We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Mel's Hard Luck Diner
Ranked #20 of 373 Restaurants in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home of Branson's original singing servers. A 50s themed diner offering music from the decades of the 50s and 60s and on up to today. A variety of singing styles, pop, rock, showtunes, opera, gospel, country, etc. Food offerings include burgers, sandwiches, great salads, blue plate specials and save room for some of the best and biggest desserts to be found.
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had Philly cheesesteak, was more like a pot roast sandwich but it was excellent........................

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Landan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,502
    738
    310
    85
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great fun!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Soup, chile, cobler and cheese sticks were fine food but nothing compared to our singer/waiter Michael Lee Jones. Very polite, friendly and visited with everyone. Totally wonderful singing from at least five people. Wish we lived nearby so we could go there often. 1000 miles is a bit to travel just for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dibble, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun & Food”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place was so fun. Love the 50's decor. Loved the singers while you eat. The food was so good. Came in for lunch and wait wasn't very long. Had burger and fries and if I could have eaten every bite I would have.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piclady75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita falls, texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Many time repeat customer”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch last week. Wife and I both had burgers, which were very good. Staff was friendly and singing was great. But we really come for the milkshakes. They are some of the best.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun but cold!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food was good diner food and the experience was fun. Our kids loved it! However, it was freezing! So much so that I had to order hot tea to try to warm up and my son passed on his shake until after we left because he was shivering so much. It was also a bit on the pricey side for hamburgers and french fries ($50 for a family of 4 w/ tip). I gave it 4 stars because of the experience. It wasn't really about the food for us but more about the diner feel and watching all the action of the servers singing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tanschkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kritertracks, Owner at Mel's Hard Luck Diner, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
This is Mel, sorry to hear that the air conditioning system was set too cold in the section of the dining rooms where you were seated. We try to watch that and sometimes have to reseat folks to another part of the diner but if someone does mention it to us at the time, we will check the setting on the thermostats closest to your table. (There are like five systems cooling that building and it sometimes can be challenging to get the temps just rght). I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit otherwise. Thanks, Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Hard Luck Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Hard Luck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing