We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!!”

Mel's Hard Luck Diner
Ranked #18 of 373 Restaurants in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Home of Branson's original singing servers. A 50s themed diner offering music from the decades of the 50s and 60s and on up to today. A variety of singing styles, pop, rock, showtunes, opera, gospel, country, etc. Food offerings include burgers, sandwiches, great salads, blue plate specials and save room for some of the best and biggest desserts to be found.
Gwinner, North Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The servers sing while working, and they do both well! Food was great and the atmosphere was great! This is a must when in Branson!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,497
    737
    310
    85
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“How are there so many positive reviews?”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here at 8 pm on a Saturday and while we got right in, that's where everything went downhill. The stereo for the singing staff was up way too loud. Then our waitress was too busy staring at us to actually come over and take our orders. After 20 minutes of her silent stares, the host finally came over and took our drink orders. We did not get a chance to try their food because it was clearly going to be hours before we ever saw our waitress. We left hungry and highly disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vossgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overall great american food and servers who sing”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was great. I recommend the Philly cheesesteak. The portions are very big especially the ice cream sundaes are for more than 1 person. What a treat to have your servers sing for you while they serve you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMKhoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good, Fun Place”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was a great place to take a family. The portions are super large, plenty to split. The kid meals were a great price. The music was a little disappointing because they didn't really sing 50's music. But over all it was a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“SOOOO much fun!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The food is reasonably priced considering how big the portions are. The food comes out quick. The singing waiters and waitresses were so much fun and are exceptionally good singers. Don't expect it to be constant singing. They sing for a few minutes then take a break for a few minutes, which was the perfect amount actually.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaylorMade2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Hard Luck Diner also viewed

 

Been to Mel's Hard Luck Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing