We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, Great Staff, Affordable, Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southern Oaks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Oaks Inn
Ranked #112 of 140 Hotels in Branson
branson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Great Staff, Affordable, Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the rooms that has not yet been renovated and found it to be very comfortable. The rooms are larger than an average hotel room in Branson and they are spotless! Thumbs up to the housekeeping crew at Southern Oaks! Our impression of Southern Oaks hotel in Branson was great from start to finish!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We are glad you stayed with us here at Southern Oaks Inn and we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our our hotel. It is very important to us to know that our guests have a pleasant stay.
Since your last visit we have completed updates in 55 rooms, which included a decorative top sheet, new blankets, new and more pillows on each bed, bed skirt, new curtains, a painted accent wall with new artwork, and just recently the addition of refrigerators. We have also added sausage and eggs along with our breakfast menu of biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, donuts, cereal, oatmeal, toast, fruit cup, juice, coffee, tea and milk.
We are very proud of our staff and how they work hard to make sure our rooms are very clean and to help our guests have a pleasant experience at our hotel. We will pass along these comments to our staff! Thank you for your review and choosing Southern Oaks Inn. We hope you will return as our guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    28
    20
    22
See reviews for
75
37
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in a jacuzzi room. Very clean and comfortable. I've stayed at this motel with my family for over 10 years. Always great service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstrange1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and tell about your stay. We are pleased to know you found your stay "clean and comfortable" and that you have been returning as our guest for the past 10 years! Since your visit we have completed updates in 55 rooms, which includes a decorative top sheet, new blankets, new and more pillows on each bed, bed skirt, new curtains, a painted accent wall with new artwork, and just recently the addition of refrigerators in these updated rooms and more in some of our standard/traditional rooms. We have also added sausage and eggs along with our breakfast menu of biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, donuts, cereal, oatmeal, toast, fruit cup, juice, coffee, tea and milk. We will pass along the compliment of great service to our staff, we are proud of our staff and how hard they work to ensure our guest have a pleasant stay with us.
Again, thank you for your review and we hope you are able to visit us again soon and have a great time in Branson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. My mother told me she has a friend who always stays so we decided to give it a chance. The price was $70, which was expected especially on a holiday but when we got there the hallway (we stayed in the indoor section) was very musky and it was in serious need of updates. When we got in the room, the tv was small, bed was hard, no fridge or microwave. The room was large it was seriously too expensive for the lack of ammemeites. The breakfast was "ok". It was a normal continental..pool was shallow but nice indoor. We ended up staying at another hotel the next night. It was $20 cheaper (cause they gave me discount) and had pillow top mattresses, 32" flat screen and micro and fridge. I am glad to hear y'all are upgrading your rooms cause they definitely need it! We may try again after the upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smlygrlfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Branson hotels

Rantoul, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had never even noticed this property among the many on Shepherd Of The Hills Parkway until we saw it profiled on the Hotel Impossible show. We were immediately impressed with the large indoor pool. The show said this was the 2nd largest in Branson. We booked a weekend night and even though we didn't get to stay in one of the remodeled rooms, we were impressed with the large size of the rooms, the friendly staff and the newly remodeled lobby. The front entrance was landscaped attractively, and the property had a welcoming atmosphere. I do agree with one thing that was pointed out in the show, however. The "Sanitized for your protection" toilet wraps really are something from the past. We'll be staying here again next time we are in town, and I'd encourage everyone to give this place a chance. It is very conveniently located, especially to the RFD Theater, Shoji, the IMAX, Hamner Barber and many others, which are within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wxbear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked the family suite and it was great, very large, like an apartment instead of a hotel room. There were two adults and two kids, both age 11. The king bed in the main bedroom was great. The queen bed in the second bedroom might need a new mattress but otherwise very good. Only down fall is only one bathroom and for four people really need two baths. The rooms are clean and you have everything you need in the kitchen. Having a washer and dryer in the room is a plus! The air conditioner works great, very nice for a hot summer. Great location, easy in and out. Pools are nice and clean. The decor is a bit outdated but again it's all clean and that's important.
I would hightly recommend this family suite for a family or someone staying awhile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and we are very glad to hear that you were pleased with our Home Suite. The lack of a second bath is something we have discussed and are taking into consideration for future upgrades. We redecorated our Home Suite last year with new soft goods and wall decor and are always looking for further renovations as we are able throughout the year. It is such a pleasure to see families come and enjoy our Home Suite. We hope you will return again soon and enjoy Branson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have stayed at Southern Oaks many times over the past 10 years, but stopped a few years ago. My sister-in-law and I decided to take the kids to Branson for a quick, inexpensive overnight visit, so I thought we'd give SO a try again. The clerk was very friendly and the lobby had recently been remodeled, compliments of the Travel Channel's Hotel Impossible. We stayed in a 3-queen room, since there were 5 of us. The common hallways are hot. Keys are still in use, instead of key cards, so we could only get 2 keys (we needed 3). As always, the room was large and clean. The sheets, however, must have been the same ones from years ago, as were the towels. They were thin and scratchy. New sheets are needed! Same for the towels. A coffee maker is provided, as was a mini frig (in the 3-Q room, but not double rooms). Our AC worked well, and the room cooled off. The television was very small, and old style. In such a large room, a larger (32"?) flat screen would have been wonderful. We went down for the free continental breakfast at 9:05 (it was open until 9:30 am). They were out of donuts, cinnamon rolls, and hot biscuits, although the attendant did offer to make us biscuits. The regular coffee was also empty, and she did make us fresh. Still available was bread to toast (no bagels), cereal, and a bowl of not-too-great-looking canned fruit. We were disappointed. We had 3 kids with us, and all wanted donuts. The clerk also vacuumed while we were eating, including under our feet, which was somewhat annoying. We were the only people eating the entire time, so this could have waited. Overall, if you want a clean, relatively inexpensive (our room was $80) hotel room, and don't mind old amenities, then SO fits the bill. I hope the hotel owners will put some much needed TLC into this property and update the rooms. Hotel Impossible did a prototype guest room for them, and hopefully, they will remodel every room to match. The breakfast needs a little work. The swimming pools are great, although the indoor pool area was extremely hot and it felt like the heater was on. The location is great, and staff was very helpful and friendly. We will wait until a bit of remodeling is done before we return, but it IS clean!!

Room Tip: Ask for building D 0 it has indoor corridors, but specify you do NOT want a basement room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fisher004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I understand that you are aware we are in the process of upgrading portions of our property and hope that you do return in the future to see our upgrades. As you may know, changes sometimes go much slower than we would like to see them happen! We think our guests will be pleased with the upgrades and we will be in process for a time to get everything completed. We will be addressing the other issues you have listed, and we always need to know how the guest is experiencing their stay with us, so we can make improvements for the future. We are also pleased you felt our property was clean as this is a high priority and strive to keep this standard. We hope you will come to Branson again soon and be our guests. Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I love this hotel. Great parking, wonderful employees, clean rooms, great value, and the indoor pool is gorgeous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F, Owner at Southern Oaks Inn, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We thank you for your encouraging words, and we hope you will return soon to Branson and Southern Oaks Inn. Our guests comments are very important to us and we want to be sure that our guests have the most pleasant stay possible. Again, thank you and come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
0.2 mi away
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#107 of 140 in Branson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Branson Victorian Inn
Branson Victorian Inn
#88 of 140 in Branson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angel Inn - Near IMAX
Angel Inn - Near IMAX
#70 of 140 in Branson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
Fall Creek Inn & Suites
#60 of 140 in Branson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
Whispering Hills Inn
Whispering Hills Inn
#15 of 140 in Branson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel Inn by the Strip
Angel Inn by the Strip
#74 of 140 in Branson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Oaks Inn

Property: Southern Oaks Inn
Address: 3295 Shepherd of the Hills Expy, Branson, MO 65616-8104
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Southern Oaks Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Oaks Inn is located 4/10 of a mile east of 76 Country Music Blvd on Shepherd of the Hills Expressway, across from the Shoji Tabuchi Theater. Southern Oaks Inn is close to several shows including the Shoji Tabuchi Theater, the Sight and Sound Theater,IMAX Theater Complex, Pierce Arrow Theater, the Hamner Variety Theater, RFD-TV Theater, the Shepherd of the Hills Outdoor Drama, and about 5 miles from Silver Dollar City.Restaurants nearby include: Paradise Grill and Steakhouse, Bobby Jack's Pit BBQ, McFarlands Restaurant, Golden Corral, Red Lobster, Taco Bell, Cracker Barrel, Olive Garden, and IHOP. This location allows easy access to all shows, shopping and attractions.We offer many fine features designed to make your stay with us enjoyable. Some of these are:Large rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds Outdoor entry and indoor corridor entry rooms Veranda Rooms with private balconies, refrigerator and microwave, In-room King Jacuzzi rooms with microwave and refrigerator,Family Suites with Two Private Queen bedrooms, Living area with a Queen Sofa Sleeper, dining table, microwave and refrigerator. Home Suite has two private bedrooms (one Queen and One King), bath with Shower/Jetted tub, full kitchen and laundry, dining and living area and private entrance.All rooms offer:In room coffee makers and hairdryers. Outdoor and Indoor heated pools with Sun Decks. Limited Smoking and plenty of Non-smoking rooms Color TV with basic cable including ESPN, TNN, & The weather channel and RFD-TV. Coin operated laundryFree local calls Free wireless Internet. Plenty of level parking, ATM on Property. Our Full Hot complimentary breakfast includes:Eggs and sausage, biscuits and gravy, fresh baked cinnamon rolls, donuts,three types of cereal, pastries, oatmeal, fruit bowl, toast, coffee, tea, three types of juice and milk. Our breakfast is served from 6:45 a.M. Until 9:30 a.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Oaks Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing