We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Unfortunately we only had 2 nights in this wonderful hotel. The view was nothing short of spectacular. I could have looked at that view all day!!!!We arrived on a bleak cold day but it was snowing in this winter wonderland.The next day we drew back the curtains and wow a picture perfect day!! We enjoyed the European feel of the hotel. The restaurants where good but a little expensive.Loved the sleigh ride, snowshoeing and ice bar. As we where there just before Christmas the hotel was all decked out in its Christmas finery beautiful!!!

Room Tip: Go for the view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,422 - 2,428 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my husband and 3 children. The kids swam, visited the theater for a movie on site, and the staff brought them in some hot popcorn during the movie. The rooms were quite, clean and large. Beds were very comfortable. Ate at all 3 restaurants during the stay and the food was excellent every time. Can't find one thing to complain about. One thing that stood out the most was how friendly the staff was. They went above and beyond. We went away from there feeling that we had stayed with friends!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleBranson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our third time (in a row) to attend the Chateau's annual New Year's Eve party. We went three years ago and had such a wonderful time we have gone back ever since - a perfect way to spend New Year's Eve - we get the "whole package" which includes a room (we have stayed at the Chateau many times - their rooms are always just perfect) as well as the three course dinner, drinks and opening reception, then a live band and dancing. Then they cap it off with a bagpiper who comes in just before midnight and leads everyone out side to the fireworks. Truly a fabulous evening. But this time the live band was a poor choice. I'd never heard of Bob Anderson, but looked his act up on the internet and he sounded good (although we had hoped for a band with more 60s and 70s music we could dance to). Unfortunately, after a couple of songs, he seemed to lose concentration, and seemed lost. The band tried to take over, causing delays between songs and a poor selection of music - the audience finally turned on them and were chanting for better music....it wasn't pretty....but in the spirit of the evening (the band finally played some things, and they substituted some recorded music too) everyone just got out on the dance floor and had a good time anyway. No one was sure what on earth happened to Bob Anderson. The band was clearly professional and talented. I wondered at one point if he was having some sort of mental concern - he stood to the side and thumbed through a stack of papers for nearly half an hour, while the band was trying to figure out what to do...or that's what it seemed like to us....at another point the band simply got up and left. There was no announcement of a break, so we had to assume there was some backstage chaos going on. The eventually returned. All in all, a very strange thing to witness. At any rate, I am writing this review on behalf of the Chateau on the Lake. This was a bizarre snafu, and knowing the Chateau, it must have somehow been beyond their control. This is an exquisite hotel - we travel frequently and have stayed in fine hotels all over the U.S., and this is one of our absolute favorite places. We spent our 25th anniversary at the Chateau and we will also be attending next year's New Year's Eve party - yes, in spite of this year, we will be back next year. This problem with the band was completely out of character with the Chateau, and we have stayed there so many times I wanted to assure everyone not to hesitate staying there, or booking the New Year's event next year. The management of the Chateau is to be highly commended. They confronted this unexpected situation head-on, and (apparently in the middle of the night) prepared the staff on how to best handle what must have been a flood of unhappy customers. When we checked out the next morning we were provided a $50 discount on our bill, and a sincere apology at the front desk, to help make up for the band problem. The bottom line - it was STILL a wonderful evening, we enjoyed it thoroughly, in spite of the band problem, and the hotel did a remarkable job in quickly addressing an impossible situation. We are told they will make it up to everyone next year - I expect, knowing the Chateau, they will do exactly that - which is why we plan to get our reservations early for what I suspect will be an exceptional New Year's Eve show next time. Thank you, Chateau management and staff, for gracefully handling a circumstance you could not possibly have predicted. We still love your hotel - it's the only place to stay in Branson. We will see you next New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: All rooms sizable and very nice. My favorite rooms are the Ambassador suites which consist of two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent a very nice evening at the Chateau on New Year's Eve. The service and food were very good . A HUGE disappointment was the band they had chosen to play. They could not even get through an entire song. They had lots a pauses on stage and the crowd would blow noise makers, and heckled the band. I'm not sure if they had not played together before, or had too much to drink. The bartender had heard many complaints from the guests about the band. Sad way to end an otherwise nice evening.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonicgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear sonicgal:

To say the least we were equally as disappointed as you were with our New Years Eve entertainment for which we apologize. It certainly was an embarrassment to us. Bob Anderson is a very well known entertainer not only here in Branson, Las Vegas and has toured the country extensively. This is not meant to be an excuse for his performance as he himself has told us that his performance that night was his worst ever. I am sorry to have to share this with you. We have hosted many New Years Eve events over the years and I can't recall one of them where the entertainment let us down. I have to believe this was an isolated case and that our 2013 event, we will be back on track. Hopefully we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Chateau.

Sincerely,

Stephen Marshall
Vice President & General Manager
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a 5 night holiday stay with family at the Chateau....I had never been to Branson and not a big country music fan but loved our visit because of the Chateau. The Chateau is very pretty with some of the nicest staff anywhere. The hotel is lovely and very clean with a very laid back feeling. For the holidays the hotel is decked out in nice decorations. However the star here is the wonderful food. We ate many meals here from Brunch to Room Service to meals in The Library Bar and all were very good. I loved their avocado appetizers and their beef entrees were outstanding. It was not very crowded as it was winter but I can only imagine what a wonderful respite this hotel would be in the thick of tourist season. We love the Chateau!

Room Tip: Very easy access for handicapped guests. Try the waffle at breakfast.....one of the best I have eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp8holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chateauonthelake, General Manager at Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear sp8Holly:

Please know it was our distinct pleasure having you as our guests during the Christmas season. It is also as equally as important to know that your stay was a pleasant one and that we were able to meet if not exceed your expectations. Your patronage is will never be take for granted and we look forward to the opportunity of being at your service again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Stephen Marshall
Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great staff, from the minute we arrived(Reed), beautifully decorated, delicious food, and an excellent Christmas Champagne Brunch on Christmas Day accented by a lovely Piano performance. Our Christmas Eve dinner at The Grill was excellent as well. A great place for couples, families with children or even solo guests. Quiet and beautiful. Just can't say enough good things..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyrain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I take my family to Branson about once a year. I fell in love with Chateau on the Lake a few years ago when my husband and I did the Branson Belle dinner cruise and caught a glimpse of the hotel from the lake. Every time we came back to Branson, I considered staying at the Chateau on the Lake, but it was never in our budget. Recently, a deal to Chateau on the Lake was offered through Groupon.com and I snatched it up! We took our son and two nieces. We were greeted by a wonderful staff that didn't treat us any different because we were there on a Groupon deal. (I've experienced that other places) The kids had a great time and really enjoyed everything about the hotel. They especially loved "cookies and milk with Lucky the Bear", which was a wonderful touch. We all loved the way the hotel looked and the cleanliness of the room. We ate breakfast at the buffet and although it was a little pricey for us, it was well worth it! Thank you Chateau on the Lake!

Room Tip: Our lake-view double room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breannj1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
2.5 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
5.7 mi away
Hilton Promenade at Branson Landing
3.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#21 of 133 in Branson
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Branson Convention Center
3.8 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
2.5 mi away
Best Western Center Pointe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa

Address: 415 North State Highway 265, Branson, MO 65616-8954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Branson
#14 Business Hotel in Branson
#20 Family Hotel in Branson
#31 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range: $149 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Branson's only AAA Four Diamond resort hotel, sits high upon a hill overlooking the pristine waters of Table Rock Lake. The resort amenities include but not limited to; a 14,000 sq. ft. spa, Kids Club (seasonal), Chateau Marina (seasonal), two lighted tennis courts, year round nature trail, year round indoor pool and hot tub, outdoor pool and hot tub (seasonal), full concierge service, multiple food & beverage outlets and 42,500 sq. ft. of meeting and banquet space. On the Lake ~ In the Mountains ~ Beyond the Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Lake Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau On The Lake Hotel Branson
Chateau On The Lake Resort And Spa
Chateau Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing