We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great is an understatement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shorty Small's

Shorty Small's
Ranked #29 of 370 Restaurants in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are located on the strip in Branson, next to Andy Williams Moon River Theater. In fact we are in the renovated Andy Williams Moon River Grill location.
1 review
“Great is an understatement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

When i found out the last Shorty Smalls was closed I was super upset and uesterday when we were driving my church saw the sign and we all started screaming. Today, we can by and it was delicious! I never realized how much i missed it! Our waitress, Dana, was awesome! She was so helpful and we never had a need she didn't take care of!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haleymac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    359
    161
    59
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Shorty Smalls is back in town. They are located in the old Andy Williams Moon River Grille. There is something there for everyone, from BBQ to Fried Chicken Livers, Chicken fried Steak. The portions are huge and there is not a bad item on the whole menu. The macho nacho's are amazing we added pulled chicken to them. They have a great happy hour from 3-7pm and again 9pm until they close. Some of the best desserts. They even have homemade cobblers. We got their specialty drink called a Sadies breath and it comes in a large hurricane glass that you get to take home. the staff is very friendly here. They even have a nice kids menu which included the drink and a ice cream bar. There are lots of coupons in the travel magazines so check that out too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdub35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
316 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Quantity 5, Quality, Three!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Good smoked BBQ should have the hickory flavor. I found the smoked flavor missing. The pulled pork was covered in sauce as were the ribs. I prefer a lighter amount of sauce on my Q and ribs glazed or dry rub. The sides were good. The servings are large (perhaps too large). Nice atmosphere and good service. The waitress was slow to refill my wife's coffee (a huge pet peeve of hers) but quick to notice my drink needed refill. Staff was friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HiggySt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We started off with an onion loaf and it was very tasty and filling. We ordered the Ribs which were so tender the meat fell off the bone. We also ordered the Chicken Fried Steak and this was the biggest we had ever seen and it was amazing. The fried okra was hot and fresh. They had a great happy hour where we got huge mugs of beer for $3. Very family friendly and great atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotter, Arkansas
1 review
“A vary pleasant last minute surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Went there on a Friday night. So glad we stumbled into this place . Its right on the strip by the show we were going to see. We told are server (Ally who was amazing btw) that we were in a hurry . She made sure we were out in time :) I had the Ribs they were perfect ! My DH had a steak . Vary good and at a decent price for this town. The big surprise came with my sons food . He got a Blackened chicken pasta . It came as a shock as to how good it was because it doesn't look like a place for the best pasta in town lol P.S. The Bar looked like a vary nice one . Might have to come back next trip to have a drink :p

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ashlynnc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shorty Small's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing