We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids and Parents-a must stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Country Resort
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Branson
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a delightful place for kids and parents to stay at in Branson. We have wanted to stay there for years but nothin was ever available because we did not make reservations ahead of time. The water park was just awesome, so many things for the kids to do there. The chlorine was strong, that was my only gripe but with that many kids they had a lot of disinfecting to do. Our kids loved this place. The Fun Spot was fun for the kids as well. They have miniature golf, laser tag, arcade games and a reasonable all you can eat pizza buffet. In fact I think they have 3 mini golf courses. In our package we received 2 free pizzas, mini golf for the entre family, 2 free shows, unlimited access to the water park and cards for free coffee and tea. The rooms were as any other hotels, we had a microwave and a fridge that actually worked. We were very pleased and the shows Grand Country Jubliee and the Amazing Pets were very entertaining and I would go back to see them both. The only complaint....housekeeping was slow to get the rooms clean but I will give them this, the place was packed out and all personnel were very nice. One last thing, they have a shuttle service and we called for it 3 times and each time the battery was too low, so they may think about getting a second one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieQ1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 534 of 534 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

Branson is less than 4 hours away for us, so it's a great destination for a quick getaway. I just took my boys for two nights over spring break. Have been to Branson many times, but never to one of the indoor water parks. Planned it literally the night before, so no time to ask many friends for references. After a quick review of the options on-line, I book Grand Country because of their package deal. Had no idea what I was getting, but hoping for the best. I was NOT disappointed! For less than $300, I got a two nights stay, water park passes, a round of putt-putt golf, tickets to two on-site shows, 2 large pizzas, and a $10 game card at the arcade. They also gave me a card that was good for free coffee and tea at most places on property. With only two nights, we were barely able to fit this all in! We only left the property to grab McDonalds for breakfast (less than 1/4 mile away) and dinner one night. And we could have stayed on property for these two meals and never left. Plenty of choices without having to leave.

The water park, was smallish. If you've been to Great Wolf Lodge, you will find a similar look, but on a much smaller scale. The giant dump bucket is a huge hit. There's a small lazy river, a play pool with basketball goals, a toddler splash zone, and then a giant climbing fort with sprays and spouts and buckets. But only one slide!!! So if you have bigger kids, don't plan on the water park being an all day event. A few hours at a time, max. My boys are 12 and 5. We went 3 times over the 2 days and stayed no more than 2 hours at a time. Also, the water is COLD!!!!!! My little guy pretty much wanted to get dunked by the big bucket and then run straight to the hot tub to warm up. But that seemed to entertain him quite well, so that's all I needed to make me happy!

I would say the water park is fairly clean, but I kinda get grossed out by public swimming places, so I wouldn't give it overly high marks. I'd say, it passed. As for life guards, I felt it could have used one or two more to cover the fort area and one in the hot tub area would be nice as well. All the kids kept getting in there, and it was marked 'swim at your own risk'. I felt I had to really watch my little guy every second because that is where he wanted to be. And because tons of kids were in there, I had to get on to the bigger kids a few times for playing too rough (dunking littler ones). This really would have been handled better by a life guard than a mom. But to be clear, this wasn't a huge problem, just a minor one. More lifeguards would have made me feel more confident in letting my kids play there.

Bring your own drinks and snacks to the water park...we did and that seemed to be allowed. No signs to the contrary.

Rooms were just remodeled with new carpet and bedding (and paint I think). The room is an old layout. Outlets were few...not good for recharging every little device my family seems to bring these days. No fancy flat screen TV, but a TV. There is free wi-fi...kids happy about that. And we did have a nice size fridge and a microwave. Accommodations were nothing exciting, but VERY CLEAN!!!! Even the bathroom looked and smelled clean even though it had old tile (that part was not remodeled). For the price, it more than met my expectations.

Shows were on the corny side, but my boys loved them. I don't think we would have went to the shows had they not been included in the package. But since they were, we went. I think it added a truly Branson feel to the trip. Where else do you get shows like these? Definitely not a waste of time. So if you have tickets in your package...use them! You can always leave at intermission if you don't like. We did the Amazing Pets and the Comedy Jamboree.

The other extras in the package were icing on the cake. My boys love putt-putt golf so it was nice to have that included in the package. I'm sure we would have paid for it if it were a separate charge. The $10 game card was plenty to cover a few minutes in the arcade. We went to the kid party one night and used the card during that.

My only bad experience at this property was during the kid night party. First of all, 10:30 is way too late to start! And a balloon drop at 11:00...even worse time. But the absolute WORST part was that they allowed adults to participate in the balloon drop. They sectioned off an area for the kids 5 and under, so my little guy got to go in there. But my 12 year old was stuck trying to catch a balloon in the middle of a MOB of adults. Seriously!!!!! If they can rope off an area for under 5, they can rope off the rest of the area and designate it KIDS ONLY...even if it were 17 and under. Based on what I saw, the prize balloons were all grabbed up by adults who were taller and bigger than all the kids over the age of 5!!! Thoroughly disappointing. I really don't care that my son did't get a prize. It was just frustrating that he and the other kids stood almost no chance of getting one because too many greedy adults grabbed them all up. I thought it was a KID party????

Location is a huge plus as well! It's less than a quarter mile away from Wal-Mart (needed that first thing...you know how it is traveling with kids), Tanger Outlet, Ride the Ducks, go carts, Dixie Stampede, and many many places to eat. Plus we found prices on everything on the property to be very reasonable. Kid drinks were 50 cents, adding a salad bar to our free pizza...$3.5. Frozen custard was cheap. The prices for activities seemed very reasonable. Prices on items in the gift shops seemed reasonable too. When you go to other kids places like amusement parks and Great Wolf Lodge, etc, you come to expect grossly inflated prices. Throughout our stay, I continued to be pleasantly surprised at the low prices for extras everywhere we went on property.

So other than adding a few life guards and rethinking a few things at the kid party, we left this property with an experience that far exceeded our expectations. And my kids just kept saying they loved it and asking if they could come back! I would highly recommend this place IF you are going for a kid getaway. If you are going for an adult get away...this is NOT the place! Trust me. It's overflowing with kids...stay away! Have fun!

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not by the stairwells. We got there late and that was all that was left. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

When I called to schedule my room 3 months in advanced, we were told that it compared to a "small great wolf lodge." I was also told that no rooms were currently booked for the dates I booked. When we arrived at the hotel, all rooms were booked, which I understand since it was Spring Break. I assumed that since no rooms were booked at my time of reservation we would be given a room in the main building, which I was told was connected to the water park, instead we were given a room several buildings and parking lots away from the water park, which is NOT connected to the hotel and is its own separate building. When I asked why our rooms were so far away, if I booked first, I was told that rooms are assigned upon arrival. Since we arrived at 3:05pm when check in begins at 3:00pm and there was a huge line, we ended up in the building furthest away. When we arrived to our room, that had supposedly just been cleaned, the carpets were dirty and there was no towel for showers. When we spent time and money in the "Fun Spot" building, it took over an hour to get someone to help my daughter cash in her prize tickets, most of the arcade games did not work and cost $1.00 or more to play. I understand the resort had lots of guest, considering they offered a "Spring Break Package," but you would have thought they would have staffed and prepared themselves accordingly. When speaking to other guests at the hotel, some waited over 2 hours for their rooms and were not compensated in any manner. They were not even given their water park passes for their children to enjoy while they waited for their rooms. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Had a surprise 4" of snow in Mar. Fun in water park. Ice on the walks as had a north room. Asked desk 3 x in 2 days it be removed & it wasn't. One day the maids never came to clean the room, no towels

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Branson hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Victorian
Hotel Grand Victorian
#19 of 133 in Branson
874 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westgate Branson Woods Resort
1.3 mi away
Castle Rock Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marriott's Willow Ridge Lodge
1.3 mi away
Best Western Center Pointe Inn
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Branson W 76 Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Country Resort

Address: 1945 West Highway 76, Branson, MO 65616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Branson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 133 Hotels in Branson
Price Range: $102 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Country Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Country Resort, located in the heart of Branson, Missouri, offers lodging, dining, entertainment and more all in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Country Hotel Branson
Grand Country Inn Branson
Grand Country Branson
Country Inn Branson
Branson Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing