We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where did our favorite restaurant go?!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilley's Texas Cafe - CLOSED

Gilley's Texas Cafe
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Miami
Level Contributor
161 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Where did our favorite restaurant go?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was one of our favorite places to eat in Branson but this time we found it very disappointing! They have changed the menu so instead of the tex mex they used to serve it was all barbque, poor barbque at that! The "smoked" meat tasted more like liquid smoke than anything else! The new menu is small with limited choices. Our waitress was adequate with getting things to our table but her just over all unfriendly. She seemed rushed, like she wanted us to hurry up and leave. It was near closing time when we finished but it wasn't closed...in fact when we left they were still open for 30 more minutes. Also, they have a bar inside...a bar that doesn't seem to know how to make any drinks other than on their menu! If you have been here before and enjoyed the moonshine margarita you won't find it here anymore! They have also done away with the karaoke but the hostess did tell us they are thinking of bringing it back. The whole feel to the restaurant has changed! I don't think this was a change for the better. Bring back the old Gilley's!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBransonLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    57
    57
    18
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We met a group of friends for dinner before the SIX show. Unfortunately we waited 30 minutes for a table. While walking back to be seated, I noticed nine empty booths!!! When I asked the waitress, she stated that they got backed up in the kitchen and had to catch up before seating more people? This restaurant is located next door to the SIX Theater (one of Branson's most popular shows). Suggestion: Be more prepared on show nights. Waitress was good, food was good, nothing out of the usual, but things were a little unorganized to say the least.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MBAGJK03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Each time that I go to the Mickey Gilley show I eat at Gilley's Texas Cafe because of the convenience and it's not expensive. Also convenient because his show theater is right next door.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 563Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not Outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were disappointed in this restaurant. The food was average, and the service was adequate but not great. We would probably not return here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
731 reviews
479 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Disorganized”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

I'm writing this review a little late as I visited Gilley's in June 2013 but I thought it would be good to provide feedback on how disorganized we found this restaurant. The place was pretty empty when we arrived but we, along with a couple in front of us, were kept waiting for an inappropriate amount of time before being seated. Then we waited and waited for service. There seems to be about 3 young people working and they were definitely having some issues with service. As for food I had a taco salad and my partner had chicken tenders. We wanted to order something that wouldn't take too long to prepare. Or so we thought! Another wait, which was making us nervous as we had a show to catch. Bottom line - don't go here if you need to be somewhere else in an hour or so.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilley's Texas Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing