We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ENJOYABLE AND FREE”

Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery
Ranked #11 of 165 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ENJOYABLE AND FREE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

So, here is the deal in Branson. If you don't plan your activities -- espcially for a family -- you can end up spending a lot of money. We tried to find some "free" things to do so that everyday did not involve a "big ticket" item. The Fish Hatchery was very enjoyable and entertaining. The kids fed the fish. . . we walked around the small fish/wildlife display inside and we enjoyed seeing the area below the dam. Just a very nice enjoyable stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomFROMIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    358
    82
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must See Trout Farm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Watch and get hands on with the farming of trout at the Hatchery. They have vending machines for Trout food (.25 cents). Definitly worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Went here thinking it would be educational, fun and FREE...it was definitely each of those (except for the $0.25/handful of food). We did not get there in time for a tour and I would recommend making sure you do. If you don't you are basically on your own to find your way. We still had fun & the kids LOVED feeding the trout! Even if you don't want throw some change out for the food you can gather a handful by the dispensers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dwest529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good place to kill an hour or two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We didn't catch the guided tour, so we self guided. Lots of interesting reading to explain how everything works. Bring quarters and a bag or cup for the fish food. The kiddos get a real kick out of feeding the fish of all sizes. Fun thing to do that is ultimately free.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MAW_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great free family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband, our 2 young kids (2 and 1) and myself went here as our kids love fish. We had such a great time there. I would bring a ziplock bag when you go so that you dont have to hold the fish food in your hand as it will be more then a handful. We got about 1/3 of a bag for a dollar so you get a lot for buck! There is a 15 min video that goes over the hatchery but we didnt watch it as the kids didnt want to sit still, they were ready to see the fish.
From there its just a short drive to Table Rock Lake dam and its worth a drive across too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing