We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't get a king hotel room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Ranked #36 of 140 Hotels in Branson
Yucca Valley, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“don't get a king hotel room!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is a HUGE difference in room quality between the hotel side and the resort/timeshare side. My extended family stayed in a lockoff on the resort side. It was VERY nice....except DIRTY. It was spacious, had 2 kitchens, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, a living room, 2 laundries, and even a Jacuzzi tub. We had children running around barefoot and their feet were black within minutes. Hence the comment about it being dirty. Funny thing is, it is mainly tile in the main living area so how hard is that to get clean?

After the 1st day (of 4) my dad decided he'd like to stay another day if possible. So, he called the front desk and talked to a very nice lady who looked things up, told him it would be no problem, and told him to come down the next day to get his key redone and a new parking pass. So, he showed up at the desk the next day and they looked and said "I'm sorry, we are completely full, we have no rooms anywhere for you, we don't know why she told you that". So, we went on Travelocity, found the same type room, and booked it ourselves. Then, when he went to check out, he was told "but we have you in that room through tomorrow!" Go figure!! So, apparently, the staff don't talk well to each other or their technologies aren't robust enough to figure out the original lady extended his stay when she said she did and that's why they weren't showing any empty rooms. Needless to say, that then started a 1 month back and forth between the resort, Travelocity, and my dad to get a refund from Travelocity! All that could have been avoided with appropriate staff customer service.

My husband, 2 year old, and I stayed on the "hotel" side of this resort. Interestingly, the folks at the desk kept telling us that they don't have anything to do with the "hotel" side but yet we checked in/out there and still qualified to use all of the amenities on the property. Weird. Upon checkin, I was asked if I wanted a king or 2 queen room. It was late, I was tired, and I wanted a little extra stretching room for my husband and me so I didn't ask any questions, I just took the king room. BIG mistake! It was the smallest room we have EVER stayed in. We barely had room next to the bed for our child's toddler sized cot. The furniture was old and dilapidated (dresser leaning backward, old box TV. There was a cleanliness issue here too... black feet, stuff behind the dresser, bugs throughout our stay. I was too tired to request another room so we just stayed there. Later in the week, we happened to see in one of the queen rooms and they were TWICE the size. Apparently, there was a janitorial closet behind our room that cut out our space. After seeing the other rooms, I'm amazed they even rent out the one we were in.

All this being said, the grounds were nice. The pool was great. And, they offer several daily activities (although almost all incurred extra fees). I would consider staying here again but only if I stay on the resort side, and if I don't need any changes made to my reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. Thank you for your feedback. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    351
    185
    150
    176
See reviews for
812
440
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have been Westgate Woods twice. When we stayed last summer we were in the main hotel right across from the pool and all the activities. The 1 bedroom condo style was nice. The living rm was a little small. It was nice to have a washer/dryer combo in the room to use. However there were no instructions on how to convert the washer to the dryer part. It took more than one cycle to dry the clothes. In that particular room the bathtub was awkward to get into also. There were no hooks or towel racks to hang your towels. This year we stayed there again but in a hotel in the back of the property. The room was almost the same but had a few different features. The two hotels that were in the back were away from everything. If you walked to the swimming/activity center you have to walk up very step roads to get there. You have to pay 10 a day to access their wi-fi. At other hotels we've stay at in Branson, it is free. Nice pool area, volleyball, bball court and craft activities for families to participate in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know what we are exceling in and some areas that need work. The satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can. We hope you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to not just meet but exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moberly, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for a family reunion. Most people in our party had to wait in line over 40 minutes (some up to an hour) just to check in! This resulted in much delay in our time to spend together as a family. Once we were finally assigned rooms, they were so dirty and /or filled with a smoky smell that most of the people had to ask to be re-assigned. They were rude and uncooperative in this process of being re-assigned to other rooms. The degree of disorganization and lack of service and commitment to quality was appalling. We asked if we could upgrade to a nicer room (explaining to the desk agent that it was either that or we were leaving) and before my husband could even complete his sentence, the person snapped "there are no upgrades!". Very sad. I would predict that this place won't be in business a year from now so I would advise not to plan any events there.

Room Tip: Stay in the building where you check-in. However, in booking the room, it seems they don't under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. All of our staff is there to provide you with a customer service experience unlike any other. The experience that you have shared in your review falls far below the standards that we have set for our staff to follow. We sincerely thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your comment will be shared with the appropriate resort management. We want you to know that we do care about customer satisfaction and would like another chance to exceed your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The 4 star rating is misleading . 2 new buildings are nice but if you are put in the one story "motel" buildings they are extremely neglected. Our room had bed bugs, the tub and tile was slippery, shower curtain had mildew, beds were hard as rocks . Went to management about bed bugs and were ignored for 4 hours. Finally we got a supervisor to get us a new room which was better but we still had problems with cold water and wifi not working properly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skykat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We planned a family reunion at the resort and the hotel rooms were filthy. One family got bit by bed bugs, another had to leave before the reunion because the room smelled moldy and thei children were allergic and 2 families left afterward and let the hotel have the night stay because the room was filthy. It caused a palor to be set over the reunion and we were disgusted. The new condos and cabins are nice but avoid the hotel rooms that surround the property. The hotel staff were incompetent and seemed uncaring about our concerns. Requests were made for bed
Linens for the pull out couches that were ignored. My bed linens were not changed after a housekeeping visit. Run run and do not book your vacation here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianefromtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management including the housekeeping and maintenance departments. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3:45. Waited in line for 30 minutes only to be told our room was in the process of being cleaned. An hour later called up to desk to be told they changed our room to a villa and it was being inspected. Now 5:40 our room is ready. Drive to the villa only to find keys (4) do not work. Told I had to wait in line where two other guest are having same issue. After a 25 minute wait and drive back to villa keys still not working. Back to the service desk. More people in line for key issues. Told it was a battery issue with the door. Drive down to meet maintenance who said cards were just not made correctly door battery is fine. His keys worked and at 6:38 finally in our room. Do not expect any cleaning or replenishment of towels either. Booked Monday to Friday on Wednesday asked for towels. Was told our villa is not scheduled for cleaning until Thursday. They brought towels but here it is Friday morning not one visit from house keeping. To add insult to terrible service the concierge said we were listed as timeshare owners and the service was still bad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lahend11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Allow us to sincerely apologize for any issues that you experienced during your stay with us. We understand that your time is valuable and we will continue to work with our partners to assist in a smoother check in process. We also apologize for the room key issue as this is certainly not our standard of customer service. Our goal is to provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations. We hope that you will visit us again in the future, giving us the opportunity to provide you with a wonderful vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were in branson for softball world series and stayed at this complex because it was close to softball fields. I ha e to admit I was a little scared. I did t pick place( coach did) and didn't think much about it till week before we left and read some reviews on here. I hsppe end to read on that talked about fitness center and breakfast area being in hotel rooms and how dirty place was. I was scared. When we arrived after an 1 hour and 15 minute wait to check in( only bad part of trip) I was overwhelmed with the room. The best condo room I have ever stayed in. I didn't like fact we were in buildings down the hill a d had to drive, walk or ride shuttle to pool it on other hand it was quite! As for fitness center, who needs it when you can walk all the roads! Those hills are better exercise than any elliptical! They r remodeling areas for breakfast a d fitness center and they r in hotel rooms and that explained the bad review I had read.
Other than the nightmare of check in the rest of the stay was great. If I e er go back to Branson I will stay there a d I will look for west gate properties when we travel again. Hopefully I can find one in Breckenridge!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tckwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Branson Woods Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways in which to improve our service standards. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced during check in and really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will work diligently with our resort staff and our booking partners to ensure a smoother check in process. We hope that in the future when you choose to stay with us again you will find an experience that meets your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 140 in Branson
815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Savannah House Hotel
Savannah House Hotel
#6 of 140 in Branson
1,319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Near Dixie Stampede
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Branson
Radisson Hotel Branson
#29 of 140 in Branson
1,442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Center Pointe Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Branson Woods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Branson Woods Resort

Property: Westgate Branson Woods Resort
Address: 2201 Roark Valley Rd, Branson, MO 65616-8122
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Branson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westgate Branson Woods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 145 beautiful wooded acres in the heart of the Ozark Mountains, Westgate Branson Woods Resort provides convenient access to spectacular lakes, championship golf courses, theme parks such as Silver Dollar City, outlet malls, eclectic attractions, family-friendly restaurants and amazing live shows in Branson - "The Live Entertainment Capital of the World!" The resort hotel rooms at Westgate Branson Woods Resort range from economical traditional accommodations to cozy one-bedroom cabins and spacious two-bedroom cabins. One of the most beautiful Branson, MO resorts, Westgate Branson Woods boasts all the amenities you expect from a full-service resort hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Branson Woods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Branson Woods Hotel Branson
Westgate Hotel Branson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing