & sliding glass door to open air which was very nice to enjoy the view. Unfortunately, our room was on the 10th floor and over the air conditioning units, so that made leaving the door open in evening, too loud. Drinks in all areas were 5 star prices (for ex. 4 oz. pour of "house" wine is $9.50. Typical mixed drinks - small glass (Grey Goose/Tonic) is $10. Wedding Soup was tasty, but very greasy. French onion soup was good. Reuben sandwich was horrible! Not enough corned beef or kraut and was basically a Thousand Island dressing sandwich. House salad was a nice, fresh mix of greens with 1 1/2 cherry tomatoes & 1 slice of cucumber. :-( Bell hop, Adam, was very nice & helplful. Pool & jacuzzi area is beautifully landscaped, but when we were there (Wed. evening, 8 pm), it was packed with kids, so we didn't go for the jaxuzzi, which we would have liked to have had a quiet evening to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view & not above the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 588KateS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kate S:

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your most recent stay. Feedback such as yours is very valuable as it allows us the opportunity to take into consideration any suggestions that our guests may have that will help improve both our product and service. For example, we now offer basic guestroom Wi Fi internet service at no charge. This change was made as a result of guest feedback.
Despite some of our other shortcomings which appeared to do more with our pricing. I trust your overall stay was a pleasant one and we look forward to the pleasure of having you as our guests once again.

Sincerely,
Stephen Marshall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The property has held up well from our last visit 5 (+/-) years ago. Personnel and cleanliness persist as positives. Our room was great. Dinner in the restaurant was delightful but $$$. Amenities (eg pool, spa, food, snacks ...) are about as good as it gets in Branson. You will need a car (or driver) to get anywhere from here (THAT's Branson!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cte39794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a beautiful property with plenty of areas to explore. There is an indoor and outdoor pool. A variety of restaurants to choose from. Tennis courts, shops and a bakery. The staff is very friendly and professional. The only drawback is no free wi fi in rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylp1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed three days in this lovely, well maintained hotel with a great service staff. We had a small dog with us...they are open to pets but only on the third floor. This was a surprise to us, and after bringing this to the attention of Manager on Duty Tyler, he appropriately corrected the situation. We were give an nice suite, on the fourth floor at a reduced rate. Nice dining areas, good service, nice marina. I highly recommend. A bit pricey in all ways...but well done.

Room Tip: Choose lake view room with a balcony....worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
5.7 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
3.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#21 of 133 in Branson
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Branson Convention Center
3.8 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Center Pointe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-8954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#14 Business Hotel in Branson
#20 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range: $149 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort hotel, sits high upon a hill overlooking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake. The resort amenities include but not limited to; a 14,000 sq. ft. spa, Kids Club (seasonal), Chateau Marina (seasonal), two lighted tennis courts, year round nature trail, year round indoor pool and hot tub, outdoor pool and hot tub (seasonal), full concierge service, multiple food & beverage outlets and 42,500 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space. On the Lake ~ In the Mountains ~ Beyond the Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing