We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Free”

Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery
Ranked #11 of 167 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun and Free”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went here last week when it was chilly out..our family was looking for something to do to break up the day. The inside tanks were interesting...weird that the fish all seemed to be looking at us! When we went outside to look in the big tanks the feeder truck was just coming around. That was fun to watch the fish. Our preteens and older teens both enjoyed feeding the fish. We learned that we could fish nearby as well. Overall a great stop that is free!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bethbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    386
    88
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
“Great way to spend time for not much money”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped by here for about 45 minutes and fed the fish. Fish food is 25 cents for a handful. A cup or small bag is an advantage, so remember to bring one along. There is a lot of fish here and some good exhibits to learn more about the local wild life. A nice spot to spend some time and not too much money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peotone, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Day”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The people were VERY nice and informative. Learned alot about a Fish Hatchery, free, highly reccomend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank L E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bring your quarters and a small cup”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We saw the hatchery while on the tour of the Table Rock Lake Dam. The hatchery was very interesting. You can spend a little amount of time or a lot of time here. We spent over half an hour just walking around and feeding the fish. There were lots of volunteers ready to talk to us. We could have stayed longer if we had more time. Plan at least an hour if you want to watch the video and look inside the building. It would be helpful to bring a small cup to hold the fish food that is available to purchase for 25 cents.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adair, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fishy fishy in the brook”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Well this is where them fishy's is made so the fisherman have something to catch. Neat information here and lots o fish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing