We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Lane Charlie's”

Charlie's Steak, Ribs & Ale
Ranked #68 of 369 Restaurants in Branson
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Charlies.Come and enjoy our food of bar drinks and listen to Rebecca Dawn after 5pm Tuesday -Saturday.
Texarkana, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rock Lane Charlie's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Atmosphere was nice, but that was the only positive. My steak was tough,full of gristle, and flavorless. My baked potato was a day old reheat and almost as tough. Waitress never asked if we wanted another glass of wine or if we wanted dessert. Mgr on checkout also didn't ask if we enjoyed our meal...hmmm, and we weren't complaining patrons while there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    171
    118
    58
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Charlie's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I guess I was expecting more after reading previous reviews. Ribs were Ok - too much sauce. Don't order a steak. My husband did and it looked and tasted like it was microwaved. The server brought out the main course before we had barely started to eat our salad. We were in and out of there is less than 30 minutes. We did not tell them we were in a hurry. Would not return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

First off, the main location got wiped out and they haven't rebuilt yet. We decided to stay the course and go to the Indian Point location. Not worth the extra time. Not good , not bad- AVERAGE.. No brewery at this location either..

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JER194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“View is Amazing, Food is Terrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We went to Charlies for dinner due to recommendations, the proximity to our hotel (Still Waters Resort) and tripadvisor reviews. The view is amazing. It's peaceful and relaxing and the screened in porch at the restaurant is very nice. The food, however, left a lot to be desired. Two of us had the Ribeye - it was overcooked and seasoned with an extremely salty rub. The sweet potato fries were soggy and salty. The tilapia was also over seasoned (even for an old lady who puts salt and peper on EVERYTHING.) The ribs were tough. The bread was stale. The chicken caesar salad was soggy and tasteless. The NY strip was seasoned to the point our daughter couldn't eat it because it was too "spicy" (peppery). This kids eats steak with salt and pepper all the time. In addition, my drink had an actual rotten cherry in it (I hope the alcohol killed the bacteria) and the butter for the stale rolls was rancid. This meal was so bad it was actually painful to pay the bill.I don't mind spending money on good food, but this was terrible.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cajzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Carbon, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charlie's on the lake.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Our first time there and it was very good. The service by Russ was excellent from the time we entered until we left. The salad was fresh and the dressing excellent. My steak was a little on the done side but very acceptable, but our server, Russ, demanded that they bring me one that was perfect. The second steak was perfectly cooked.

We sat on the screened in porch overlooking the lake and it was a very enjoyable dinner experience.

Helpful?
3 Thank DaveM2077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Steak, Ribs & Ale also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Steak, Ribs & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing