We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Stone Hill Winery - CLOSED

Stone Hill Winery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ranked as the third largest in the world, this winery was established in 1847 and is currently listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have been to many wine tastings at many various wineries in several states. It is one of the things we enjoy to do as we travel. This was the most disappointing of any we have done. We were not interested in the tour and they seemed very unhappy that we just wanted the tasting. This has never been an issue at any other winery we have ever visited. I am having some foot and knee issues and did not want to do a lot of walking or standing but was encouraged to take the tour. They showed us a movie, a history of the winery, where we sat, and it was informative. Then we went into 2 other rooms, where we had to stand for the presentation about how wines are made or bottled. The gentleman who demonstrated how sparkling wine was bottled was very amusing. Finally we were brought to a room for a tasting. It was "free" and they chose what wines to let us taste but the amount that we were given was barely a splash, in the bottom of the glass. Definitely not enough to really taste the wine or decide if you like it or not. We would rather pay for a tasting and choose about 5 wines to taste, as we have at other wineries we have been to. The lady conducting the tour seemed outwardly friendly but she had an edge of "nasty". My husband was interested in a particular wine and asked about it. She merely gave him a history of the wine and never offered a taste or told him, as we would have expected, that it unfortunately was not available, at this time.
We would not go back to this winery, nor recommend it to anyone. If you like their wine, simply go buy it somewhere and skip the tasting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Docsdaughter45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    267
    61
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its worth your time.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We enjoyed the winery and sampling the wines in the tasting room helped us pick wines we would actually drink. We did the tour and found the part on how to cap a bottle a little boring.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eheadwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This place looks like a remodeled bank & feels like a supermarket on the inside. To be fair, we didn't go on the tour. We didn't want to take the time, but we're interested in doing a tasting. They seemed very unhelpful and reluctant & somewhat rude when we asked about doing just the tasting. Keep driving.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank abenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun Wine Tasting”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a fun stop on our trip, we didn't have time for the tour, but they still let us do a tasting and were accomodating for this non-connoisseur!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shoman118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wine tasting at its best!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The tour is very informative without being boring. FREE wine tasting is AMAZING! Some wineries charge a fee or limit you to a few samples. (They even have a grape juice sample for the kiddos!) Stone Hill lets you "belly up to the bar" and try a LARGE variety of wines. For free. On our previous visit, one visitor spoke up - before a single glass had been poured at the wine tasting part of the tour and said - "Do you have any muscadine wines?" When the tour guide explained that none of the wines were from muscadine grapes, the guy just up and left. WOW! Hey buddy, lighten up & spread your horizons - it's FREE WINE! :) Oh well, it was his loss. I echo what previous reviewers say - I often leave the winery with a case or two! Well done, Stone Hill! Thanks for being such an adored part of each of our trips!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Hill Winery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing