We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic to visit while in Branson !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery

Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery
Ranked #10 of 167 things to do in Branson
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“fantastic to visit while in Branson !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hatchery was so much bigger and cooler than I ever imagined when the men said they wanted to go there. I highly recommend visiting while your in Branson. Its free and they have so much to see and at the end is a building that has a lot of the wild animals for the kids to see. We liked it a lot !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    347
    82
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Swarming of the Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great place to visit no matrter what your age is. having a background as a Science Teacher its amazing to see the number of Trout they have in the various pools. Each pool contains Trout of similar size going from Fingerlings to the Bigguns!! Put a quarter in the fish food machine and pick a pool, throw some food in and watch the Trout Go Crazy Folks - Go Crazy Folks! That line was borrowed from Jack Buck long time St. Louis Cardinal Announcer. If you got the time i would plan this stop especially if you have young kids. The State of Missouri Conserevation Department does an Excellent job finding friendly, knowledgeable and dedicated workers to make your visit a memorable one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MRSEVTEACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
523 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very informative, practical and scientfic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

It amazes me that most of the shows in Branson is always full of people every night and with busloads from other eastern states. This is a free outdoor activity run by the state of Missouri. It shows how a source of protein is scientifically propagated and raised. Even their refuse (feces) is recycled as very effective fertilizers. Makes me think of how they will feed people during long trips in space ship (Startrek) in the future :-D

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a Bad Stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This experience was generally alright. I liked watching the various pools and the corresponding fish within. The small museum inside was interesting and not so comprehensive that you got bored easily. Overall a nice casual stop for a few minutes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank M3Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not a fish tale.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

For sure worth the trip to visit.

The lobby has pamphlets on all information regarding fishing in Missouri. They even have one with recipes.

They raise brown and rainbow trout for the state of Missouri to stock all of the lakes. I did not know it but brown trout and rainbow trout were introduced to Missouri from California. They thrive in colder water and you can fish for them all year here. Mthe hatchery raises and releases about 800,00o per year into Lake Taneycomo.

The hatchery at Sheperd Hills Is the largest trout-rearing facility by the Misouri Department of conservation. It is located just below Table Rock Dam.

The hatchery includes a conversation center, where the public can learn about trout culture, aquatic life, fishing, and the Missouri Department of Conservation's role in aquatic resource management. The center is open free of charge.

Trails are available near the hatchery for hiking and wildlife viewing. There is also fishing access.

Correction. 80 percent of the fish hatched here go into Lake Taneycomo.

Things to do threes.

They have exhibits that describe trout spawning, egg development and rearing techniques. Other nature-related exhibits are there too and quite interesting.

They have. A huge tank of rainbow and brown trout that are huge. I could not believe the size of them. One was over 20 lbs. a lot are close to it.

They have turtles, snakes etc. they have a dead Armadillo on display. They call them speed bumps. Imsaw so many on the way up to Missouri on the side of the road dead. Many alive crossing the roads. They are quite big.

They have an interesting 12 minute film presentation and will answer any questions you might have after.

They also have guided tours from Memorial Day to Labor Day. You would not find me in Branson during the summer. It is crowded now. I could not imagine the crowds.

Kids would enjoy this too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maddashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery also viewed

 

Been to Shepherd of the Hills Fish Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing