We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the money”
Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #114 of 139 Hotels in Branson
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The breakfast here is simply one of the best,even had bread pudding. All the help is friendly and will help out in any way they can. The ladies doing the breakfast are the best. Great location, to go in any direction to the sites you want to see.

Room Tip: Get rooms that are close to the breakfast area.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the bread pudding. We are very proud of our breakfast staff and the work they do to be sure our guests have a pleasant stay. We will pass your compliment on to our very deserving staff. It is important our guests have a pleasant stay while here in Branson and we hope you will be our guests again in the near future. Again, thank you for taking the time write a review for Southern Oaks Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Southern Oaks Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 186 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

This motel offers a punch card for everytime you spend a night with them. This was our 3rd year staying with them. I thought we would get our free night this time since we only had two punches left and had reserved for 4. But, no, they said next time. Besides the fact that the rate had increased $10.00 per night from the previous year. The only changes we noticed were a frig in the room and biscuits and gravy added to the continental breakfast. Also, I can see why the motel next door advertises pillowtop mattresses.
I checked the Silver Dollar City's website for tickets and then went to the front desk thinking we might get a discount, but, the motel wanted $4.00 per ticket more.
Pretty disappointed in the front desk service, but the rooms were very clean. Pool was clean and well maintained. Might stay there again, but I looked pretty hard at other places that we may stay at next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkcKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write a review and let us know about your stay with us. When a guest has a Guest Club Card that will fill during their stay we can take care of the free night at check-in. before the nights are paid. If the customer presents the card at check-out, after the room is paid, we punch out the card to give credit for their stay and the free night is used on their next visit. One of the reasons we do not give a refund after a stay is to avoid double charges from the credit card company. To avoid this we ask that the full Guest Club Card be presented at check-in.

The changes we have made this year include the addition of refrigerators to our updated rooms and some of our Traditional rooms. We have also now offer a complimentary full hot breakfast, which now includes eggs and sausage, along with the previous items on our menu of biscuits & gravy, donuts, cereal, cinnamon rolls, cereal, fruit bowl, oatmeal, toast, juice, milk, coffee and tea.

As a Hotel Lodging Partner with Silver Dollar City, we are able to offer our guests a special ticket price of Two Days for the Price of One at a rate of $62.34 with tax for adults, this is not offered on the website or at the ticket booth at the park. It is possible that a special price was being offered on the Silver Dollar City website for a one day pass during the week of your stay that may have been lower than our Two Days for the Price of One ticket. This is the only ticket that we are able to sell at the hotel and it is a good value for those that wish to go to Silver Dollar City more than one day during their stay but would not be able to use a Season Pass for the year.

We are sharing this information with our staff. We feel we have a great staff and they want to be sure our guests have a very pleasant and enjoyable stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We hope you will return again soon to be our guests in the future and come and enjoy a great time in Branson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We come to Branson at least twice at year and love staying at Southern Oaks Inn. This time has been great as always. We love love love the veranda rooms and room 170 is now our favorite. Check in was smooth and friendly. The indoor pool is our granddaughters favorite thing. We are not big on breakfast but was glad it was there for us. It was good. Enjoyed the biscuits and gravy. All the staff was friendly and asked how are stay was. This hotel is off the main strip and we love not having to deal with all the traffic. Can't wait to return in the spring.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for writing a review for your recent stay with us at Southern Oaks Inn. We are very glad you had a great experience and enjoyed our Veranda Room and pool. We hope you will come and enjoy our breakfast with us again, we are glad to be able to offer a full hot breakfast for our guests. We have a great staff that works very hard and we will pass your compliments on to them.

We hope you will be able to return soon and enjoy a great time in Branson! We think this a great area in Branson and do find our guests like the easy access to all areas of shows and attractions. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Southern Oaks Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

everything was wonderful with our stay at this motel. clean pool, clean rooms. The service was good. off the strip so traffic not as bad. Liked beds and the way the rooms are arranged. Has two pools. decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review of Southern Oaks Inn. We are very pleased you had a nice stay with us and hope you will return again soon! Since your stay with us we have been able to add refrigerators to our updated rooms and continue to add more to many more rooms. We strive to make improvements throughout the year and are also very proud of our staff that strives to make sure our guests have a pleasant stay while visiting Branson. Let us know if we can help you on your next visit to Southern Oaks Inn and Branson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Box spring beds, non-working shower, hair dryer caught on fire,and the managers would not answer the phone to rectify the issues. Paid for 2 nights, but had to ask for our money back for the 2nd night. We checked into the Best Western and proceeded to have a great trip. We tried to give them the benefit of the doubt, but it was just too much. Very disappointed. ..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsnowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your issues during your stay with us. It is very important that our guests have a pleasant stay and we do take your concerns very serious. We are looking into the issues you have listed and taking steps to address each of these concerns.

I am very pleased to know that you had a great stay in Branson and that you will return to visit again. We are in the process of updating rooms and hope that you will consider a stay with us again in the future and give us another chance, but by all means come and visit Branson, it is a great place that has so much to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was quite large...there was enough room in the room to have had two queen sized beds in there...that was what we requested. Instead, the beds were only double sized. I feel that they misrepresent the sizes of the beds there. The paper that I printed out from booking this room online even states that the room is a QQ room...but not a queen sized bed in sight.

We won't stay there again. I like to get what I paid for and I don't like being told I am getting one thing and when I get there realize it's not what I was told I was getting. I have a queen sized bed at home so I know the size of one...we simply got double sized beds. I get it now...the wording states that the ROOM is a QQ...not the beds! You have got to watch the way things are worded~

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and letting us know your concerns and impressions about the room. Our rooms are larger than many hotel rooms as we felt larger rooms would help our families feel more comfortable when they stayed with us. I have measured our beds to be sure about the size of our Queen Size beds and they do measure 60 inches across and 80 inches in length, which is considered a Queen Size bed measurement and our Queen size linens fit the beds nicely. I am sorry you felt the bed to be smaller for some reason. I hope you enjoyed your time in Branson and we hope you will give us another try soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just stayed at Southern Oaks over the holiday. We were in the comfort family suit. It was wonderful. The staff were so nice. Pools were great. The breakfast was nice with eggs and sausage biscuit and gravy and the best cinnamon rolls. We had a GREAT time.

Room Tip: ask for the suite
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puddin_udin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is important that we get feedback from our guests to insure we keep improving so our guests have a great stay here at Southern Oaks Inn and Branson! We feel we have a great staff and I will pass this review on to the staff as we do all reviews! The Hot Breakfast is new this season and we are glad you enjoyed this addition. We hope that you will return again soon and enjoy all the fun and interesting things Branson has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
0.5 mi away
Ozark Valley Inn
Ozark Valley Inn
#75 of 139 in Branson
192 reviews
4.1 mi away
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#106 of 139 in Branson
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel Inn - Near IMAX
Angel Inn - Near IMAX
#71 of 139 in Branson
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Branson Victorian Inn
Branson Victorian Inn
#82 of 139 in Branson
8 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#73 of 139 in Branson
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn West
Quality Inn West
#40 of 139 in Branson
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Address: 3295 Shepherd of the Hills Expy, Branson, MO 65616-8104
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 139 Hotels in Branson
Price Range: $46 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Oaks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Oaks Inn is located 4/10 of a mile east of 76 Country Music Blvd on Shepherd of the Hills Expressway, across from the Shoji Tabuchi Theater. Southern Oaks Inn is close to several shows including the Shoji Tabuchi Theater, the Sight and Sound Theater,IMAX Theater Complex, Pierce Arrow Theater, the Hamner Variety Theater, RFD-TV Theater, the Shepherd of the Hills Outdoor Drama, and about 5 miles from Silver Dollar City.Restaurants nearby include: Paradise Grill and Steakhouse, Bobby Jack's Pit BBQ, McFarlands Restaurant, Golden Corral, Red Lobster, Taco Bell, Cracker Barrel, Olive Garden, and IHOP. This location allows easy access to all shows, shopping and attractions.We offer many fine features designed to make your stay with us enjoyable. Some of these are:Large rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds Outdoor entry and indoor corridor entry rooms Veranda Rooms with private balconies, refrigerator and microwave, In-room King Jacuzzi rooms with microwave and refrigerator,Family Suites with Two Private Queen bedrooms, Living area with a Queen Sofa Sleeper, dining table, microwave and refrigerator. Home Suite has two private bedrooms (one Queen and One King), bath with Shower/Jetted tub, full kitchen and laundry, dining and living area and private entrance.All rooms offer:In room coffee makers and hairdryers. Outdoor and Indoor heated pools with Sun Decks. Limited Smoking and plenty of Non-smoking rooms Color TV with basic cable including ESPN, TNN, & The weather channel and RFD-TV. Coin operated laundryFree local calls Free wireless Internet. Plenty of level parking, ATM on Property. Our Full Hot complimentary breakfast includes:Eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, fresh baked cinnamon rolls, donuts,three types of cereal, pastries, oatmeal, fruit bowl, toast, coffee, tea, three types of juice and milk. Our breakfast is served from 6:45 a.M. Until 9:30 a.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Oaks Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing